CU Coventry redirect Old Guide: Research and Dissertations

Sage Research Methods has a glossary function that it calls ‘Methods Map’

You do not need to log in to use this function.

1. Find the Methods Map by hovering the mouse over ‘Research Tools’ at the top of Sage Research Methods home screen’ and select Methods Map.
2. Once there you can type in the method you wish to search for e.g. quantitative, qualitative in the search box in the top right, if you start typing the site will provide suggestions.
3. Once you have search for a term the site will provide a ‘map’ which includes:
   1. A Definition of the searched term.
   2. Any Broader connected terms.
   3. Any Narrower connected terms.
   4. Any Related Terms

Here are some links to several Methods Map searches which may be of use.

• Qualitative Research Methods: https://methods.sagepub.com/methods-map/qualitative-data-analysis
  • Case Study Research: https://methods.sagepub.com/methods-map/case-study-research
  • Documentary Research: https://methods.sagepub.com/methods-map/documentary-research
  • Internet Research: https://methods.sagepub.com/methods-map/internet-research
  • Content Analysis: https://methods.sagepub.com/methods-map/content-analysis
  • Documentary Analysis: https://methods.sagepub.com/methods-map/documentary-analysis
  • Narrative Analysis: https://methods.sagepub.com/methods-map/narrative-analysis
  • Quantitative Research Methods: https://methods.sagepub.com/methods-map/quantitative-data-analysis
  • Survey Research: https://methods.sagepub.com/methods-map/survey-research
  • Data Mining: https://methods.sagepub.com/methods-map/data-mining
  • Secondary Data Analysis: https://methods.sagepub.com/methods-map/secondary-data-analysis
  • Statistical Inference: https://methods.sagepub.com/methods-map/statistical-inference
  • Exploratory Data Analysis: https://methods.sagepub.com/methods-map/exploratory-data-analysis

Quantitative

Quantitative research is concerned with gathering and analysing numerical data for patterns and trends e.g. survey results or census data. These are generally quite narrow questions being asked e.g. how many people are in favour of X? and will typically have a larger sample size than qualitative research.

You can find in depth introductions to different types of Quantitative research methods in Sage Research Methods ‘Little Green Books’. Alternately you can now search Sage Research Methods on Locate. To search for resources on Quantitative research methods: Click this link for a pre-arranged search on Locate.

Qualitative

Qualitative data is concerned with gathering and analysing non-numerical data, typically through interviews to determine how things affect other things e.g. how does X person feel about Y? It is usually broader and more subjective than quantitative research requiring the researcher to make judgements about what themes are present.

You can find in depth introductions to different types of Quantitative research methods in Sage Research Methods 'Little Blue Books'. Alternately you can now search Sage Research Methods on Locate. To search for resources on Quantitative research methods: Click this link for a pre-arranged search on Locate.

Mixed Methods:

When 2 or more research methods are used, the term is generally used when a research project makes use of both quantitative and qualitative research methods. E.g. a survey and interviews etc.

Sage Research Methods has a number of guides designed to help you plan and carry out your Literature Review, these can be found here: https://methods.sagepub.com/project-planner/reviewing-the-literature

The section contains useful guides of areas including:

What types of Literature should I use in my review? 

• Guide looking at the kinds of literature that ought to be included in a literature review.

How do I do a Literature Search 

• Guide to carrying out a search for literature to go in your literature review.

How do I do a Literature Review 

• Guide to carrying out a Literature Review

How can I use the Internet in my Research 

• Guide to effectively using the internet to help with your research.

This is a potentially useful tool for planning and carrying out your research project. Not all of the sections will be relevant to students as the guide is designed primarily for professionals, particularly the sections concerned with publishing, philosophy of research.

You can find the planner at this link: https://methods.sagepub.com/project-planner

Some sections which may be of interest are:

• Defining a Topic: This has sections on how to choose you research topic: https://methods.sagepub.com/project-planner/defining-a-topic
• Reviewing the Literature: Can help with your literature review: https://methods.sagepub.com/project-planner/reviewing-the-literature
• Developing a Researchable Question: This can help with identifying your research questions: https://methods.sagepub.com/project-planner/developing-a-researchable-question
• Data Analysis and Interpretation: Has sections on different methods for interpreting both quantitative and qualitative data: https://methods.sagepub.com/project-planner/data-analysis-and-interpretation

Each of these sections are broken down into smaller topics which can be downloaded as PDFs though you will need to be logged in to read or download the sections.

This can be used to search the entire Sage Research Methods website. Of potential interest to students are the Reference entries (which are made up of encyclopaedia and dictionary entries, the ‘Little Green’ and ‘Little Blue’ books (which focus specifically on different qualitative and quantitative methods)

• Type in your query into the search bar on the homepage.
• Once you have your results you can use the filters on the right hand side to limit your results.
• The key filter to use is the ‘Content available to me’ option as this will exclude any results you cannot access.
• Another useful filter is ‘Content Type’ which allows you to choose between Journals, Books, Videos, and Reference etc.
• The ‘Discipline’ filter can also be useful if you are looking for results relating to a specific subject.

Using accurate statistical data is a useful way of providing evidence and giving credence to your work and argument. In the section below we've given the details of statistical sites which are generally useful for students, as well as some examples of how they might be useful for different subjects.

This site is a useful introduction to different methods and approaches for students undertaking their final projects and includes useful guides, examples and FAQs. It is part of the online Student Resources attached to Alan Bryman’s (2015) Social Research Methods which you can access in full on Bibliu using: THIS LINK

Below are some links to sections of the webpage you may find useful

• Preparing for the research:
  • Includes how to develop your research interest, the importance of having specific research questions, how to get an overview of the literature in your chosen topic and ensuring ethical practice.
• Designing the research:
  • Includes guides on the difference between qualitative and quantitative methods: LINKED HERE
  • A guide designed to help you decide which research method you ought to use: LINKED HERE
• Conducting the research:
  • Includes a guide to making the best use of your supervisor.
  • Timetabling for your project.
• Data analysis and writing up:
  • Includes guides to analysing data
  • Structuring the report: LINKED HERE
  • Referencing
• 'Dos and Don'ts' of social research:
  • A list of do’s and don’ts e.g. DO devise specific research questions, DON’T underestimate the amount of time you need for each stage.
• Vignettes:
  • A series of potential scenarios when doing a research project e.g. having too much to read, lacking focus in you research topic etc.
• Research examples:
  • Contains an example of a research project which can be useful for seeing a potential layout and the sort of academic style/language used in various parts.
• Website links:
  • A series of links to helpful websites on different techniques and methods.

Bryman, A. (2015). Social research methods (5th ed.). OUP Oxford.

Westlaw provides access to full text UK and international cases and legislation. It also incorporates the Legal Journals Index, with links to full-text journal articles, where the journal is included in the Westlaw database.