CUG Libraries - Subject Guides: Policing
Welcome to the Policing Subject Guide
Use the tabs below to access useful databases, journals and websites. Using these resources will help to ensure you are accessing good quality information and research!
When using databases: Each database covers a specific subject area or areas, this means you may get less results from your search but the articles will be more relevant to your area of study.
If you are unsure which database would be the best to use, read the description of the databases below to help you to decide.
Useful Resources
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
Good way to learn how to use our most common database-search interface and get results on a broad range of topics.
Brief description
This is a broad-ranging, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with lots of peer-reviewed journals. Content is mostly available as screen-readable PDFs. -
ASSIA Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
To identify additional articles on your topic (which we may or may not have direct access to) if you have struggled to find enough on the key subject databases.
Brief description
ASSIA is a bibliographic database, with abstracts and citations of articles from over 650 sociology and psychology journals. Covers the applied social sciences and is particularly useful for social issues, social problems, health care, politics, economics, employment, gender issues, education and ethnicity. Can be searched alongside other ProQuest databases. -
Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
Best way to access TV (and some radio) broadcast content from the last 15 years.
Brief description
This resource allows you to search and access recordings of content broadcast on over 65 free-to-air channels; you can also set up recordings of upcoming shows you are interested in. -
Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
Good resource on the causes of, trends in, and societal impacts of crime.
Brief description
Comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. Covers areas such as criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security from both theoretical and practical viewpoints. Can be searched alongside other ProQuest databases. -
Lexis+ This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
Access law reports, cases, legislation, articles and commentary through a single interface.
Brief description
Key legal database, with full text legal information including UK and international cases and legislation, with links to full-text journal articles (where included in the Lexis database). Quite a lot of the content is US-focused, but full text EU law is also available.
-
Policing Insight
Why use this resource?
A 'leading platform to keep up with the latest in progressive policing.'
Brief description
Policing Insight content consists of news, opinion, research and analysis produced by our editorial team and over 900 external expert contributors, delivered through articles and reports.
-
Psychology Database This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
Criminology and psychological perspectives on offender and professional behaviours.
Brief description
Journal articles addressing theoretical and practice-focused approaches to psychology. Also includes some content from books, theses and audio-visual sources. Can be searched alongside other ProQuest databases. -
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
To include psychological perspectives or look at research into psychological principles.
Brief description
International database for psychology, including academic, research and practice literature in many languages. Cross-disciplinary in scope, including relevant materials from disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, law, criminology, and social sciences. Can be search alongside other EBSCO databases (but may be more effective searched on its own due to useful additional facets which are available when you do). -
Sage Premier This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
Add alternate perspectives into your work by drawing on the proceedings of various learned societies.
Brief description
Broad-based journal collection spanning Social Sciences, Science, Technology, and Medicine, many of which come from institutions and societies. You can filter and search by discipline along with the other database-search features you’d expect. -
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
To find quality information to support work in STEM fields.
Brief description
This is a major database for science, technology and medicine information. Alongside articles from more than 4,000 journals, there are also many books. -
Sociology Database This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
Gain a sociological perspective on the areas you are covering.
Brief description
Access journals (mostly full-text) relating to sociological areas (including criminology). Global results, but can easily be filtered to view UK research. Can be searched alongside other ProQuest databases. -
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
Along with the main search interface, content can also be browsed by topic area; there is also a current awareness facet to look at recent developments in a topic.
Brief description
Provides access to full-text UK and international cases and legislation. Incorporates the Legal Journals Index, with links to full-text journal articles (where included in the Westlaw database). Full text EU law is available, along with the usual strong coverage of US law.