Databases on the EBSCO platform can be searched simultaneously, helping you to save time with your research. Choose any of the following links to access the EBSCO platform and above the keyword search boxes select 'Choose databases' and select the databases you would like to search.
I recommend always searching in Academic Search Complete, CINAHL, and Medline. You can choose any other relevant ones from the list below depending on your specific topic.
PubMed has some duplicate open access content from Medline, however it also has access to some content not available in Medline so is worth searching as well. Unlike Medline, PubMed is freely accessible to anybody and you do not need to use your Coventry ID to login to use this database.
The following databases can also be searched together, choose any of the following links and above the search bar select 'Change Databases' and select the ones you would like to search. The databases highlighted below may prove particularly useful.
ScienceDirect & Scopus
ScienceDirect provides full-text searching and access to thousands of journal articles and books. Be aware that search functionality in ScienceDirect is more limited than some databases and you can only search up to 8 keyword terms at once. Alternatively, you can do an advanced search in Locate to use more search terms and refine your results to the Scopus (Elsevier) collection to retrieve results from ScienceDirect. You can also search the Scopus database directly.
Scopus indexes articles from thousands of journals in the sciences and social sciences. It has excellent coverage of literature in life and biomedical sciences. It also includes conference proceedings, an increasing number of book series and patent records. Scopus provides useful search tools and citation searching tools.
If you are looking for legal information, such as cases, legislation or research articles on food law, you may want to make use of some of our legal databases. Databases available at Coventry include -
Searching legal databases is quite a specialised area and different to searching other literature databases. You are advised to consult the Law Subject Guide for further guidance on searching these databases. The Law Subject Guide also provides links to the databases listed above.
We have thousands of e-books available. You can find and access e-books using Locate. Some particularly useful e-book collections are highlighted below.
There are a number of resources you can use to find dissertations and theses from Coventry University and other national and international universities. Please note that the library does not hold copies of undergraduate or taught Masters dissertations.
There are a variety of visual resources which provide life-sciences images, diagrams and photographs.
There are a wide range of free resources available on the web to find images related to life-science, molecular biology and public health. Links to some useful resources are given below.
Some useful resources for systematic reviews are given below. More information and resources can be found on our Systematic Review LibGuide