Cyber Security, Information Technology & Cloud Computing Subject Guide: Home
Welcome to the Cyber Security & Information Technology Subject Guide
Use the tabs below to access useful databases, journals and websites. Using these resources will help to ensure you are accessing good quality information and research!
When using databases: Each database covers a specific subject area or areas, this means you may get less results from your search but the articles will be more relevant to your area of study.
If you are unsure which database would be the best to use, read the description of the databases below to help you to decide.
Alphabetical list of resources
Specialist computing databases
- ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new windowWhy use this resource? - Add specialised, technical and professional content to your assignments.
Brief description - Full text of everything published by the Association for Computing Machinery (including journal articles, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters and books), along with access to further related publications and the 'ACM Guide to Computing Literature', a comprehensive bibliographic database focused exclusively on the field of computing. - IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowWhy use this resource? - Practical and professional real-world and theoretical illustrations of concepts discussed on your course.
Brief description - A powerful resource for discovery of and access to scientific and technical content published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, with access to full-text documents from publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics. - Materials Science & Engineering Collection This link opens in a new windowWhy use this resource? - Look for additional sources of information if you have struggled to find good supporting evidence from our full-text databases002E
Brief description - An abstracting and indexing database, monitoring academic and trade publications from the UK and US. Coverage includes new technologies as well as engineering and allied subject areas. If you find an article of interest which we do not have full text access to, you can request it via Document Supply. Can be searched alongside other ProQuest databases.
Multidisciplinary databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowWhy use this resource? - Good way to learn how to use our most common database-search interface and get results on a broad range of topics.
Brief description - This is a broad-ranging, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with lots of peer-reviewed journals. Content is mostly available as screen-readable PDFs. Can be searched alongside other EBSCO databases. - Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new windowWhy use this resource? - Best way to access TV (and some radio) broadcast content from the last 15 years.
Brief description - This resource allows you to search and access recordings of content broadcast on over 65 free-to-air channels; you can also set up recordings of upcoming shows you are interested in. - British Standards Online This link opens in a new windowWhy use this resource? - Make reference to agreed standards when designing your own tools, solutions or machinery.
Brief description - Provides access to a full-text set of current British Standards and documents, many of which are BSI-adopted European and International standards. Note: this site works best with Internet Explorer. - Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowWhy use this resource? - Handy ‘one-stop-shop’ for business-related information.
Brief description - Potentially the most definitive scholarly business database, including historical and contemporary articles relating to all aspects of business. Can be searched alongside other EBSCO databases. - Emerald Insight This link opens in a new windowWhy use this resource? - A rich source for real-world case studies and in-sector research outputs.
Brief description - Provides journals, books and case studies, along with expert briefings. Though there is a strong business focus to the collection, it also includes wider social science areas which help to place business theory into real-world contexts. - Mintel This link opens in a new windowWhy use this resource? - Accurate and up-to-date analyses of key consumer markets to add practical examples to academic theories.
Brief description - Market research reports with an emphasis on consumer markets in the United Kingdom. Our subscription covers market, leisure, retail and personal finance intelligence, along with some access to wider reports. Includes both authored analysis and raw data for you to use to reach novel insights. Search by category, region and demographics to add rich data to your assignments.
Restrictions - Use of this resource is solely for academic purposes. Using information obtained for commercial purposes is strictly forbidden. - Sage Premier This link opens in a new windowWhy use this resource? - Add alternate perspectives into your work by drawing on the proceedings of various learned societies.
Brief description - Broad-based journal collection spanning Social Sciences, Science, Technology, and Medicine, many of which come from institutions and societies. You can filter and search by discipline along with the other database-search features you’d expect. - ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowWhy use this resource? - To find quality information to support work in STEM fields.
Brief description - This is a major database for science, technology and medicine information. Alongside articles from more than 4,000 journals, there are also many books.
Subject Gateways
arXiv: (pronounced "archive") A site owned by Cornell University, containing papers in the fields of physics, mathematics, statistics, electrical engineering, systems science and economics.
CiteSeerX: A public search engine and digital library for scientific and academic papers, primarily in the fields of computer and information science.
Computing Research Repository: An online repository allowing researchers to search, browse and download scientific papers in the field of computing.
DBLP Computer Science Bibliography: A site providing open bibliographic information about many major computer science journals and proceedings.
Semantic Scholar: A search engine using machine learning techniques help you find scientific journal articles. It is designed to highlight the most important/influential papers and to identify the connections between them.
Official Bodies and Associations
Association for Computing Machinery: Official website for the Association for Computing Machinery - the world's largest scientific and educational computing society.
British Computing Society: The Chartered Institute for IT official site, promoting wider social and economic progress through the advancement of information technology science and practice.
Engineering Council: The Engineering Council is the regulatory body for the UK engineering profession, setting and maintaining internationally-recognised standards of professional competence and commitment.
IEEE: Short for the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, IEEE focuses on advancing technology for the benefit of society.
IEEE Computer Society: IEEE Computer Society is a professional society of IEEE. It aims to advance the theory, practice, and application of computer and information processing science and technology.
Institution of Engineering and Technology: The IET is a large, multidisciplinary engineering institution, aiming to inspire, inform and influence today's engineers and technicians.
Royal Academy of Engineering: The national academy of engineering for the UK, aiming to advance and promote excellence in engineering.
Other Useful Resources
Computer Weekly: A digital magazine and website for IT professionals in the UK, providing news, analysis, opinion and information.
LinkedIn Learning: An online learning platform helping people to learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals. Click 'sign in' > 'sign in with your organization portal' to access the whole site for free.
Links
Locate can be used to access ebooks and find print books in your campus Library.
Referencing help and support.
Reading lists- view essential and recommended reading for each module on your course.
Database Video Tutorials
Database Video Tutorials
Every database and information source has it's own quirks and ways of doing things, and it can be tricky when using something for the first time to know what works and what won't. There is a growing collection of video guides to some of Coventry University's subscriptions available - check to see if there's advice about how to get the best out of the site you were going to use today!