CUG Libraries - Subject Guides: Acting
Welcome to the Acting Subject Guide
Use the tabs below to access useful databases, journals and websites. Using these resources will help to ensure you are accessing good quality information and research!
When using databases: Each database covers a specific subject area or areas, this means you may get less results from your search but the articles will be more relevant to your area of study.
If you are unsure which database would be the best to use, read the description of the databases below to help you to decide.
Useful Resources
-
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
Critical perspectives on theorists and approaches to performance, as well as reportage and reaction to key moments in the history of performance.
Brief description
Broad-base database of journals and periodicals focused on arts and humanities topics, including drama and theatre. Can be searched alongside other ProQuest databases -
Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
Best way to access TV (and some radio) broadcast content from the last 15+ years
Brief description
This resource allows you to search and access recordings of content broadcast on over 65 free-to-air channels; you can also set up recordings of upcoming shows you are interested in. -
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
Supports research into production and consumption of media sources like the internet and television.
Brief description
A large research and reference resource comprised primarily of journals focused on the communication and mass media fields. Can be searched alongside other EBSCO databases.
-
Drama Online Library
Why use this resource?
Find scripts, recordings and critical writings to support your work on performance.
Brief description
A broad, authoritative source on drama and theatre, DOL includes playscripts from both new and established names, along with critical theory and scholarship on theatre craft.
Access Information
Accessing this resource should prompt you to log in using your usual details. If this does not happen, click ‘log in via your institution’ and select Coventry University from the list.
Video guide
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
Historical and modern perspectives to enrich your assignments.
Brief description
A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources focused on the arts and humanities.