LibGuides: Applied Leadership &amp; Management: Subject databases

Useful Resources

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete (ASC), designed specifically for academic institutions, is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
ASSIA Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts This link opens in a new window ASSIA is a bibliographic database with abstracts and citations of articles from over 650 sociology and psychology journals. Covers the applied social sciences and is particularly useful for social issues, social problems, health care, politics, economics, employment, gender issues, education and ethnicity.
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window Journals, books and case studies - a library of real world research at your fingertips
International Newsstream This link opens in a new window International Newsstream provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format
Sage Premier This link opens in a new window SAGE is the world's 5th largest journals publisher. Our portfolio includes more than 1000 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 400 are published on behalf of learned societies and institutions.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.
SCOPUS This link opens in a new window Scopus is a comprehensive scientific, medical, technical and social science database containing all relevant literature.
Statista This link opens in a new window Find statistics, consumer survey results and industry studies from over 22500 sources on over 60000 topics worldwide

EBSCO databases

Databases on the EBSCO platform can be searched simultaneously, helping you to save time with your research. Choose any of the following links to access the EBSCO platform and above the keyword search boxes select 'Choose databases' and select the databases you would like to search.

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window Gain access to informative health literature with CINAHL, the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, this database covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines, and contains: Indexing for over 1,200 nursing journals and publications dating back to 1982. Over 250,000 records. Abstracts for over 250 journals, including over 450 author-supplied abstracts. ##Indexing for journals, books and book chapters, dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, pamphlets, educational software packages and audiovisual material. Internal subject thesaurus with over 7,000 terms—2,000 unique to CINAHL.
Medline This link opens in a new window Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, PubMed is a freely available version of MEDLINE which includes additional life sciences journals. It also provides integrated molecular biology databases. PubMed contains over 14 million references and includes some links to full-text articles.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window PsycINFO database, with over 1.7 million records, is the comprehensive international database of psychology. It covers the academic, research and practice literature in psychology from over 45 countries in more than 30 languages. PsycINFO includes relevant materials from related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, law, criminology, social science, and organizational behavior.
AMED Allied and complementary medicine databases This link opens in a new window Provides an alternative medicine database for physicians, therapists, medical researchers and clinicians looking to learn more about alternative treatments - including complementary medicine, physiotherapy, occupational therapy, rehabilitation, podiatry, palliative care, and more. AMED contains basic bibliographic records (abstracts are also included for many records dated 1995 onward) for relevant articles from over 500 journals, with the scope of coverage being mainly European. Many of the journals included in AMED are not indexed by other biomedical sources. AMED is produced by the Health Care Information Service of the British Library.

ProQuest Databases

The following databases can also be searched together, choose any of the following links and above the search bar select 'Change Databases' and select the ones you would like to search. The databases highlighted below may prove particularly useful.

Health & Medical Collection This link opens in a new window Clinical and biomedical, consumer health, health administration, etc. - journal articles.
Healthcare Administration Database This link opens in a new window Health administration - journal articles, dissertations.
Consumer Health Database This link opens in a new window Consumer health - journal articles and magazines.
Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window Offering complete information from leading nursing and health related publications, this database is designed to meet the needs of researchers at health-care facilities as well as health related students enrolled in nursing programs at academic institutions.
Psychology Database This link opens in a new window Psychology theory and practice - journal articles.
Public Health Database This link opens in a new window This database allows you to search the core literature in the field of public health.

PubMed

PubMed has some duplicate open access content from Medline, however it also has access to some content not available in Medline so is worth searching as well. Unlike Medline, PubMed is freely accessible to anybody and you do not need to use your Coventry ID to login to use this database.

