The Library offers 667,000 e-resources to support the delivery of online teaching and learning.
The Library operates an e-book first policy, and provides access to over 398,000 e-books. You can search our e-book collection on Locate. The 'Full Text Online' filter to the left of your search allows you to limit your results to books available online only. Some publishers do not allow books to be sold electronically, but speak to your Academic Liaison Librarian if you have concerns about a particular title as we may be able to digitise a chapter or extract.
The Flying Start scheme, via BibliU, makes core course readings available online. The majority of these titles are available to users across the University Group, whatever course they study, and can be found on Locate.
Due to current events, many publishers have extended access to their material. This includes Ebook Central, one of our biggest suppliers; EBSCO, who have given us free access to approximately 200,000 e-books; and Pearson. For a full list, see the Extended Provider Access tab.
The Library offers access to 146,000 journals online. You can search for journals using the 'Books and more...' search option on Locate. For the majority of subject areas, individual articles can be searched for by selecting 'Journal articles...' from the drop-down list.
If a journal article falls outside of the Library's subscriptions, we can provide it electronically through the Document Supply Service. This service is free of charge for staff and students.
As well as e-books and journal articles, the Library subscribes to a variety of specialist databases and other resources which can be accessed online. These include:
Of particular interest across the disciplines is Box of Broadcasts, which allows students to watch free to air television programmes and listen to national radio programmes. Academic staff can embed clips or whole programmes into Moodle.
Due to the coronavirus outbreak, many providers are extending access to their resources.
|Provider||Response to COVID-19|
|Accucoms||Accucoms works closely with several publishers that have signed the Wellcome Trust-coordinated initiave for making COVID-19 content freely available to help the pandemic.|
|AIP Publishing||Articles related to infectious diseases, epidemics, computational epidemiology, and pendemics are free to read.|
|American Chemical Society||ACS Publications would like to share this virtual issue featuring articles covering coronavirus research.|
|American Economic Association||AEA offer open Access to 9 economics journals with back files dating back as far as 1911.|
|American Medical Association||JAMA and multimedia collection is now open access.|
|American Psychological Association (APA)||APA is participating in the ProQuest Ebook Central programme to provide unlimited access through to June 19 to APA books that are included in Ebook Central.|
|Annual Reviews||Temporarily removing access control to all 52 journals.|
|Berghahn||Free access to all Berghahn Journals will be made freely available through June 30.|
|BioOne||Coronavirus-related articles in three journals are now open access.|
|Bloomsbury Digital Resources||Resources are now available upon request through the end of May 2020.|
|Brill||Free access to books and articles on topics such as public health, distance learning, crisis research.|
|British Medical Journal||BMJ microsite that includes freely available COVID 19 Content on BMJ Best Practice and BMJ Learning.|
|Cambridge University Press||Cambridge University Press is making over 700 higher education textbooks in HTML format free to access online.|
|Canadian Science Publishing||Free access to coronavirus research in our journals.|
|CNKI||1640+ articles about COVID-19 are now open access.|
|Cochrane||The Cochrane Library will be temporarily unrestricted for everyone.|
|De Gruyter||75,000 DRM-free eBooks from ©1650 through to ©2016|
|Digital Science||Providing all relevant COVID-19 material as a single downloadable file, updated daily.|
|EBSCO||Faculty Select allows users to search over 12,400 Open Educational Resources.|
|Access to approximately 200,00 e-books. These will also be accessible via Locate soon.|
|Emerald||Coronavirus-related content made open access.|
|Elsevier||Open access Coronavirus Information Centre introduced.|
|Epigeum||Teaching and learning resources freely available until the end of May 2020.|
|Ex Libris||Ex Libris is making a series of services and benefits more widely available to higher education libraries around the world. Offerings are made available at no cost for 3 to 6 months (depending on the offering).|
|GeoScience World GSW||GSW book publishers have extended public access to all of their ebooks through to June 30, 2020.|
|HeinOnline||Offering free campus-wide and remote access options to HeinOnline Academic for the remainder of the current semester and all of next semester.|
|IEEE||Access to IEEE suite of 400 + eLearning courses through to the end of June.|
IEEE has identified articles and standards from the IEEE Xplore digital library that may help researchers understand and manage different aspects of the COVID-19 pandemic and technologies that can be leveraged to combat it. All content in this collection is now free to access for the duration of the global health crisis, with additional rights for all types of reuse, including full text and data mining, and analysis.
