CUG Libraries - Subject Guides: Business & Management
Welcome to the Business Subject Guide
Use the tabs below to access useful databases, journals and websites. Using these resources will help to ensure you are accessing good quality information and research!
When using databases: Each database covers a specific subject area or areas, this means you may get less results from your search but the articles will be more relevant to your area of study.
If you are unsure which database would be the best to use, read the description of the databases below to help you to decide.
Useful Resources
-
ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
Mix of scholarly and trade journals, reports and other sources to give a rounded view of business context.
Brief description
Database with content focused on companies and business trends from around the world. Includes publications such as The Economist, along with country- and industry-focused reports. Can be searched alongside other ProQuest databases. -
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
Good way to learn how to use our most common database-search interface and get results on a broad range of topics.
Brief description
This is a broad-ranging, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with lots of peer-reviewed journals. Content is mostly available as screen-readable PDFs. -
Asian & European Business Collection This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
Access information about businesses focused on non-US examples and sources.
Brief description
This database provides information pertinent to the study of business and finance topics across Asia and Europe, including academic journals, newspapers, newswires, and magazines. Can be searched alongside other ProQuest databases. -
Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
Best way to access TV (and some radio) broadcast content from the last 15+ years
Brief description
This resource allows you to search and access recordings of content broadcast on over 65 free-to-air channels; you can also set up recordings of upcoming shows you are interested in. -
Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
Get richer, more up-to-date data on specific sectors or companies than articles will generally provide.
Brief description
Database of company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research information, drawing from key sources in this area. Can be searched alongside other ProQuest databases. -
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
Handy ‘one-stop-shop’ for business-related information
Brief description
Potentially the most definitive scholarly business database, including historical and contemporary articles relating to all aspects of business. Can be searched alongside other EBSCO databases.
-
Chartered Management Institute (CMI)
Why use this resource?
Enrich your coursework with theoretical and practical examples drawn from industry.
Brief description
Set of resources and learning materials for both students and practitioners of management. Includes Insights datasets and the ManagementDirect knowledge base.
Access information
You will need to use the CMI login details provided by your course tutors [BML/CMDA students only].
-
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
A rich source for real-world case studies and in-sector research outputs.
Brief description
Provides journals, books and case studies, along with expert briefings. Though there is a strong business focus to the collection, it also includes wider social science areas which help to place business theory into real-world contexts. -
FAME (Financial Analysis Made Easy) This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
Ideal single resource to find out everything about a company and place it within industry context.
Brief description
This is a powerful tool to look at company data, including particulars, financial performance and annual reports. Perform peer comparison against companies across each sector, look at ownership structures and view documents filed with Companies House. -
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
Find up-to-date, reliable reports on business sectors, sorted by country.
Brief description
IBISWorld contains market research reports and industry ratings from UK and China. It also has industry Brexit Impact statements. This database covers a wide variety of industry sectors including, construction, energy, manufacturing, finance, wholesale and retail. -
Mintel This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
Accurate and up-to-date analyses of key consumer markets to add practical examples to academic theories.
Brief description
Market research reports with an emphasis on consumer markets in the United Kingdom. Our subscription covers market, leisure, retail and personal finance intelligence, along with some access to wider reports. Includes both authored analysis and raw data for you to use to reach novel insights. Search by category, region and demographics to add rich data to your assignments.
Restriction
Use of this resource is solely for academic purposes. Using information obtained for commercial purposes is strictly forbidden.
The Library has access to over 5000 academic journals, some of which are shown below.
Journals are published regularly and contain up to date, peer reviewed information.
You can view the journals below, or search for individual journal articles using the databases tab.
Webpages
-
Companies HouseYou can obtain documents from the annual reports that companies have submitted to Companies House.
-
Business Management & Economics - Coventry University LibGuideFuller list of resources, webpages and sources relating to Business topics
Periodicals
-
Financial TimesThe FT is not available from the Lexis+ Newspaper Library, but can be searched separately. The first time you login, you will be required to setup an individual account with the FT. Please use your Coventry University email address and choose a unique password. All subsequent logins to the database will require only your Coventry University username and password.
-
Locate (Newspaper search)In-text search function for hundreds of popular newspapers
Business Statistics
-
Passport Euromonitor (GMID) This link opens in a new windowAs well as market research reports, Passport Euromonitor contains economic indicators such as GDP, inflation rates, balance of payments, interest rates etc.
-
Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista contains statistics and data relating to market research on consumer products worldwide. It also contains data relating to social media.
Wider context statistics
-
EurostatContains official statistics from EU countries including those relating to economy and finance, population, industry and trade and regions.
-
IMF DataThe IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Manuals, guides, and other material on statistical practices at the IMF, in member countries, and of the statistical community at large are also available.
-
OECD iLibraryContains country information including economic, finance and investment
-
Office for National StatisticsThe official site for UK statistics. It covers the economy, business and trade, employment and population.
-
UK Data ServiceBrings together a wide variety of statistical data from trusted sources.
-
United Nations Data SetsStatistics produced by the United Nations.
-
World Bank - World Development IndicatorsThe primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global statistics.