Skip to main content

CU London: Home

Book Drop

Book Drop (Dagenham)

You can place your book(s) in the box at the front entrance of the building between 8:30am and 6pm Monday – Saturday. A member of the Security Team will take the book(s) inside.

Please allow time for the book(s) to come off of your account as they will be quarantined.

If you have any issues, please call the number on the notice at the front entrance of the building or the Library phone number - 02038730709.

Please note, there are no members of the Library Team on campus.

Take care

The Library Team

Live Chat

undefined

Online Information Resources

Library services continue during coronavirus (COVID-19) disruption

 

The library has an e-first policy with the vast majority of our books, databases, articles and other resources available online. However, if there are any materials that you need to support your academic work and you can't access them, please let us know.

Library

Phone: 0203 873 0709

Dagenham email: library@cul.coventry.ac.uk

Greenwich email: greenwichlibrary.cul@coventry.ac.uk

 

English Academic Skills Tutors are still available to provide help and support to groups or individuals via online communication tools. Access the Academic Writing Moodle page for further information.

Dagenham: academicwritingservice.cul@coventry.ac.uk

Greenwich: awsgreenwich.cul@coventry.ac.uk


The Library offers 667,000 e-resources to support the delivery of online teaching and learning.


E-books

The Library operates an e-book first policy, and provides access to over 398,000 e-books. You can search our e-book collection on Locate. The 'Full Text Online' filter to the left of your search allows you to limit your results to books available online only. Some publishers do not allow books to be sold electronically.

The Flying Start scheme, via BibliU, makes core course readings available online. The majority of these titles are available to users across the University Group, whatever course they study, and can be found on Locate.

Due to current events, many publishers have extended access to their material. This includes Ebook Central, one of our biggest suppliers, and Pearson. For a full list, see the Extended Provider Access tab.


Journal Articles

The Library offers access to 146,000 journals online. You can search for journals using the 'Books and more...' search option on Locate. Individual articles can be searched for by selecting 'Journal articles...' from the drop-down list.


Specialist Databases

As well as e-books and journal articles, the Library subscribes to a variety of specialist databases and other resources which can be accessed online. These include:

  • Subject-specific journal databases
  • Legal information
  • Market research and company information
  • Data and statistics
  • Standards and technical papers
  • News and media
  • Theses
  • Conference proceedings

Of particular interest across the disciplines is Box of Broadcasts, which allows students to watch free to air television programmes and listen to national radio programmes. Academic staff can embed clips or whole programmes into Moodle.

For advice about resources relevant to your subject area, please visit your Subject Guide.

Due to the coronavirus outbreak, many providers are extending access to their resources.

 

Provider Response to COVID-19
American Medical Association JAMA and multimedia collection is now open access.
American Psychological Association (APA) APA is participating in the ProQuest Ebook Central programme to provide unlimited access through to June 19 to APA books that are included in Ebook Central.
Annual Reviews Temporarily removing access control to all 52 journals.
BioOne Coronavirus-related articles in three journals are now open access.
Bloomsbury Digital Resources Resources are now available upon request through the end of May 2020. 
Brill Free access to books and articles on topics such as public health, distance learning, crisis research.
Cambridge University Press Cambridge University Press is making over 700 higher education textbooks in HTML format free to access online.
CNKI 1640+ articles about COVID-19 are now open access.
Cochrane The Cochrane Library will be temporarily unrestricted for everyone.
Digital Science Providing all relevant COVID-19 material as a single downloadable file, updated daily.
EBSCO Faculty Select allows users to search over 12,400 Open Educational Resources.
EBSCO 
e-books
Access to approximately 200,00 e-books. These will also be accessible via Locate soon.
Emerald Coronavirus-related content made open access.
Elsevier Open access Coronavirus Information Centre introduced.
HeinOnline Offering free campus-wide and remote access options to HeinOnline Academic for the remainder of the current semester and all of next semester.
IEEE Access to IEEE suite of 400 + eLearning courses through to the end of June.
John Libbey Eurotext All 23 medical and scientific journals now open access.
JoVE Temporary free access to Science Education videos.
JSTOR For participating academic institutions, access to all unlicensed JSTOR Archive and Primary Source collections will be turned on at no cost. More than 20,000 books will be available at no charge for JSTOR-participating academic institutions.
Karger Coronavirus-related content made open access.
Mary Ann Liebert

Coronavirus-related content made open access.

McGraw-Hill Education Core digital learning platforms, McGraw-Hill Connect and ALEKS, are available free to any student and instructor who needs it for the remainder of this Spring 2020 term. 
MIT Press Complimentary access to its catalogue of eBooks on MIT Press Direct through the end of May 2020.
NEJM Coronavirus-related content made open access.
Ohio State University Press All Ohio State University Press monographs, and the linguistics textbook language files, will be open and free to use through the Ohio State University Libraries’ Institutional Repository, The Knowledge Bank.
OUP Resources freely available.
Pearson Pearson is offering free access to a wide range of digital learning resources across our entire publishing programme. All of which support effective online teaching, from accessible ebooks, to a range of formative assessment tools
Project MUSE 10,000+ e-books and 150+ journals are being made open access, and this number is increasing.
ProQuest Unlimited user access to Ebook Central holdings.
Redshelf RedShelf is providing students with free, convenient access to their learning materials. Students need to create a free log-in to access.
SAGE Offering complimentary, 90-day access to most-requested online teaching and learning resources: SAGE Video, SAGE Research Methods Video and SAGE Knowledge Books & Reference. Extending free access to eBooks/eTextbooks and courseware access for instructors.
ScienceDirect The 256 textbooks currently on ScienceDirect will be automatically entitled to all active ScienceDirect customers.
SoftChalk SoftChalk is offering free access to SoftChalk Cloud from now through to May 31, 2020 to anyone who may need it to quickly and easily create online lessons and course materials for delivery to students.
Springer Nature Coronavirus-related content made open access.
Taylor & Francis 1150+ coronavirus-related articles made open access.
University of California Press All 46 journals in humanities, social sciences and natural sciences journals are now open access.
University of Michigan Press University of Michigan Press will make all content in the University of Michigan Press Ebook Collection free-to-read for the remainder of the academic term
Vital Source Free access to eTextbooks to students affected by COVID-19 campus closures.
Wiley More than 5300 coronavirus-related articles made open access.
Wolters Kluwer Curated information and resources made open access to support health professionals in responding to COVID-19.