Pubmed This link opens in a new window PubMed comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Business Source Complete (BSC) is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. This in addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals.
FAME (Financial Analysis Made Easy) This link opens in a new window Financial Analysis Made Easy
Lexis+ This link opens in a new window Lexis+ is a newspaper and legal database. British national and many local daily & Sunday newspapers are in full text. Access to full text legal information is also included: UK and international cases and legislation with links to full-text journal articles, where the law journal is included in the Lexis+ database. It is an excellent resource for locating full-text United States cases and legislation and numerous full-text US legal journals. Full text EU law is also available.
Statista This link opens in a new window Find statistics, consumer survey results and industry studies from over 22500 sources on over 60000 topics worldwide
Westlaw This link opens in a new window Westlaw provides access to full text UK and international cases and legislation. It also incorporates the Legal Journals Index, with links to full-text journal articles, where the journal is included in the Westlaw database. It is an excellent resource for locating full-text United States cases and legislation and numerous full-text US legal journals. Full text EU law is also available.

We have thousands of e-books available. You can find and access e-books using Locate. Some particularly useful e-book collections are highlighted below.

SAGE Research Methods SAGE Research Methods supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process.

There are a number of resources you can use to find dissertations and theses from Coventry University and other national and international universities. Please note that the library does not hold copies of undergraduate or taught Masters dissertations.

ProQuest dissertations & theses: UK and Ireland This link opens in a new window ProQuest Dissertation & Theses is a collection of multi-disciplinary dissertations and theses from around the world.
EThOS (British Library Theses) This link opens in a new window Based at the British Library, EThOS allows you to view records for all theses (PhD & Masters level) produced at UK HE institutions and many of these are now available to download online. You need to register first to do this and it is free of charge.

Dart Europe Dart Europe helps you search and access theses produced a wide range of European Universities.
NDLTD - Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations NDLTD is a free service which allows you to see across thousands of theses produced at institutions around the world.
Coventry University Theses You can find theses produced at Coventry through our online institutional repository - PURE.

Some useful resources for systematic reviews are given below. More information and resources can be found on our Systematic Review LibGuide

Cochrane Handbook The Cochrane handbook provides extensive information and guidance on conducting systematic reviews.
Preferred Reporting Items for Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analyses (PRISMA) PRISMA is an evidence-based minimum set of items for reporting in systematic reviews and meta-analyses. Useful tools provided by PRISMA include the PRISMA flow diagram which can help guide the process of screening research for a systematic review.
Meta analysis Resources from Sigma Sigma have provided an introductory workshop and accompanying exercises on conducting a meta analysis.
CASP (Critical Appraisal Skills Program) This set of eight critical appraisal tools are designed to be used when reading research. CASP has appraisal checklists designed for use with Systematic Reviews, Randomised Controlled Trials, Cohort Studies, Case Control Studies, Economic Evaluations, Diagnostic Studies, Qualitative studies and Clinical Prediction Rule.

Age UK
Age UK is a leading charity for older people.
Care Quality Commission
The UK independent regulator of health and adult social care in England. Tasked with ensuring health and social care services provide people with safe, effective, compassionate, high-quality care.
Department of Health and Social Care
UK government body advising on health and social care policy.
Gov,UK Public Health Policy Area
UK government information on public health policy.
Gov.UK Social Care Policy Area
UK government information on social care policy.
The King's Fund
An independent charity working to improve health and care in England
NHS Digital
Formerly the Health and Social Care Information Centre. Information about the use of NHS digital services and data.
NICE - National Institute for Health and Care Excellence
Provides national guidance and advice to improve health and social care.
Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman
Regulatory authority making final decisions on complaints that have not been resolved by the NHS in England and UK government departments and other public organisations.
Public Health England
UK government website for public health information.
Skills for Care
Skills for Care provides practical tools and support to help adult social care organisations in England recruit, develop and lead their workforce.
Social Care Institute for Excellence - SCIE
SCIE improves the lives of people of all ages by co-producing, sharing, and supporting the use of the best available knowledge and evidence about what works in practice.
The UK's Faculty of Public Health
The Faculty of Public Health (FPH) is a membership organisation for nearly 4,000 public health professionals across the UK and around the world.

Applied Leadership & Management: Subject databases

Useful Resources

EBSCO databases

ProQuest Databases

PubMed

Quick Links