No garden, no problem, create a windowsill herb garden or fill a planter.
Pass the time by learning calligraphy or maybe try your hand at origami.
There are some books about origami online. Go to Locate if you want to take a look.
Learn a language
Learn a new language.
Check out Linguea Mundi, the university's language learning program, or find many free online resources.
There are lots of opportunities for learning online.
The University gives you access to LinkedIn Learning, which gives you access to many courses, or many universities offer free courses online. Check out the Open University, or other online learning sites.
Do you have a musical instrument at home?
Learn to play it.
Treat yourself kindly. Why not create a spa in your home.
Choose the right room, light scented candles and play soothing music.
Put on a face mask, give yourself a manicure
and paint your nails.
Read some of those unread books on your bookshelf.
Lose yourself in another world.
Locate also has many online books for you to check out.
Don't feel guilty just catch up on all those box sets.
Watch your favourite television programmes and relax.
Put your house in order
Finish all those little DIY jobs around the house.
Clear out your wardrobe. Tidy your sock drawer.
Sort out all your photographs.
Have a general de-clutter.
Leave your worries behind
Take a virtual tour of museums:
The Louvre, Uffizi Gallery and the British Museum are all offering virtual tours.
Creative Scarves by Tiffany M. Windsor; Heidi Borchers
Publication Date: 2014-10-24
Show off your scarf style! Why shop endlessly for the perfect scarf when you can create one that is perfectly you? In Creative Scarves you'll find 24 fashionably fun and incredibly easy design ideas to help you make (or make-over) your own gorgeous scarves for every outfit, occasion and season. Add your own personal touch as you sew, stamp, stencil, dye, bead, paint and trim your way to a complete scarf collection. Flip to the "Favorite Ways to Wear" section for tips on wearing your unique creations. Sew, stamp, stencil, dye, bead, paint and trim your scarves!
Making Cushions and Pillows by Nina Granlund Saether
Publication Date: 2014-01-06
A fabulous collection of 60 contemporary cushion designs to transform your home. Using a range of different techniques from crochet to knitted intarsia motifs, cross stitch and embroidery, you can create cushions to suit any living space. Features endless gorgeous designs and ideas for all abilities. Includes a fully illustrated techniques section.
Cooking with Love by Leslie Sellers
Publication Date: 2013-10-22
Cooking with Love is dedicated to the pleasures of cooking, covering recipes such as shish kebab in Soho; lobster Thermidor; black pudding in Oldham; filet de boeuf en croûte in Mayfair; fish and chips in Blackpool; succulent carpetbag steaks crammed with oysters; rich chocolate gâteaux bursting at the seams with chestnut cream; peaches in brandy; salmon trout in champagne sauce; and Lancashire hotpot and bubble and squeak. This book is comprised of 10 chapters and opens with recipes cooked in cream, including Kidneys Wendy, Carpetbag Pork Chops, Beef Olives, Bogus Indian Steaks, Stuffed Peppers, and Steak Surbiton. The next chapter deals with sweet recipes such as Boozers' Pudding, Linzer Tart, Apricot Goody, Orange Cake, Strawberry Layer, Hazelnut Dream, Rum Bananas, and Ginger-biscuit Cake. The reader is also introduced to chocolate-flavored recipes like Chocolate-biscuit cake and chocolate mousse; foreign dishes such as Spanish rice and chicken curry; recipes with vegetables; and recipes for kids such as chocolate fingers and peanut-butter cookies. This monograph will be a useful resource for mothers, cooks, and those who love cooking.
Yoga - Philosophy for Everyone by Fritz Allhoff (Editor); Liz Stillwaggon Swan (Editor); John Friend (Foreword by)
Publication Date: 2011-09-07
Stimulates thoughts and expands awareness of the philosophical dimensions of yoga in its many forms and practices Yoga -- Philosophy for Everyone presents a wide array of perspectives by people whose lives have been touched by yoga. Addressing myriad aspects of yoga's divergent paths, topics include body image for men and women; the religious and spiritual aspects of yoga; and issues relating to ethics, personal growth, and the teaching of yoga. Written by philosophers and non-philosophers alike, with contributions from professional yoga instructors, lifelong practitioners, and first-timers, Yoga -- Philosophy for Everyone offers a wealth of material for both enjoyment and deep reflection.
Outside the Box Origami by Scott Wasserman Stern
Publication Date: 2012-07-10
Take your paper folding to the next level with this creative, dynamic origami book. Join origami paper craft whiz Scott Wasserman Stern on a journey beyond the usual with Outside the Box Origami. Begun by the author at age fourteen and the product of three years of work, this extraordinary paper craft book contains 20 original, whimsical paper fold projects ranging from the simple to the complex. Outside the Box Origami features a mix of single-sheet and modular origami models accompanied by full-colored photos, illustrations and easy-to-follow diagrams. A variety of different folds are featured—from the geometric models like the "Starburst" to more adventurous and organic models such as "When Pigs Fly!" The book culminates with "Folding Outside the Box" a challenging single-sheet model that depicts two hands reaching out of a box, folding a piece of origami paper. If you're looking for a more modern and contemporary version of origami, this papercraft book is sure to wet your appetite!
Origami Monsters by Isamu Asahi
Publication Date: 2012-12-04
Make spooky origami monsters and space creatures with this easy origami book. Green Gremlins, Cycops and Bat Birds are just a few of the colorful monsters you will create with this ghoulishly fun book of Japanese paper folding. Origami Monsters presents 23 fun-filled origami monster design projects. The book provides step-by-step instructions and easy-to-follow colored diagrams—folders will be able to create their own world of fascinating 3D origami model monsters! Use it to craft eye-catching origami for your friends, to decorate your room—or as a wonderful gift for paper craft lovers. All of the folds are simple enough to be origami-for-kids projects and are a great way to learn origami. None of the projects require paint or tools so just grab some origami paper and start folding right away! This origami book contains: 32 page, full-color book 23 monster origami projects Easy-to-follow instructions Colorful diagrams and photos Origami Monsters is a great value, requires no previous paper folding experience and is great value, requires no previous paper folding experience and is great for kids and family craft projects, as well as within the office or a classroom setting. Origami projects include: Spider Man Space Fox The Mummy Cyclops And many more...
Talking about Puddings by Margaret Bates
Publication Date: 2013-10-22
Talking about Puddings presents a collection of recipes of home-made puddings. The book describes cooking methods and preparation, dressing, and storage suggestions for each recipe. The text also provides recipes of traditional Christmas and winter puddings, fritters, pancakes and sweet omelets, creamy milk puddings, junkets and custards, and pies. The book covers recipes of other baked puddings, pies, tarts, flans, meringue delicacies, and lush cakes. Recipes of cheese or curd cakes and other delicacies made with cottage cheese and sour cream; cold sweets; ice cream and food with ice cream; and petits fours, friandises, and dessert biscuits are also provided. The book concludes by discussing useful fundamentals such as pastry-making, sweet sauces, flavorings and simple garnishes, handy measures, and British and American measures. Home cooks and professional chefs will find the book invaluable.