Public Health Subject Guide: Home
Welcome to the Public Health Subject Guide
Use the tabs below to access useful databases, journals and websites. Using these resources will help to ensure you are accessing good quality information and research!
When using databases: Each database covers a specific subject area or areas, this means you may get less results from your search but the articles will be more relevant to your area of study.
If you are unsure which database would be the best to use, read the description of the databases below to help you to decide.
Alphabetical list of resources
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowWhy use this resource? - Good way to learn how to use our most common database-search interface and get results on a broad range of topics.
Brief description - This is a broad-ranging, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with lots of peer-reviewed journals. Content is mostly available as screen-readable PDFs. Can be searched alongside other EBSCO databases. - AMED Allied and complementary medicine databases This link opens in a new windowWhy use this resource? - Find additional references to support your arguments from a practice-led viewpoint.
Brief description - Alternative medicine index database targeted at practitioner and academic audiences, focused on European sources and including many sources not indexed elsewhere. Can be searched alongside other EBSCO databases. - ASSIA Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts This link opens in a new windowWhy use this resource? - To identify additional articles on your topic (which we may or may not have direct access to) if you have struggled to find enough on the key subject databases.
Brief description - ASSIA is a bibliographic database, with abstracts and citations of articles from over 650 sociology and psychology journals. Covers the applied social sciences and is particularly useful for social issues, social problems, health care, politics, economics, employment, gender issues, education and ethnicity. Can be searched alongside other ProQuest databases. - Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new windowWhy use this resource? - Best way to access TV (and some radio) broadcast content from the last 15 years.
Brief description - This resource allows you to search and access recordings of content broadcast on over 65 free-to-air channels; you can also set up recordings of upcoming shows you are interested in. - CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new windowWhy use this resource? - Good for specific examples of practice, as well as new applications of theory, relating to healthcare.
Brief description - CINAHL is an informative health literature database for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. It provides higher-level articles and case studies rather than entry-level information, but can be used to add specific examples to assignments. Due to the specialised metadata included, CINAHL is best searched on its own. - Consumer Health Database This link opens in a new windowWhy use this resource? - Mix of accessible and more-academic sources in a straightforward interface.
Brief description - Health information source which includes articles from journals, professional press and consumer magazines. Includes some short-form video content. Can be searched alongside other ProQuest databases. - Health & Medical Collection This link opens in a new windowWhy use this resource? - Good for health and wellbeing information with academic underpinning.
Brief description - This database includes clinical and biomedical sources alongside consumer health articles and broader content on health administration. Can be searched alongside other ProQuest databases. - Medline This link opens in a new windowWhy use this resource? - Add medically-focused practice examples to your work.
Brief description - US-focused medical source, incorporating life sciences journals, molecular biology databases and health and wellbeing practice guidance. Can be searched alongside other EBSCO databases. - Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new windowWhy use this resource? - Will help add higher-level health and anatomy information to your assignments.
Brief description - Offers complete information from leading nursing and health related publications. Designed to suit practitioners as well as those studying on Nursing and health-related courses. Can be searched alongside other ProQuest databases. - PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowWhy use this resource? - To include psychological perspectives or look at research into psychological principles.
Brief description - International database for psychology, including academic, research and practice literature in many languages. Cross-disciplinary in scope, including relevant materials from disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, law, criminology, and social sciences. Can be search alongside other EBSCO databases (but may be more effective searched on its own due to useful additional facets which are available when you do). - Pubmed This link opens in a new windowWhy use this resource? - Medically-focused evidence drawn from across the world.
Brief description – Citation index of biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may link to other databases we have access to, or may require a document supply request to get access. - Sage Premier This link opens in a new windowWhy use this resource? - Add alternate perspectives into your work by drawing on the proceedings of various learned societies.
Brief description - Broad-based journal collection spanning Social Sciences, Science, Technology, and Medicine, many of which come from institutions and societies. You can filter and search by discipline along with the other database-search features you’d expect. - ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowWhy use this resource? - To find quality information to support work in STEM fields.
Brief description - This is a major database for science, technology and medicine information. Alongside articles from more than 4,000 journals, there are also many books. - Social Care Online This link opens in a new windowWhy use this resource? - Helps to place practice and treatment within legal and ethical frameworks.
Brief description - UK-focused information on all aspects of social work and social care, including legislation, government documents, practice and guidance, systematic reviews and research briefings.
Promoting Health - A Practical Guide by Call Number: 613 SCRISBN: 9780702066924Publication Date: 2017
Foundations for Health Promotion by Call Number: 613.0941 NAIISBN: 9780702054426Publication Date: 2016
The Community Development Reader by Call Number: 307.140941 COMISBN: 9781847427045Publication Date: 2011
Reflective Models
Figure 1
Kolb's Experiential Learning Cycle
From Bassot (2023, p. 43)
Figure 2
Gibbs' Reflective Cycle
From Bassot (2023, p. 73)
Figure 3
Driscoll’s What Model
From University of Cambridge (n.d.)
Reference List
Bassot, B. (2023). Reflective practice guide (2nd ed.). Taylor and Francis.
University of Cambridge. (n.d.). Reflective Practice Toolkit. https://libguides.cam.ac.uk/reflectivepracticetoolkit/models
- Fingertips - Public Health EnglandPublic Health profiles which allow you to:
- Browse indicators at different geographical levels
- Benchmark against the regional or England average
- Export data to use locally
Links
Locate can be used to access ebooks and find print books in your campus Library.
Referencing help and support.
Reading lists- view essential and recommended reading for each module on your course.
Database Video Tutorials
Database Video Tutorials
Every database and information source has it's own quirks and ways of doing things, and it can be tricky when using something for the first time to know what works and what won't. There is a growing collection of video guides to some of Coventry University's subscriptions available - check to see if there's advice about how to get the best out of the site you were going to use today!