CUG Libraries - Subject Guides: Access Social Sciences
Welcome to the Access Social Sciences Subject Guide
Use the tabs below to access useful databases, journals and websites. Using these resources will help to ensure you are accessing good quality information and research!
When using databases: Each database covers a specific subject area or areas, this means you may get less results from your search but the articles will be more relevant to your area of study.
If you are unsure which database would be the best to use, read the description of the databases below to help you to decide.
Useful Resources
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
Good way to learn how to use our most common database-search interface and get results on a broad range of topics.
Brief description
This is a broad-ranging, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with lots of peer-reviewed journals. Content is mostly available as screen-readable PDFs. -
Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
Best way to access TV (and some radio) broadcast content from the last 15+ years.
Brief description
This resource allows you to search and access recordings of content broadcast on over 65 free-to-air channels; you can also set up recordings of upcoming shows you are interested in. -
Health & Medical Collection This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
Good for health and wellbeing information with academic underpinning.
Brief description
This database includes clinical and biomedical sources alongside consumer health articles and broader content on health administration. Can be searched alongside Family Health database. -
Psychology Database This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
Search and cite articles on psychology; it’s kind of in the title!
Brief description
Journal articles addressing theoretical and practice-focused approaches to psychology. Also includes some content from books, theses and audio-visual sources. Can be searched alongside other ProQuest databases. -
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
To include psychological perspectives or look at research into psychological principles.
Brief description
International database for psychology, including academic, research and practice literature in many languages. Cross-disciplinary in scope, including relevant materials from disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, law, criminology, and social sciences. -
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
To find quality information to support work in STEM fields.
Brief description
This is a major database for science, technology and medicine information. Alongside articles from more than 4,000 journals, there are also many books.