CUG Libraries - Subject Guides: Sport Performance & Coaching
Welcome to the Sport Performance & Coaching Subject Guide
Use the tabs below to access useful databases, journals and websites. Using these resources will help to ensure you are accessing good quality information and research!
When using databases: Each database covers a specific subject area or areas, this means you may get less results from your search but the articles will be more relevant to your area of study.
If you are unsure which database would be the best to use, read the description of the databases below to help you to decide.
Useful Resources
Key Databases
-
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
Coverage of sports management, coaching, physical and psychological aspects of sporting behaviours.
Brief description
Full-text database on sport, fitness and related disciplines. The content includes multidisciplinary, international references from journal and magazine articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings and more. Can be searched alongside other EBSCO databases. -
SportBusiness
Why use this resource?
Case-focused examples and current awareness on a range of sports topics.
Brief description
SportBusiness provides an up-to-date perspective on topics including sponsorship, marketing, events, and governance. It covers a range of sports at national and international levels, with emphasis on reports and data. -
Hospitality & Tourism Index This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
Business-focused perspective of service delivery and management in the leisure sector.
Brief description
Scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism, including leisure management. Draws from UK and international sources. Can be searched alongside other EBSCO databases.
Other Useful Databases
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
Good way to learn how to use our most common database-search interface and get results on a broad range of topics.
Brief description
This is a broad-ranging, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with lots of peer-reviewed journals. Content is mostly available as screen-readable PDFs. Can be searched alongside other EBSCO databases. -
Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
Best way to access TV (and some radio) broadcast content from the last 15 years.
Brief description
This resource allows you to search and access recordings of content broadcast on over 65 free-to-air channels; you can also set up recordings of upcoming shows you are interested in. -
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
A rich source for real-world case studies and in-sector research outputs.
Brief description
Provides journals, books and case studies, along with expert briefings. Though there is a strong business focus to the collection, it also includes wider social science areas which help to place business theory into real-world contexts. -
Human Anatomy Atlas (Visible Body) This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
Good way to look at the interaction and detail of human systems and organs.
Brief description
A comprehensive 3D atlas of the human body. Also available as an app. Includes structures from all body systems: nervous, skeletal, circulatory, muscular, digestive, urinary, lymphatic, endocrine, and reproductive.
Access information
1. Log in using your usual username and password (if prompted to).
2. Tick any box when asked which elements you want to search on Ovid and press 'continue'.
3. Select ‘Visible Body' from the blue bar at the top of the page.
4. Click on the 'Human Anatomy Atlas' (image of a face with nerves showing and '2017' written alongside it) to launch the resource.
Video guide
-
Medline This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
Accurate and up-to-date analyses of key consumer markets to add practical examples to academic theories.
Brief description
Market research reports with an emphasis on consumer markets in the United Kingdom. Our subscription covers market, leisure, retail and personal finance intelligence, along with some access to wider reports. Includes both authored analysis and raw data for you to use to reach novel insights. Search by category, region and demographics to add rich data to your assignments.
Restriction
Use of this resource is solely for academic purposes. Using information obtained for commercial purposes is strictly forbidden.
-
Sage Premier This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
Add alternate perspectives into your work by drawing on the proceedings of various learned societies.
Brief description
Broad-based journal collection spanning Social Sciences, Science, Technology, and Medicine, many of which come from institutions and societies. You can filter and search by discipline along with the other database-search features you’d expect. -
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
To find quality information to support work in STEM fields.
Brief description
This is a major database for science, technology and medicine information. Alongside articles from more than 4,000 journals, there are also many books.