Centre for Dance Research (C-DaRE): Key Information Resources
Locate
Locate is the library's online catalogue and a reliable route to all of our paid-for journals and books. It is a useful starting point for scoping out a research topic. More information on how to search Locate effectively can be found in the Locate Help Guide. The Key Resources box below highlights other paid-for or freely available sources that will be useful to you when interrogating a topic in detail.
Key Resources
Journals with full-text access
- Taylor & Francis dance journals: Research in Dance Education; Dance Education in Practice; Journal of Dance Education; Performance Research; Theatre, Dance & Performance Training; Dance Chronicle; International Journal of Performance Arts & Digital Media; Women & Performance; Body, Movement and Dance in Psychotherapy and Journal of Physical Education, Recreation & Dance.
- Dance Research Journal from Edinburgh University Press is available via Locate or at the publisher's website.
- Journal of Dance Medicine & Science is available from Sage Journals.
- Journal of Dance & Somatic Practice from EBSCO - search for the journal on Locate and follow the blue link.
Journals requiring document supply requests for the full text
- Intellect journals: search the site for Choreographic Practices; Applied Theatre Research; Performing Ethos; Dance, Movement & Spiritualities
- PAJ: a journal of performance & art
- Karpa: Dissident Theatricalities, Visual Arts & Culture
Open access journals with search function on the website
- Dance & Education / Tánc & Nevelés
- International Journal of Visual & Performing Arts
- Nordic Journal of Dance. Also available here but not with a searchable archive.
- Percées
- Performance Matters
- Revista de Investigación sobre Flamenco
- Journal for the Anthropological Study of Human Movement (ceased publication 2022?)
Open access journals - with article listings but no search function on the website, so use Google.
Databases
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowIndexes a number of dance and performance journals, but full text to these can be found elsewhere. Worth doing a search on here as well to see what's available.
-
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new windowIncludees both scholarly peer-reviewed journals and selected trade and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies. Contains over 400 arts journal titles.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR holds a few key dance journal titles - see https://www.jstor.org/subject/performingarts. The focus of JSTOR is on more retrospective coverage.
-
ProQuest This link opens in a new windowLarge full-text database providing journal access in the arts and humanities, design and applied arts, business, health and medicine, history, literature, newspapers, science, social sciences and technology.
The journals American Journal of Dance Therapy and Liminalities are both indexed with full text on Proquest. -
Research Library This link opens in a new windowBroad research database with American bias.
When searching use the 'anywhere except full text' option on the right - this will bring up more relevant results. -
SCOPUS This link opens in a new windowCovers mainly social sciences and sciences, but also some creative articles can be found.
You can check the number of times an article has been cited.
Also available on Scopus is SciVal in which you can benchmark Coventry University against other universities. For more information go to the Disseminating your research tab on this website and look under the Bibliometrics area.
Below are the main resources to find theses from Coventry University and other national and international universities.
Please note that the library does not hold copies of undergraduate or taught Masters dissertations.
EThOS (British Library Theses). Based at the British Library, EThOS allows you to view records for all theses (PhD & Masters level) produced at UK HE institutions and many of these are now available to download online. You need to register first to do this and it is free of charge.
Theses listed on Proquest Central database. Searches for theses listed across multiple Proquest databases
NDLTD - Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations. A free service which allows you to see across thousands of theses produced at institutions around the world.
Coventry University Theses. You can find theses produced at Coventry through our online institutional repository - PURE.
White Rose Etheses Online - Universities of York, Sheffield and Leeds theses online
Note: for a wider range of international theses portals in different languages you can view the worldwide theses page from Manchester University
Newspapers (full text)
Historical archives of newspapers (full-text)
Media
-
Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new windowFor more indepth information about Box of Broadcasts go to the relevant libguide at https://libguides.coventry.ac.uk/bob
-
Planet eStream This link opens in a new windowHelix stores past recorded online films, TV and radio programmes by Coventry University Library under our ERA licence.