Skip to Main Content
Library logo

Centre for Financial and Corporate Integrity (CFCI): Key Information Resources

Locate

Locate is the library's online catalogue and a reliable route to all of our paid-for journals and books. It is a useful starting point for scoping out a research topic. For more information on how to search Locate effectively consult the Locate Help Guide. The Key Resources box below highlights other paid-for or freely available sources that will be useful to you when interrogating a topic in detail.

Key Resources

Sources of economic and financial information:

Datastream, Fitch Connect and Bloomberg are available on the Business School Trading Floor, which is located on the ground floor of the William Morris Building.

Company information can be found from a number of sources including:

Newspapers and other news services can be a good source of information about companies. You can find news on the sources below.

Using a database is the best way to find journal articles. The following databases are recommended to search for journal articles.

Business Databases

Multidisciplinary Databases

Databases with an international focus

Market research reports are usually produced by companies such as Mintel, Euromonitor or Marketline. They either conduct their own research or will gather information conducted  by another research organization. 

Information contained in these reports include; market trends, consumer information, purchasing habits, market size, performance and forecast, brands and advertising.

Reports will usually be focused on a market sector or product, e.g. clothing retail or home entertainment. However, reports are often produced about trends, e.g. healthy eating or specific consumers, e.g. millennials.

Unless you need a historical perspective, try to find the latest report on your product or service.

Market research reports can be found using the following databases;


News


Media

Here are some good sources you can use to find statistics:

Here are sources you could use to find case studies.

1) Journal Articles

Many journal articles are case studies. To find them, enter 'case study' in the search box as one of your key words. You can find journal articles on ABI/Inform Complete, Business Source Complete and Emerald Insight.


2) Case Studies

Within Emerald Insight we have access to The Case Journal from 2004 onwards and the Emerging Markets Case Study Archive (2011-2020).

The Case Journal is the official journal of The Case Association. It includes case studies of real decisions in real organisations from a range of business and management disciplines. 

The Emerging Markets Case Study Archive includes case studies from real people and organisations in emerging markets, developing economies and regions which can traditionally be underrepresented.

To access these case studies:

  1. Go to the Emerald Insight database (link above) and search for a topic in the search bar. (You may need to scroll down to find the search bar on your screen.) 
  2. In your results list use the filters on the panel on the right-hand side of the screen to select 'Only content I have access to' (under Access) and select 'Case study' (under Content Type). (You may need to scroll down the page to view the Content Type options in the right-hand side panel.)

In each case study collection the teaching notes are available to academic staff only. Academic staff can email their Academic Liaison Librarian for access information.

A selection of useful business websites.