Welcome to the Engineering Subject Guide
Use the tabs below to access useful databases, journals and websites. Using these resources will help to ensure you are accessing good quality information and research!
When using databases: Each database covers a specific subject area or areas, this means you may get less results from your search but the articles will be more relevant to your area of study.
If you are unsure which database would be the best to use, read the description of the databases below to help you to decide.
arXiv: (pronounced "archive") A site owned by Cornell University, containing papers in the fields of physics, mathematics, statistics, electrical engineering, systems science and economics.
CiteSeerX: A public search engine and digital library for scientific and academic papers, primarily in the fields of computer and information science.
Computing Research Repository: An online repository allowing researchers to search, browse and download scientific papers in the field of computing.
Semantic Scholar: A search engine using machine learning techniques help you find scientific journal articles. It is designed to highlight the most important/influential papers and to identify the connections between them.
Engineering Council: The Engineering Council is the regulatory body for the UK engineering profession, setting and maintaining internationally-recognised standards of professional competence and commitment
IEEE: Short for the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, IEEE focuses on advancing technology for the benefit of society.
Institution of Engineering and Technology: The IET is a large, multidisciplinary engineering institution, aiming to inspire, inform and influence today's engineers and technicians.
Royal Academy of Engineering: The national academy of engineering for the UK, aiming to advance and promote excellence in engineering.
EE Times: Electronic Engineering Times is an online electronics industry magazine, offering news, columns and articles to 'connect the global electronics community'.
LinkedIn Learning: An online learning platform helping people to learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals. Click 'sign in' > 'sign in with your organization portal' to access the whole site for free.
Every database and information source has it's own quirks and ways of doing things, and it can be tricky when using something for the first time to know what works and what won't. There is a growing collection of video guides to some of Coventry University's subscriptions available - check to see if there's advice about how to get the best out of the site you were going to use today!