This archival database features high-quality indexing of historical literature on a variety of art topics from the years 1929 to 1984. Chronicling over half a century of art literature, it covers fine, decorative, and commercial art
World's leading trends forecaster on a number of design areas with trend forecasting, trend analysis, daily updates, CAD design and a colour palette in the 'fashion' section. All photographs can be downloaded into student work as long as they are acknowledged. Login with your Coventry Uni email address and password.
Main design database worldwide. Covering crafts, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture. Around 1200 new records are added in each monthly update.
Full text worldwide market research reports and statistical data. Information includes consumer lifestyles, country information and company and brand data. In particular it contains the full text of Market research Great Britain, Market research Europe, Market research international and Retail monitor international.
Provides access to a full-text set of current British Standards and documents, many of which are BSI adopted European and International standards.
NOTE: you need to download a FileOpen plugin to read PDFs from BS Online.
Access to the published patent application databases of the UK Patent Office, the European Patent Office and other European national patent offices, as well as access to the PCT (World) database of published patent applications. DEFAULTS TO WORLDWIDE SEARCH WHICH IS BEST - COVERS 63 COUNTRIES INCLUDING GB.
Note: Espacenet has limited search capabilities. Coverage and full-text availability varies from country to country.
If you are considering making a patent application you must seek the services of a professional patent searcher.
Full text to the Independent newspaper from its launch in 1986 to 2016
The Independent has consistently distinguished itself with innovative graphic design and prominent use of photography, often forcing others to copy its ideas. It is regarded as having sparked a freshening of newspaper layouts in the 1980s, while in 2003 it became the first paper to produce both a broadsheet and "compact" version, becoming compact-only in 2005 - a successful appeal to cramped commuters that caused The Times and The Guardian to follow suit.
In 1996, editor Andrew Marr introduced a radical overhaul of the paper, with a new concept for the front page that was described as both "brilliant" and "barmy", and unlike anything that had been seen before. In the 21st century The Independent has become known for its highly unorthodox and eye-catching front pages, which have often relied on full-page images or graphics rather than traditional headlines and written news content.
It received the "Newspaper of the Year" award in 1987, its first full year of publication, and by the end of 1988 its circulation had risen to more than 400,000. This success led to the launch of the Independent on Sunday in January 1990. In 2004 The Independent was again named newspaper of the year in recognition of its "constant and brave" editorial stance. Featuring journalists and columnists from across the political spectrum, the paper is generally regarded as centrist, taking idiosyncratic views on the free market, social issues and culture.
The directory is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access, provided that these publications meet academic standards. Peer reviewed means that subject experts (normally academics and researchers) review a work for quality and accuracy before it's published.