LibGuides: Childhood, Youth and Education Studies OLD Sep 23: Subject Resources

Useful Resources

The databases listed below are all part of the same publishing platform, EBSCO, so you can actually search across them all at once, which saves time and makes your searching more efficient. Open one of them and then above the search bars select 'choose databases' and select all relevant databases.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This database covers a lot of subjects and would be useful to search in for any topic.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
This is a business database, use it to search for information about professions, e.g. teacher or youth worker, management, policies, social services and social policy, issues in the workplace, etc.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
This is a nursing and allied health database so is useful for topics around mental health, autism, gender dysphoria, self-harm, etc.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
A collection of peer-reviewed journals covering psychology and behaviour, this is an APA database which we buy from EBSCO.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycInfo is the leading psychology database compiled by the APA, it is particularly good for topics to do with state of mind, mental health, wellbeing interventions etc.

The databases listed below are all subject specific collections with the Proquest database platform, so again you can search across multiple collections at once. Open one of them and then above the search bars select 'change databases' and select all relevant databases. I have just included some of the key collections below, but depending on your specific search topic you may want to select more than the ones listed below.
When using the ProQuest databases change the box at the end of each search bar from 'Anywhere' to 'Anywhere except full text'. This will ensure that your keywords are found in the title, abstract, or keyword tags and will improve the relevancy of your results.

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
This is a business database, use it to search for information about professions, e.g. teacher or youth worker, management, policies, social services and social policy, issues in the workplace, etc.
ASSIA Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This is good for social issues, social problems, gender issues, employment, education, ethnicity, and health care.
Career & Technical Education Database This link opens in a new window
The definitive source for vocational information and career search resources.
Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
Useful for topics such as knife crime, gangs, juvenile detention centres etc
Education Database This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexing of over 900 education journals, many in full-text.
Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
Similar content to CINAHL above
Psychology Database This link opens in a new window
A ProQuest psychology database covering theory and practice.
Public Health Database This link opens in a new window
A health database that covers population studies, social services and welfare, special education, and paediatrics.

All Childhood & Youth Studies Databases (A-Z)

Sage Premier This link opens in a new window
Sage is a good source for articles on psychology, education, social work and youth work
Lexis+ This link opens in a new window
This is a bit like 2 databases in 1. Lexis Library indexes British daily newspapers, which can be really useful for checking recent events or looking at media coverage of a particular topic or event. It is also a legal database with access to full-text journal articles and to cases and legislation. Have a look at the menu bar across the top of the screen to switch between searching newspapers, journals or cases.
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
A good source for articles on psychology, education, social work and youth work.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Science Direct is includes both journal articles, and book chapters and encyclopedia articles. It is a good starting point for research and the book chapters and encyclopedia articles would be good quality academic sources for background information and introductions to topics and concepts.
Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new window
Box of Broadcasts is an on-demand TV and radio service for the education sector. Search for programmes on specific topics, e.g. 'Baby P.'; catch up on missed programmes; watch something recommended for a module, or use this resource to make clips from TV programmes to embed in presentations.
Social Care Online This link opens in a new window
This is an excellent free database produced by colleagues at the Social Care Institute for Excellence. One of its advantages is that is UK focussed. Unfortunately, we cannot add our LocateIt links to this database so if you find a good reference you will need to look the journal up in Locate to see if we take it. Register for a free account to take advantage of the full search function.
SAGE Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. It would be particularly useful for any modules where you are carrying out research yourself, dissertations and final projects, or for increasing your understanding of research methods that you are reading about in journal articles.
SCOPUS This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an abstract and citation database. You can use it to search for specific authors to see everything they have published. It also has a citation tracking feature, meaning if you find an article you can find sources published since that one where it is cited in them.

The collections below contain primary case study material rather than journal articles.

Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts: Volume I This link opens in a new window
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works is a searchable collection containing real transcripts of counseling and therapy sessions and first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and treatment, as well as reference works to contextualize the primary material.
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts: Volume II This link opens in a new window
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Volume II provides a deep look into the client-therapist office, allowing readers to follow the progress and setbacks of clients over the course of multiple therapy sessions.

Childhood, Youth and Education Studies OLD Sep 23: Subject Resources

Useful Resources

Quick Links