CU Scarborough - Library Guide: Welcome
Accessing Library Services
'Lockdown' Operations: January 2021
Accessing the Library space
- You can access Library stock, borrow and return items during core hours (0900-1700) from Monday 11th January. Please only do so if not accessing print stock will have an adverse effect on your learning.
- Study spaces around the building are available from 11th January, and can be booked up to a week in advance. Please book before attending campus, and only book a space if you are unable to effectively study at home.
- Please note that many of the usual campus facilities will not be available. The coffee shop will not be open and vending machines will be unavailable.
- Access to other parts of the building is likely to be limited. Please pay attention to signage and follow any instructions given by campus staff.
- If you have any further questions about this or other aspects of Library services, you can contact us in the usual ways.
Books currently on loan
- Items currently on loan will continue to auto-renew a few days before they are due back. Books which are on loan cannot currently be requested.
- You are not required to return books which you currently have on loan until it is safe for you to return to campus.
- If you find that you have accrued fines whilst there is limited access to campus, please let us know and we will sort these out. This particularly applies to apprentices, whose enrolment sometimes lapses during this period.
- If you have completed your studies with CU Scarborough, please return your items at your earliest convenience when it is safe to do so. If you do not, fines may be incurred and you may ultimately be invoiced for replacement copies.
Please note that access to buildings may change at short notice.
Please check for current access and restrictions before you travel.
'Lockdown' Operations: January 2021
During the period of online delivery for all modules, we are aware of the increased pressure on our online materials. We have been working hard to ensure that all essential and recommended reading for every module is available as an ebook or in an alternative online format.
All Library ebooks are listed within Locate. We have ebooks from several providers, whose platforms vary in terms of the features they offer. The video below introduces a few of these.
You may also wish to take a look at our new database video tutorials (find them in the tabs at the top of this page), which walk you through the basics of using popular subject databases.
if you have questions or would like some support with using ebooks, databases or finding quality sources online, please contact us in the usual ways.
'Lockdown' Operations: January 2021
Even though all teaching will be online this block, your support staff are still here. We are committed to ensuring that you feel supported in developing and using your academic skills throughout the year. We are offering the following support throughout the ongoing period of online teaching:
- The Academic Skills LibGuide pages contain several session recordings, as well as self-guided tutorials and Sway sessions on commonly-requested topics.
- One-to-one support appointments are available via email, Zoom, Teams or Skype.
- For Library and referencing questions and support, students should email library.cus@coventry.ac.uk
- For academic writing questions and support, students should email academicskills.cus@coventry.ac.uk
- We will still be delivering in-class support sessions (which your tutors book), but if you want to arrange a group Zoom support session with Library staff, we're happy to support these too!
Induction video
You said…
The Library needs some study space alongside the books.
We did…
The Library has been moved to a new location, which includes desks and chairs interspersed amongst the shelves.
You said…
We’d like some books to help us cook low-cost, healthy meals.
We did…
A selection of cookbooks focused on low-cost and healthy meals are now available in the Library. Find them in the Reading Well collection; they are also currently on display next to the self-issue machine.
You said…
It’s annoying that I got a fine because I forgot to renew my books.
We did…
Books will now automatically renew until you bring them back, unless someone else says they need them.
You said…
I’m struggling to reference properly.
We did…
We offer regular sessions on APA referencing online, and can also come into your classes. If you are still using CU Harvard, you can speak to Tom for support, and he is also around on each assignment hand-in day for last-minute checks.
You said…
Why isn’t there a booklet on essay writing to match the referencing guide?
We did…
There is now an 'Introduction to Academic Essay Writing' booklet available in the Library.
You said…
I don’t know when Library support sessions are happening.
We did…
You can find a calendar of upcoming online workshops on the bookings page. Understandably we cannot offer in-person drop-in workshops at the moment, but these will resume when it is safe to do so.
Spotlight on Resources
Mintel
Mintel offers market research reports, with an emphasis on consumer markets in the United Kingdom. With categories including 'health and nutrition' and 'technology', this database is useful far beyond it's traditional Business userbase.
Academic Search Complete
ASC is a broad-ranging database of journal articles from EBSCO, one of our key resource providers. From the EBSCO search interface, you can include other subject databases and search with more precision than Locate allows.
BibliU
Use BibliU to access key course texts as accessible ebooks, available wherever you can get online. Highlight, copy, print, or even download.
SAGE Research Methods
Material for every step of the research process, including reference works, instructional videos and books focused on qualitative methods for social science disciplines. A great resource whatever level you're at (make sure you read the login instructions though!).
The Study Skills Handbook
Online copy of the best-selling study skills handbook, stalwart of many reading lists. You will also find print copies in the Library.
Coventry Student Essentials
Coventry Student Essentials allow you to work on some key skills which help you to study more effectively in your own time and at your own pace. If you need more support, contact the Academic Writing team.
Monthly Poll
(Remember that you can still book a space to study on-campus, and can use the Library during core opening hours)
Subject Resources