LibGuides: Coventry University London: Marketing

Marketing Overview

Welcome!
Key Resources

Welcome to the Marketing Subject Guide

This Subject Guide provides you with key academic and professional resources related to Marketing.

Click the icon to find more information about a resource and how to access it.

We also recommend you visit our Business Subject Guide, where you can find additional resources - click here to visit it.

If you need any help, please speak to a member of the Library Team!

Key Resources

General Resources

Journals, Magazines & Databases - ProQuest Central, ProQuest Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection and EBSCO Academic Search Complete.

Newspapers - Financial Times (FT), EBSCO Regional Business News and LexisNexis Lexis Library.

Marketing-Specific Resources

Lexis Library -

Westlaw UK -

IDS Employment Law -

British and Irish Legal Information Institute (BAILII) -

Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations -

Additional Resources

We also have a range of free resources which are recommended for wider reading around marketing - see the 'Subject Gateways', 'Organisations' and 'Other Useful Resources' tabs.

Database Searching Tips

Alphabetical List of Resources

ABI/INFORM Complete [ProQuest] It features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a broad picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. It offers 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference procedings, 5,300 periodicals and 4,400 journals.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO) It is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. Indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included.
Emerald Management Journals Emerald is a publisher specialising in academic journals in the areas of Business, Management and Engineering. Search and access the full text online.
ProQuest Central ProQuest Central combines all of ProQuest’s main business, marketing, finance and humanities databases, allowing you to search over 24,000 academic publications at once. The collection includes academic and trade journals, magazines, reports and newspapers. ACCESS: Instead of using your username and password, click on "Open Athens" from the right side of the screen.
Sage Journals SAGE is a leading international publisher of journals, books, and electronic media for academic, educational, and professional markets. Since 1965, SAGE journals span a wide range of subject areas including business, humanities, social sciences, science, and technology.
ScienceDirect ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.

Euromonitor Passport Contains full text market research reports and statistical data. Information includes consumer lifestyles, country information and company and brand data. ACCESS: Click "Open Athens" from the right side of the screen. Search for "Coventry University" and click "Submit". If you get an error message or they ask you to complete a form with your details, just close the tab and open Euromonitor again.
FAME (Financial Analysis Made Easy) Financial Analysis Made Easy (FAME) is a financial database of public and private British and Irish companies. Each detailed record contains the profit and loss account, the balance sheet, financial and profitability ratios and financial and profitability trends. It is provided with searching and analysis software. This means that it is possible to carry out searches using criteria such as company name or registration number, trade description or SIC codes, number of employees, geographical area (postcode, post town or country) or accounting or financial data such as turnover. Any number of these criteria may be combined and inter-company comparisons made.
IBISWorld IBISWorld contains market research reports and industry ratings from around the world. It also has industry Brexit Impact statements for the UK reports. This database covers a wide variety of industry sectors including, construction, energy, manufacturing, finance, wholesale and retail.
Mintel Intelligence Consists of the full text of Mintel market research reports. Mintel has an emphasis on consumer markets in the United Kingdom. Staff and students of Coventry University access Online Mintel on the understanding that use is solely for academic purposes.
Statista Find statistics, consumer survey results and industry studies from over 22500 sources on over 60000 topics on the internet's leading statistics database.
UK Data Service UK Data Service is a free web based database containing macro and micro economic data and social data from the IMF, OECD, Eurostat, ILO, UN as well as the UK’s Office for National Statistics. A comprehensive resource to support researchers, teachers and policymakers who depend on high-quality social and economic data. Although it is a free database, you must register and indicate how you will use the data prior to downloading it.

Financial Times - Subsciption Link The Financial Times is an international daily newspaper with a special emphasis on business and economic news. Students can click on the link and subscribe with their Coventry email address in order to access all of the features that the newspaper provides. The format of the email address should be username@coventry.ac.uk.
Lexis Library (LexisNexis) Search newspaper articles to find background information and press coverage of companies in preparation for job seeking and interviews. Lexis Library is a newspaper and legal database. British national and many local daily & Sunday newspapers are in full text. Access to full text legal information is also included: UK and international cases and legislation with links to full-text journal articles, where the law journal is included in the Lexis database. It is an excellent resource for locating full-text United States cases and legislation and numerous full-text US legal journals. Full text EU law is also available. Search hints: For off-campus access to this resource: click login, then select login with Shibboleth or Athens, choose Coventry University & enter your Coventry University username & password. To search only for newspaper content select ‘news’ on the search bar and type in search terms.
Regional Business News [EBSCO] Regional Business News provides comprehensive full text for regional business publications (including titles from Crain Communications). This database has full text for more than 50 sources. Search hints: For access to this resource login with your Coventry University username & password. Select EBSCOhost Web icon and scroll down list of EBSCO subscribed database and check box for Regional Business News.

Civil Aviation Authority The UK's specialist aviation regulator.
Department for Transport The DoT works with agencies and partners to support the transport network that helps the UK’s businesses and gets people and goods travelling around the country. We plan and invest in transport infrastructure to keep the UK on the move.
The European Air Group The European Air Group (EAG) is the only independent Air-minded organisation in Europe. It comprises the Air Forces of 7 European nations: Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, Spain and the United Kingdom. The EAG has links with many other organisations and nations. The EAG undertakes projects and studies in order to identify realistic ways to improve the interoperability between member nations.

Learning and teaching education resources to support the development of critical thinking and information literacy skills.

Buzz Builder: the Good, the Bad and the Ugly of Word of Mouth Marketing This blog is authored by Patrick Galvin, owner of Galvin Communications, a public relations and buzz marketing firm in Portland, Oregon. He seeks to galvanize sales through creative marketing techniques rather than expensive advertising, using '... buzz marketing to launch new products ranging from alcoholic iced tea to shower squeegees. Also, he has built buzz for a variety of businesses including real estate agencies, restaurants and an architectural practice.'
Global Issues in Context (Gale) Designed by information professionals and subject experts to support global awareness and the development of critical thinking and information literacy skills, Global Issues in Context empowers users with the tools they need to understand today’s world issues from a global perspective. Published by Gale and Cengage Learning.
Chartered Institute of Marketing The Chartered Institute of Marketing (CIM) is the largest professional body for marketing practitioners worldwide. The site gives details of the institute's activities covering the following areas: events, membership, marketing and sales qualifications, training, marketing information and consultancy, as well as career support and continuing professional development.

Henry Stewart Talks - Business & Management Collection Henry Stewart Talks – Business & Management Collection provides access to hundreds of online, audio-visual lectures, presentations and case studies delivered by leading experts from academia and industry. HST covers six main subject areas, including Global Business Management; Finance, Accounting & Economics; and Marketing & Sales. Login: Once selected, follow the instructions to 'Login via organization' to access full content.
ONS - Office for National Statistics ONS is the UK's largest independent producer of official statistics and the recognised national statistical institute of the UK.