Access Health & Human Sciences Subject Guide: Home

Why use this resource? - Good way to learn how to use our most common database-search interface and get results on a broad range of topics.
Brief description - This is a broad-ranging, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with lots of peer-reviewed journals. Content is mostly available as screen-readable PDFs.

Why use this resource? - Best way to access TV (and some radio) broadcast content from the last 15+ years
Brief description - This resource allows you to search and access recordings of content broadcast on over 65 free-to-air channels; you can also set up recordings of upcoming shows you are interested in.

Why use this resource? - Good for specific examples of practice, as well as new applications of theory, relating to healthcare
Brief description - CINAHL is an informative health literature database for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. It provides higher-level articles and case studies rather than entry-level information, but can be used to add specific examples to assignments. Due to the specialised metadata included, CINAHL is best searched on its own.

Why use this resource? - Mix of accessible and more-academic sources in a straightforward interface
Brief description - Health information source which includes articles from journals, professional press and consumer magazines. Includes some short-form video content.

Why use this resource? - Good for health and wellbeing information with academic underpinning
Brief description - This database includes clinical and biomedical sources alongside consumer health articles and broader content on health administration. Can be searched alongside Family Health database.

Why use this resource? – Good way to look at the interaction and detail of human systems and organs.
Brief description - A comprehensive 3D atlas of the human body. Also available as an app. Includes structures from all body systems: nervous, skeletal, circulatory, muscular, digestive, urinary, lymphatic, endocrine, and reproductive.
Access information:
1. Log in using your usual username and password (if prompted to)
2. tick any box when asked which elements you want to search on Ovid and press 'continue'
3. Select ‘Visible Body' from the blue bar at the top of the page,
4. Click on the 'Human Anatomy Atlas' (image of a face with nerves showing and '2017' written alongside it) to launch the resource.
Video guide: https://youtu.be/6TWUz7aRvQI

Why use this resource? - Will help add higher-level health and anatomy information to your assignments.
Brief description - Offers complete information from leading nursing and health related publications. Designed to suit practitioners as well as those studying on Nursing and health-related courses. Can be searched alongside other ProQuest databases.

Why use this resource? - Search and cite articles on psychology; it’s kind of in the title!
Brief description - Journal articles addressing theoretical and practice-focused approaches to psychology. Also includes some content from books, theses and audio-visual sources. Can be searched alongside other ProQuest databases.

Why use this resource? - To include psychological perspectives or look at research into psychological principles.
Brief description - International database for psychology, including academic, research and practice literature in many languages. Cross-disciplinary in scope, including relevant materials from disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, law, criminology, and social sciences.

Why use this resource? - To find quality information to support work in STEM fields.
Brief description - This is a major database for science, technology and medicine information. Alongside articles from more than 4,000 journals, there are also many books.