CUG Libraries - Subject Guides: Psychology

  Why use this resource?
Good for specific examples of practice, as well as new applications of theory, relating to primary healthcare.
  Brief description
CINAHL is an informative health literature database for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. It provides higher-level articles and case studies rather than entry-level information, but can be used to add specific examples to assignments. Due to the specialised metadata included, CINAHL is best searched on its own.

  Why use this resource?
Search and cite articles on psychology; it’s kind of in the title!
  Brief description
Journal articles addressing theoretical and practice-focused approaches to psychology. Also includes some content from books, theses and audio-visual sources. Can be searched alongside other ProQuest databases.

  Why use this resource?
To include psychological perspectives or look at research into psychological principles.
  Brief description
International database for psychology, including academic, research and practice literature in many languages. Cross-disciplinary in scope, including relevant materials from disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, law, criminology, and social sciences. Can be search alongside other EBSCO databases (but may be more effective searched on its own due to useful additional facets which are available when you do).

  Why use this resource?
Ideal one-stop source to search for and cite all the key terms used in your research methodology section.
  Brief description
Contains material (books, articles, cases and audiovisual content) designed to guide you through every step of the research process.

  Why use this resource?
Mix of scholarly and trade journals, reports and other sources to address organisational and forensic psychology topics.
  Brief description
Database with content focused on companies and business trends from around the world. Includes publications such as The Economist, along with country- and industry-focused reports. Can be searched alongside other ProQuest databases.

  Why use this resource?
Good way to learn how to use our most common database-search interface and get results on a broad range of topics.
  Brief description
This is a broad-ranging, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with lots of peer-reviewed journals. Content is mostly available as screen-readable PDFs.

  Why use this resource?
Find additional references to support your arguments from a practice-led viewpoint.
  Brief description
Alternative medicine index database targeted at practitioner and academic audiences, focused on European sources and including many sources not indexed elsewhere. Can be searched alongside other EBSCO databases.

  Why use this resource?
To identify additional articles on your topic (which we may or may not have direct access to) if you have struggled to find enough on the key subject databases.
  Brief description
ASSIA is a bibliographic database, with abstracts and citations of articles from over 650 sociology and psychology journals. Covers the applied social sciences and is particularly useful for social issues, social problems, health care, politics, economics, employment, gender issues, education and ethnicity. Can be searched alongside other ProQuest databases.

  Why use this resource?
Best way to access TV (and some radio) broadcast content from the last 15 years.
  Brief description
This resource allows you to search and access recordings of content broadcast on over 65 free-to-air channels; you can also set up recordings of upcoming shows you are interested in.

  Why use this resource?
Make reference to real casework transcripts to illustrate theoretical concepts.
  Brief description
A searchable collection containing real transcripts of counseling and therapy sessions and first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and treatment, as well as reference works to contextualize the primary material.

  Why use this resource?
Good resource on the causes of, trends in, and societal impacts of crime.
  Brief description
Comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. Covers areas such as criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security from both theoretical and practical viewpoints. Can be searched alongside other ProQuest databases.

  Why use this resource?
A rich source for real-world case studies and in-sector research outputs.
  Brief description
Provides journals, books and case studies, along with expert briefings. Though there is a strong business focus to the collection, it also includes wider social science areas which help to place business theory into real-world contexts.

  Why use this resource?
Useful contextual information when writing about LGBT or intersectional concerns.
  Brief description
Archival runs of 26 of the most influential, longest-running serial publications covering LGBT interests. Some publications may contain explicit content.

  Why use this resource?
Add medically-focused practice examples to your work.
  Brief description
US-focused medical source, incorporating life sciences journals, molecular biology databases and health and wellbeing practice guidance.Can be searched alongside other EBSCO databases.

  Why use this resource?
Will help add higher-level health and anatomy information to your assignments.
  Brief description
Offers complete information from leading nursing and health related publications. Designed to suit practitioners as well as those studying on Nursing and health-related courses. Can be searched alongside other ProQuest databases.

  Why use this resource?
Useful source to refer to if you are addressing aspects of traumatic stress in an assignment.
  Brief description
PILOTS (Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress) is a US initiative to gather citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events. Can be searched alongside other ProQuest databases.

  Why use this resource?
Medically-focused evidence drawn from across the world.
  Brief description
Citation index of biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may link to other databases we have access to, or may require a document supply request to get access.

  Why use this resource?
Add alternate perspectives into your work by drawing on the proceedings of various learned societies.
  Brief description
Broad-based journal collection spanning Social Sciences, Science, Technology, and Medicine, many of which come from institutions and societies. You can filter and search by discipline along with the other database-search features you’d expect.

  Why use this resource?
To find quality information to support work in STEM fields.
  Brief description
This is a major database for science, technology and medicine information. Alongside articles from more than 4,000 journals, there are also many books.

  Why use this resource?
Helpful for sports psychology topics.
  Brief description
Full-text database on sport, fitness and related disciplines. The content includes multidisciplinary, international references from journal and magazine articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings and more.