LibGuides: Psychology OLD Sep 23: DClinPsyc at Warwick

As you know, in your final year you move from Coventry University to Warwick University. This move means that there will be changes to the ways in which you access the resources that you are used to using at Coventry. You will still have access to all the same databases, but, for the most part, that access will be via Warwick University Library, not Coventry. Warwick University Library does not always use the same database suppliers as we do at Coventry, so the interfaces will be different from the ones that you are used to. If you are intending to research your dissertation topic over the summer, it might be as well to do so using Warwick's resources, particularly if you like to store searches and results within the databases themselves.

The information on this page is intended to help you in this transition period and introduce you to my counterpart at Warwick, Sam Johnson. Her contact details are below and you can email her for an appointment in just the same way as you have always done with me. Get to know her - she will be your friend!

Carlo Avilio - Academic Liaison Librarian at the Lanchester Library, Coventry University.

Databases that you can still use at Coventry

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
SCOPUS This link opens in a new window

Top tips for the move from Coventry

Have a look at Sam's Psychology pages and familiarise yourself with the way the databases look as early as possible.

Attend any training sessions that Sam offers.

You will still be able to access Academic Search Complete via Coventry, but you will no longer get the option to cross-search it with Medline, Cinahl and PsycInfo. You cannot combine Coventry and Warwick accounts, so if you have any searches saved in EbscoHost or ProQuest databases at Coventry, save them to disk or export them to RefWorks or EndNote before you move over, because you will not see them in your Warwick account.

See above for the list of databases that you will still be able to access at Coventry.

Unfortunately, you will not be able to login to Locate, although you will still have an account with us. Please ring us to renew any books that you have on loan on 02476 67555.

Read Sam's Top Tips section below.

APA 7th Edition Style - What has Changed?

APA 7th edition publication style has some important changes from APA 6th edition which you need to be aware of. The following documents and websites summarise some of the key changes in the style.

Guidance document [PDF file] from the APA.
This document highlights the main changes to the APA 7th edition style.
APA 6th/7th edition comparison tables
These helpful comparison tables from Walden University help you to quickly identify key changes from the 6th to 7th edition of the APA style.
Scribbr - APA changes
This website provides a concise overview of some the major changes to the APA style.

Samantha (Sam) Johnson - Academic Support Librarian, University of Warwick Library

What things will look like at Warwick

Resources for your third year at Warwick

Sam Johnson's Subject Page at Warwick
This will give you links to resources and to online tutorials to support your research
Psychology databases at Warwick

Searching tips for Warwick

Top tip! Check that your Warwick login works. Try logging into the PsycInfo database. Your username will start with a “u” followed by your student number.

You can re-set your account here.

Most of the databases that you have had access to at Coventry, you will have access to at Warwick but there are some differences

PsycInfo and Medline are available via the OVID platform (and not via EBSCO as you have been used to)
CINAHL and Scopus will be exactly the same
If you have created a Personal Account with CINAHL, you will need to create another one associated with your Warwick login
You have access to the Web of Science database, a multidisciplinary database, that is similar to Scopus

You will not have access to Academic Search Complete, but you can still access this via Coventry

If you have saved any searches whilst using the Coventry databases you will lose access to, that you think might be useful, it would be a good idea to print them out or save a screenshot elsewhere before the end of September. After this date, you will no longer be able to access them.

Warwick uses the Endnote referencing software. You can now download the desktop version of Endnote to your own machine for free, via the University’s site licence.

The desktop version offers more functionality than the free, online version, and is recommended for PhD students. Our current Endnote page is heavily focused on the online version but we will be revising this page over the summer. There is specific information relating to the desktop version at the end of the page. If you have a RefWorks account from Coventry, you can continue to use this. Warwick can provide support and guidance for Endnote and Coventry can continue to provide support for RefWorks.

Psychology OLD Sep 23: DClinPsyc at Warwick