CUG Libraries - Subject Guides: Law
Welcome to the Law Subject Guide
Use the tabs below to access useful databases, journals and websites. Using these resources will help to ensure you are accessing good quality information and research!
When using databases: Each database covers a specific subject area or areas, this means you may get less results from your search but the articles will be more relevant to your area of study.
If you are unsure which database would be the best to use, read the description of the databases below to help you to decide.
Useful Resources
Law Databases
-
Lexis+ This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
Access law reports, cases, legislation, articles and commentary through a single interface.
Brief description
Key legal database, with full text legal information including UK and international cases and legislation, with links to full-text journal articles (where included in the Lexis database). Quite a lot of the content is US-focused, but full text EU law is also available. -
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
Whilst there is an international focus to the content, all searches can be filtered to focus on England.
Brief description
US-focused collection of full-text law journals, which also has some international coverage including the UK and EU. Includes historical English Law Reports and Statutes, and allows you to search for citation and case law. -
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
Along with the main search interface, content can also be browsed by topic area; there is also a current awareness facet to look at recent developments in a topic.
Brief description
Key legal database which provides access to full-text UK and international cases and legislation. Incorporates the Legal Journals Index, with links to full-text journal articles (where included in the Westlaw database). Full text EU law is available, along with the usual strong coverage of US law.
-
Law Trove
Why use this resource?
Quick access to OUP Law titles, including in-text search.
Brief description
Around 200 key law textbooks, including revision and assessment guides.
Restriction
Select institutional login on the left-hand side of the screen if prompted.
-
Support materials for Law databasesGuidance on how to use the main legal databases we subscribe to.
Academic Databases
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
Good way to learn how to use our most common database-search interface and get results on a broad range of topics.
Brief description
This is a broad-ranging, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with lots of peer-reviewed journals. Content is mostly available as screen-readable PDFs. -
Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
Best way to access TV (and some radio) broadcast content from the last 15 years.
Brief description
This resource allows you to search and access recordings of content broadcast on over 65 free-to-air channels; you can also set up recordings of upcoming shows you are interested in.
-
BAILII (British and Irish Legal Information Institute)Welcome to BAILII, where you can find British and Irish case law & legislation, European Union case law, Law Commission reports, and other law-related British and Irish material
-
Court of Justice of the European UnionThe Court of Justice interprets EU law to make sure it is applied in the same way in all EU countries, and settles legal disputes between governments and EU institutions. It can also, in certain circumstances, be used by individuals, companies or organisations to take action against an EU institution, if they feel it has somehow infringed their rights.”
-
European Court of Human RightsDecisions and judgments from the ECHR
-
International Court of JusticeJudgments and advisory opinions from the ICJ
-
International Criminal CourtReports and cases from the ICC
Introduction to the OSCOLA referencing system (19 mins)
How to use the OSCOLA guides, how to cross-reference, how to reference a quote (18 mins)
Includes how to actually use the full guide and look up answers
Other guides