|John Libbey Eurotext||All 23 medical and scientific journals now open access.|
|JoVE||Temporary free access to Science Education videos.|
|JSTOR||For participating academic institutions, access to all unlicensed JSTOR Archive and Primary Source collections will be turned on at no cost. More than 20,000 books will be available at no charge for JSTOR-participating academic institutions.|
|Karger||Coronavirus-related content made open access.|
|Kluwer Law International||Our Legal & Regulatory US business has made available resources for legal professionals.|
|Mary Ann Liebert||
Coronavirus-related content made open access.
|McGraw-Hill Education||Core digital learning platforms, McGraw-Hill Connect and ALEKS, are available free to any student and instructor who needs it for the remainder of this Spring 2020 term.|
|MIT Press||Complimentary access to its catalogue of eBooks on MIT Press Direct through the end of May 2020.|
|NEJM||Coronavirus-related content made open access.|
|Ohio State University Press||All Ohio State University Press monographs, and the linguistics textbook language files, will be open and free to use through the Ohio State University Libraries’ Institutional Repository, The Knowledge Bank.|
|OpenEdition||Extended access to OpenEdition Books and OpenEdition Journals content|
|OUP||Resources freely available.|
|Paratext||Paratext is pleased to offer access to U.S. Documents Masterfile™ to all academic, public, and special libraries through to June 2020.|
|Pearson||Pearson is offering free access to a wide range of digital learning resources across our entire publishing programme. All of which support effective online teaching, from accessible ebooks, to a range of formative assessment tools|
|Project MUSE||15,000+ e-books and 230+ journals are being made open access, and this number is increasing.|
|ProQuest||Unlimited user access to Ebook Central holdings.|
|ProQuest Research Companion||Research Companion is open to all students and educators through to June 30th.|
|Redshelf||RedShelf is providing students with free, convenient access to their learning materials. Students need to create a free log-in to access.|
|Royal Society of Chemistry||All Royal Society of Chemistry articles on coronavirus research are freely available.|
|SAGE||Offering complimentary, 90-day access to most-requested online teaching and learning resources: SAGE Video, SAGE Research Methods Video and SAGE Knowledge Books & Reference. Extending free access to eBooks/eTextbooks and courseware access for instructors.|
|ScienceDirect||The 256 textbooks currently on ScienceDirect will be automatically entitled to all active ScienceDirect customers.|
|Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics SIAM||The SIAM Epidemiology Collection, focused on disease modeling, pandemics, and vaccines, is freely available to all for one year.|
|Springer Nature||Coronavirus-related content made open access.|
|Spinger Nature (2)||
Springer Nature has launched a new initiative, aimed at further supporting learning and teaching by giving students, academics, and university staff access to essential Springer Nature textbooks. Institutions will be able to access more than 500 key textbooks across Springer Nature’s eBook subject collections for free. These books will be available until at least the end of July.
|Taylor & Francis||1150+ coronavirus-related articles made open access.|
|University of California Press||All 46 journals in humanities, social sciences and natural sciences journals are now open access.|
|University of Chicago Press||Free access to COVID-19 related content.|
|University of Michigan Press||University of Michigan Press will make all content in the University of Michigan Press Ebook Collection free-to-read for the remainder of the academic term|
|VitalSource||Free access to eTextbooks to students affected by COVID-19 campus closures.|
|VitalSource Helps||VitalSource has joined with leading textbook publishers to assist HE institutions as they transform from campus to online course delivery, by launching VitalSource Helps. The VitalSource Helps programme supports students who may have lost access to course materials due to campuses closing to prevent the spread of COVID-19. Students can register and log-in to the VitalSource Bookshelf app using their university email address and can then find and view course materials from participating publishers. Up to 7 e-books can be borrowed.|
|Wiley||More than 5300 coronavirus-related articles made open access.|
|Wolters Kluwer||Curated information and resources made open access to support health professionals in responding to COVID-19.|
The Library team can offer you support as you deliver teaching and learning online, including:
Please get in touch with your Academic Liaison Librarian, who will be happy to help.