CUG Libraries - Subject Guides: Education & Teaching Studies

  Why use this resource?
Good way to learn how to use our most common database-search interface and get results on a broad range of topics.
  Brief description
This is a broad-ranging, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with lots of peer-reviewed journals. Content is mostly available as screen-readable PDFs.

  Why use this resource?
To identify additional articles on your topic (which we may or may not have direct access to) if you have struggled to find enough on the key subject databases.
  Brief description
ASSIA is a bibliographic database, with abstracts and citations of articles from over 650 sociology and psychology journals. Covers the applied social sciences and is particularly useful for social issues, social problems, health care, politics, economics, employment, gender issues, education and ethnicity. Can be searched alongside other ProQuest databases.

  Why use this resource?
Best way to access TV (and some radio) broadcast content from the last 15 years.
  Brief description
This resource allows you to search and access recordings of content broadcast on over 65 free-to-air channels; you can also set up recordings of upcoming shows you are interested in.

  Why use this resource?
Mix of accessible and more-academic sources in a straightforward interface.
  Brief description
Health information source which includes articles from journals, professional press and consumer magazines. Includes some short-form video content.

  Why use this resource?
Key source for education-related journal articles.
  Brief description
Database of 1,200+ full-text publications relating to education, child development and related disciplines. Includes journal articles and selected further materials. Can be search alongside other ProQuest databases.

  Why use this resource?
Perform a search of the majority of the literature relating to education in a single place (though you may need to look elsewhere to find the full text).
  Brief description
International education resources information centre, with a bit of a US-centric bias but with plenty of information for the UK too (just filter your results to UK). Some full-text, other articles may be held via one of our other education databases.

  Why use this resource?
Historical and modern perspectives to enrich your assignments.
  Brief description
A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources focused on the arts and humanities.

  Why use this resource?
To include psychological perspectives or look at research into psychological principles.
  Brief description
International database for psychology, including academic, research and practice literature in many languages. Cross-disciplinary in scope, including relevant materials from disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, law, criminology, and social sciences. Can be search alongside other EBSCO databases (but may be more effective searched on its own due to useful additional facets which are available when you do).

  Why use this resource?
Add alternate perspectives into your work by drawing on the proceedings of various learned societies.
  Brief description
Broad-based journal collection spanning Social Sciences, Science, Technology, and Medicine, many of which come from institutions and societies. You can filter and search by discipline along with the other database-search features you’d expect.

  Why use this resource?
To find quality information to support work in STEM fields.
  Brief description
This is a major database for science, technology and medicine information. Alongside articles from more than 4,000 journals, there are also many books.