Biological & Chemical Sciences Subject Guide: Home
Welcome to the Biological & Chemical Sciences Subject Guide
Use the tabs below to access useful databases, journals and websites. Using these resources will help to ensure you are accessing good quality information and research!
When using databases: Each database covers a specific subject area or areas, this means you may get less results from your search but the articles will be more relevant to your area of study.
If you are unsure which database would be the best to use, read the description of the databases below to help you to decide
Biological and Chemical Sciences
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete (ASC), designed specifically for academic institutions, is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. - Biological Science Database This link opens in a new windowScience and biology - journal articles and magazines.
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new windowGain access to informative health literature with CINAHL, the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, this database covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition to journal articles, other material such as dissertations, conference proceedings, pamphlets and standards of practice are also included.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowThe Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR), Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA), NHS Economic Evaluation Database (EED), and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups: About The Cochrane Collaboration.
- Health & Medical Collection This link opens in a new windowClinical and biomedical, consumer health, health administration, etc. - journal articles.
- Human Anatomy Atlas (Visible Body) This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive 3D atlas of the human body. Also available as an app. Includes structures from all body systems: nervous, skeletal, circulatory, muscular, digestive, urinary, lymphatic, endocrine, and reproductive.
- Medline This link opens in a new windowProduced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, PubMed is a freely available version of MEDLINE which includes additional life sciences journals. It also provides integrated molecular biology databases. PubMed contains over 14 million references and includes some links to full-text articles.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowPsycINFO database, with over 1.7 million records, is the comprehensive international database of psychology. It covers the academic, research and practice literature in psychology from over 45 countries in more than 30 languages. PsycINFO includes relevant materials from related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, law, criminology, social science, and organizational behavior.
- Pubmed This link opens in a new windowPubMed comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
- Sage Premier This link opens in a new windowSAGE is the world's 5th largest journals publisher. Our portfolio includes more than 1000 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 400 are published on behalf of learned societies and institutions.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new windowScopus is a comprehensive scientific, medical, technical and social science database containing all relevant literature.
- SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new windowThis database offers comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. With full bibliographic coverage, monographs dating back to 1949, and journal coverage to 1975, this database contains over 565,000 records and over 200,000 dissertations and theses. The content also consists of multidisciplinary, international references from journal and magazine articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings and more.
The Library has access to over 5000 academic journals, some of which are shown below.
Journals are published regularly and contain up to date, peer reviewed information.
You can view the journals below, or search for individual journal articles using the databases tab.
Below are some useful websites which may be used to help you with your studies.
If you are researching information online, consider who the author (company or person) of a website is and whether they are a suitably qualified expert. If you cannot be sure that the website or author is reliable, we do not recommend using it as a source of information.
- Visible Body (Human Anatomy Atlas)Why use this resource? – Good way to look at the interaction and detail of human systems and organs.
Brief description - A comprehensive 3D atlas of the human body. Also available as an app. Includes structures from all body systems: nervous, skeletal, circulatory, muscular, digestive, urinary, lymphatic, endocrine, and reproductive.
Access information (see also video below):
1. Log in using your usual username and password (if prompted to)
2. tick any box when asked which elements you want to search on Ovid and press 'continue'
3. Select ‘Visible Body' from the blue bar at the top of the page,
4. Click on the 'Human Anatomy Atlas' (image of a face with nerves showing and '2017' written alongside it) to launch the resource.
Links
Locate can be used to access ebooks and find print books in your campus Library.
Referencing help and support.
Reading lists- view essential and recommended reading for each module on your course.
Database Video Tutorials
Database Video Tutorials
Every database and information source has it's own quirks and ways of doing things, and it can be tricky when using something for the first time to know what works and what won't. There is a growing collection of video guides to some of Coventry University's subscriptions available - check to see if there's advice about how to get the best out of the site you were going to use today!