Subject Resources - Sport & Event Management - OLD SEPT 23

Useful Resources

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window Contains business journal articles, market research, company and industry reports. Global coverage.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Contains journal articles across a variety of disciplines. Useful if your topic crosses over into a subject area outside of business.
Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new window Box of Broadcasts is a on demand TV and radio service for education. It allows staff and students at subscribing institutions to record programmes from over 65 free-to-air channels, and search an extensive archive.
Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window This database contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Contains business journal articles, market research, company and industry reports. Global coverage.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window Contains journal articles about media and communication. Can be useful for things like sports broadcasting and the media elements of marketing.
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window Contains business journal articles and book chapters.
EThOS (British Library Theses) This link opens in a new window Based at the British Library, EThOS allows you to view records for all theses (PhD & Masters level) produced at UK HE institutions and many of these are now available to download online. You need to register first to do this and it is free of charge.
FAME (Financial Analysis Made Easy) This link opens in a new window FAME contains financial data for UK and Irish companies.
Hospitality & Tourism Index This link opens in a new window Indexes journal articles in the field of hospitality and tourism. Particularly useful for event management.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window IBISWorld contains market research reports and industry ratings from UK and China. It also has industry Brexit Impact statements. This database covers a wide variety of industry sectors including, construction, energy, manufacturing, finance, wholesale and retail.
Lexis+ This link opens in a new window Click the 'News' tab to access British national and some regional newspapers. For the most reliable sources, limit your search to UK national broadsheets.
Mintel This link opens in a new window Contains market research reports, with emphasis on consumer markets. Covers the UK and China.
Passport Euromonitor (GMID) This link opens in a new window Contains market research reports, country information, and company profiles. Global coverage.
ProQuest dissertations & theses: UK and Ireland This link opens in a new window A source of PhD dissertations and theses produced at UK universities.
Sage Premier This link opens in a new window SAGE is the world's 5th largest journals publisher. Our portfolio includes more than 1000 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 400 are published on behalf of learned societies and institutions.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.
SCOPUS This link opens in a new window SCOPUS is a multidisciplinary database. As well as searching for articles, you can look up journal metrics and set alerts for topics or authors.
SportBusiness SportBusiness is a leading provider of news, insight and opinion on the global business of sport, plus high quality reports and data. Topics covered include sponsorship, marketing, events, governance, and more, all across a range of sports. To login: click Log In, then Sign in with OpenAthens, then search for Coventry University.
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window SPORTDiscus contains journal articles related to sport. Note that this includes both sport management and sports science.
Statista This link opens in a new window Find statistics, consumer survey results and industry studies from over 22500 sources on over 60000 topics worldwide

All Sport & Event Management Databases (A-Z)

Business Specific

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window

Other Subject-Specific Databases

Hospitality & Tourism Index This link opens in a new window
Hospitality and tourism specific - useful for events
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
Sports specific - there are lots of sports science articles in here, so think carefully about your search terms
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Media database

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Sage Premier This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
SCOPUS This link opens in a new window

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains industry profiles, company profiles and market reports. These cover global industries.
Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains company profiles.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains industry and market research reports and company profiles. Covers global industries.

Companies House
You can obtain documents from the annual reports that companies have submitted to Companies House.

FAME (Financial Analysis Made Easy) This link opens in a new window
FAME contains financial data taken from a company's annual report, e.g. turnover, balance sheet, profit & loss account. It contains data relating to UK and Irish companies.
Mintel This link opens in a new window
A database of marketing research reports produced by Mintel. Included within the reports are profiles of companies that produce consumer goods. The focus is on the UK market, but there are also some reports relating to China.
Passport Euromonitor (GMID) This link opens in a new window
Contains market research information including profiles of companies and has global coverage.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Find statistics, consumer survey results and industry studies from over 22500 sources on over 60000 topics worldwide

