CUG Libraries - Subject Guides: Accounting & Finance
Welcome to the Accounting & Finance Subject Guide
Use the tabs below to access useful databases, journals and websites. Using these resources will help to ensure you are accessing good quality information and research!
When using databases: Each database covers a specific subject area or areas, this means you may get less results from your search but the articles will be more relevant to your area of study.
If you are unsure which database would be the best to use, read the description of the databases below to help you to decide.
Useful Resources
-
ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
Mix of scholarly and trade journals, reports and other sources to give a rounded view of business context.
Brief description
Database with content focused on companies and business trends from around the world. Includes publications such as The Economist, along with country- and industry-focused reports. Can be searched alongside other ProQuest databases. -
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
Good way to learn how to use our most common database-search interface and get results on a broad range of topics.
Brief description
This is a broad-ranging, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with lots of peer-reviewed journals. Content is mostly available as screen-readable PDFs. -
Accounting, Tax and Banking Collection This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
Support arguments and provide data from reliable professional publications.
Brief description
This database enables you to search essential banking industry publications for information about the financial services industry, banking and industry trends. -
Asian & European Business Collection This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
Access information about businesses focused on non-US examples and sources.
Brief description
This database provides information pertinent to the study of business and finance topics across Asia and Europe, including academic journals, newspapers, newswires, and magazines. Can be searched alongside other ProQuest databases. -
Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
Get richer, more up-to-date data on specific sectors or companies than articles will generally provide.
Brief description
Database of company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research information, drawing from key sources in this area. Can be searched alongside other ProQuest databases. -
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
Handy ‘one-stop-shop’ for business-related information
Brief description
Potentially the most definitive scholarly business database, including historical and contemporary articles relating to all aspects of business. Can be searched alongside other EBSCO databases. -
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
A rich source for real-world case studies and in-sector research outputs.
Brief description
Provides journals, books and case studies, along with expert briefings. Though there is a strong business focus to the collection, it also includes wider social science areas which help to place business theory into real-world contexts. -
FAME (Financial Analysis Made Easy) This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
Ideal single resource to find out everything about a company and place it within industry context.
Brief description
This is a powerful tool to look at company data, including particulars, financial performance and annual reports. Perform peer comparison against companies across each sector, look at ownership structures and view documents filed with Companies House.
-
Historical Data UK
Why use this resource?
Provide historical context for finance and accounting decisions.
Brief description
Historical data on costs, inflation, unemployment, markets, banking, credit, and more.
-
Passport Euromonitor (GMID) This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
Use current market-level information to reinforce arguments and provide examples.
Brief description
Contains full text market research reports and statistical data. Information includes consumer lifestyles, country information and company and brand data. In particular it contains the full text of Market research Great Britain, Market research Europe, Market research international and Retail monitor international. -
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Why use this resource?
To find quality information to support work in STEM fields.
Brief description
This is a major database for science, technology and medicine information. Alongside articles from more than 4,000 journals, there are also many books.
-
World Bank
Why use this resource?
Authoritative source on global finance trends and practices.
Brief description
Macro, financial and sector data. Presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.
The Library has access to over 5000 academic journals, some of which are shown below.
Journals are published regularly and contain up to date, peer reviewed information.
You can view the journals below, or search for individual journal articles using the databases tab.
Below are some useful websites and periodicals which may be helpful for your studies.
When researching information online, consider who the author (company or person) of a website is; are they are a suitably qualified expert? If you cannot be sure that the website or author is reliable, we do not recommend using it as a source of information.
Websites
-
Companies HouseYou can obtain documents from the annual reports that companies have submitted to Companies House.
Periodicals
-
Financial TimesThe FT is not available from the Lexis+ Newspaper Library, but can be searched separately. The first time you login, you will be required to setup an individual account with the FT. Please use your Coventry University email address and choose a unique password. All subsequent logins to the database will require only your Coventry University username and password.
-
Locate (Newspaper search)In-text search function for hundreds of popular newspapers