LibGuides: Electrical &amp; Electronic Engineering OLD Sep 23: Subject Resources

Locate

To search for:

- a specific book: type the author's surname and one or two key words from the book's title

- books on a topic: type some keywords and search using the Books and more... option

- journal articles: type some keywords and search using the Journal articles... option

Use the box below to search on Locate, or go to the Locate interface.

Useful Resources

Using databases is the best way to find journal articles. Coventry University subscribes to a large number of databases, which can be used to locate journal articles, conference proceedings, books and patents.

The following databases are recommended to search for journal articles in your subject area:

Specialist Electrical & Electronic Engineering Databases:

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The ACM Digital Library is a vast collection of citations and full text from ACM journal and newsletter articles and conference proceedings and includes the full text of every article ever published by ACM.
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
Journals, books and case studies - a library of real world research at your fingertips
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
The IEEE Xplore digital library is a powerful resource for discovery of and access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. IEEE Xplore provides web access to more than three-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics. More than two-million documents are in robust, dynamic HTML format.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Large full-text database providing journal access across a range of subjects. Contains a lot of engineering and materials science content.

Multidisciplinary Databases:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete (ASC), designed specifically for academic institutions, is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete (BSC) is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. This in addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals.
Sage Premier This link opens in a new window
SAGE is the world's 5th largest journals publisher. Our portfolio includes more than 1000 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 400 are published on behalf of learned societies and institutions.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect provides full-text searching and access to science and technology material. It includes both book and journal material.
SCOPUS This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a comprehensive scientific, medical, technical and social science database.

The vast majority of the library's books are electronic, and can be accessed by Coventry University members both on or off campus. E-books can be found using Locate or by searching various e-book platforms directly.

E-book platforms:

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central is an e-book platform offering access to a large number of full-text e-books in multiple academic and general interest subject areas.

Sage Research Methods
Provides access to a range of books and articles on different aspects of research methodology and data analysis.

There are a number of resources you can use to find dissertations and theses from Coventry University and other national and international universities. Please note that the library does not hold copies of undergraduate or taught Masters dissertations.

ProQuest dissertations & theses: UK and Ireland This link opens in a new window
You can use ProQuest dissertations & theses to find copies of theses produced in the UK. Many are available in full text.
EThOS (British Library Theses) This link opens in a new window
Based at the British Library, EThOS allows you to view records for all theses (PhD & Masters level) produced at UK HE institutions and many of these are now available to download online. You need to register first to do this and it is free of charge.

Dart Europe
Dart Europe helps you search and access theses produced a wide range of European Universities.
NDLTD - Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
NDLTD is a free service which allows you to see across thousands of theses produced at institutions around the world.
Coventry University Theses
You can find theses produced at Coventry through our online institutional repository - PURE.

ASTM International Standards & Engineering Digital Library This link opens in a new window
ASTM International Standards & Engineering Digital Library (Compass)
British Standards Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a full-text set of current British Standards and documents, many of which are BSI adopted European and International standards. The site works best with Internet Explorer.
Espacenet This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the published patent application databases of the UK Patent Office, the European Patent Office and other European national patent offices, as well as access to the PCT (World) database of published patent applications. DEFAULTS TO WORLDWIDE SEARCH WHICH IS BEST - COVERS 63 COUNTRIES INCLUDING GB. Coverage and full-text availability varies from country to country. Please Note: Espacenet has limited search capabilities. If you are considering making a patent application you must seek the services of a professional patent searcher.

Subject Gateways

ArXiv
Open access to 1,363,731 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance, Statistics, Electrical Engineering and Systems Science, and Economics.
CiteSeerX
A public search engine and digital library for scientific and academic papers, primarily in the fields of computer and information science.
Computing Research Repository
An online repository allowing researchers to search, browse and download scientific papers in the field of computing.
Semantic Scholar
A search engine using machine learning techniques help you find scientific journal articles. It is designed to highlight the most important/influential papers and to identify the connections between them.

Official Bodies and Associations

Engineering Council
The Engineering Council is the regulatory body for the UK engineering profession, setting and maintaining internationally-recognised standards of professional competence and commitment
IEEE
Short for the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, IEEE focuses on advancing technology for the benefit of society.
Institution of Engineering and Technology
The IET is a large, multidisciplinary engineering institution, aiming to inspire, inform and influence today's engineers and technicians.
Royal Academy of Engineering
The national academy of engineering for the UK, aiming to advance and promote excellence in engineering.

Other Useful Resources

EE Times
Electronic Engineering Times is an online electronics industry magazine, offering news, columns and articles to 'connect the global electronics community'.
Linkedin Learning
An online learning platform helping people to learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals. Click 'sign in' > 'sign in with your organization portal' to access the whole site for free.

Google Scholar

Note: To identify yourself as Coventry University user:

go to Settings at the the top of the Google Scholar search screen
select Library links
Search for "Coventry University" and click Save.

Electrical & Electronic Engineering OLD Sep 23: Subject Resources