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains industry profiles, company profiles and market reports. It has global coverage.
Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains company profiles.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains industry and market research reports and company profiles. Covers global industries.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld contains market research reports and industry ratings from UK and China. It also has industry Brexit Impact statements. This database covers a wide variety of industry sectors including, construction, energy, manufacturing, finance, wholesale and retail.
Mintel This link opens in a new window
Consists of the full text of Mintel market research reports. The subscription includes Market Intelligence, Leisure Intelligence, Retail Intelligence and Personal Finance Intelligence. The emphasis is on the UK consumer markets, but there are some European and Chinese reports.
Passport Euromonitor (GMID) This link opens in a new window
Contains full text market research reports and statistical data. Information includes consumer lifestyles, country information and company and brand data. In particular it contains the full text of Market Research Great Britain, Market Research Europe, Market Research International and Retail Monitor International.
SportBusiness
SportBusiness is a leading provider of news, insight and opinion on the global business of sport, plus high quality reports and data. Topics covered include sponsorship, marketing, events, governance, and more, all across a range of sports.

To login: click Log In, then Sign in with OpenAthens, then search for Coventry University.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Find statistics, consumer survey results and industry studies from over 22500 sources on over 60000 topics worldwide

Library sources for data and statistics:

Statista This link opens in a new window
Find statistics, consumer survey results and industry studies from over 22500 sources on over 60000 topics worldwide
Passport Euromonitor (GMID) This link opens in a new window
As well as market research reports, Passport Euromonitor contains economic indicators such as GDP, inflation rates, balance of payments, interest rates etc.
Mintel This link opens in a new window
Contains market research reports for the UK and China. After searching for a report, look for the Databook link to download the data as an Excel spreadsheet.
FAME (Financial Analysis Made Easy) This link opens in a new window
Contains financial data about companies in the UK and Ireland.

Free sources of data and statistics:

Eurostat
Contains official statistics from EU countries including those relating to economy and finance, population, industry and trade and regions.
IMF Data
The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Manuals, guides, and other material on statistical practices at the IMF, in member countries, and of the statistical community at large are also available.
OECD iLibrary
Contains country information including economic, finance and investment
Office for National Statistics
The official site for UK statistics. It covers the economy, business and trade, employment and population.
UK Data Service
Brings together a wide variety of statistical data from trusted sources.
United Nations Data Sets
Statistics produced by the United Nations.
World Bank - World Development Indicators
The primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.

Google's Dataset Search

Google's Dataset Search allows you to search for data on a range of websites, including Statista and many of the free sources above. This can be worth searching, but bear in mind it may show you data that is not freely available. As with all Google searches, it will also provide sources which may not be reliable. It is therefore essential that you critically evaluate the source of data before including it in your assignments.

News

Lexis+ This link opens in a new window
Lexis Library is a newspaper and legal database. It contains UK and Irish newspapers including broadsheets, tabloids and local papers. It doesn't contain the Financial Times.

Business News

SportBusiness
SportBusiness is a leading provider of news, insight and opinion on the global business of sport, including case studies and data. Topics covered include sponsorship, marketing, events, governance, and more, all across a range of sports.

To login: click Log In, then Sign in with OpenAthens, then search for Coventry University.

The Economist

Financial Times This link opens in a new window
Also known as FT.com. Please note you will be required to register an individual account the first time you access the resource.

Databases

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
Included in this database are wire feeds, newspapers and trade publications, which are a good source of industry-related news.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
BSC includes trade journals and some newspapers.
International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
A database of international and UK newspapers.

Media

Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new window
Box of Broadcasts is a on demand TV and radio service for education. It allows staff and students at subscribing institutions to record programmes from over 65 free-to-air channels, and search an extensive archive.
Planet eStream This link opens in a new window
Contains over 3000 video and audio items, including many relating to management topics.

Here are some of the sources you could use to find case studies.

Many journal articles are case studies. To find them, enter 'case study' in the search box as one of your key words. You can find journal articles on ABI Inform Complete, Business Source Complete and Emerald.

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window

The University has a subscription to Sage Research Methods.

SAGE Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process.

To log in, click ‘Institution’, then ‘Log in via your institution’, in the country box select United Kingdom, in the institution box enter Coventry University, and then click OPENATHENS/SHIBBOLETH.

Sage Research Methods is a database providing a wealth of material that can guide students and staff through the research process – whether at undergraduate level or PhD. It can help provide context for writing a research question, conducting a literature review, choosing a research method, collecting and analysing data, and writing up the findings. We would strongly recommend having a browse around the site to see what’s available to help you.

Sport & Event Management - OLD SEPT 23: Subject Resources