Centre for Fluid and Complex Systems (FCS): Subject Resources
Locate
Locate is the library's online catalogue and a reliable route to all of our paid-for journals and books. It is a useful starting point for scoping out a research topic. The Useful Resources box below highlights other paid-for or freely available sources that will be useful to you when interrogating a topic in detail.
Useful Resources
Using databases is the best way to find journal articles. Coventry University subscribes to a large number of databases, which can be used to locate journal articles, conference proceedings, books and patents.
The following databases are recommended to search for journal articles in your subject area:
Specialist Databases:
- ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new windowThe ACM Digital Library is a vast collection of citations and full text from ACM journal and newsletter articles and conference proceedings and includes the full text of every article ever published by ACM.
- ArXivOpen access to 1,363,731 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance, Statistics, Electrical Engineering and Systems Science, and Economics.
- CiteSeerXA public search engine and digital library for scientific and academic papers, primarily in the fields of computer and information science.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowThe IEEE Xplore digital library is a powerful resource for discovery of and access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. IEEE Xplore provides web access to more than three-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics. More than two-million documents are in robust, dynamic HTML format.
- Institute of Physics Archive This link opens in a new windowThe archive of the Institute of Physics journals from 1874-1998 available in full text.
- Materials Science & Engineering Collection This link opens in a new windowA full text database from ProQuest combining the Engineering Collection and Materials Science Collection. The Engineering Collection covers multiple engineering disciplines and industries. The Materials Science Collection covers materials and materials-related concepts. Materials include scholarly journals, trade and industry titles, conference proceedings, dissertations, technical reports, and other sources of grey literature. Coverage starts from 1965.
- PROLA - American Physical Society This link opens in a new windowPROLA is the American Physical Society’s Physical Review Online Archive. The complete archive consists of all Physical Review back to 1893, all Physical Review Letters back to 1958 and all of Reviews of Modern Physics back to 1929.
- WorldWideScienceA global science search engine, allowing the user to search national scientific databases and portals in more than 70 countries.
- zbMATHA comprehensive abstracting service in pure and applied mathematics, providing easy access to bibliographic data, reviews and abatracts from all areas of pure mathematics and its applications.
Multidisciplinary Databases:
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete (ASC), designed specifically for academic institutions, is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. - Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Complete (BSC) is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. This in addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals.
- Emerald Insight This link opens in a new windowJournals, books and case studies - a library of real world research at your fingertips
- ProQuest This link opens in a new windowLarge full-text database providing journal access in the following subject areas: Arts and humanities, design and applied arts, business, health and medicine, history, literature, newspapers, science and technology and social sciences.
- Sage Premier This link opens in a new windowSAGE is the world's 5th largest journals publisher. Our portfolio includes more than 1000 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 400 are published on behalf of learned societies and institutions.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect provides full-text searching and access to science and technology material. It includes both book and journal material.
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new windowScopus is a comprehensive scientific, medical, technical and social science database.
If there is a specific journal that you wish to browse, you should check for a library subscription via the eJournals A-Z.
The eJournals A-Z is a feature on Locate that allows you to search for a specific publication. This means that you don't have to search each database separately to find a journal, and you don't need to figure out how to log onto a publisher's website to access it.
Details of all the library's online journal subscriptions are on the eJournals A-Z.
Once you have searched the eJournals A-Z, click on the journal title that interests you. This will present you with details of the library's subscription, including the dates of access and a direct link to the journal.
The vast majority of the library's books are electronic, and can be accessed by Coventry University members both on or off campus. E-books can be found using Locate or by searching various e-book platforms directly.
Highlighted series of e-books from our collection:
- Lecture Notes in Computer ScienceThe series Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS), including its subseries Lecture Notes in Artificial Intelligence (LNAI) and Lecture Notes in Bioinformatics (LNBI), has established itself as a medium for the publication of new developments in computer science and information technology research and teaching - quickly, informally, and at a high level. Coventry University has access to everything published from 2018 onward.
- Sage Research MethodsProvides access to a range of books and articles on different aspects of research methodology and data analysis.
E-book platforms:
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new windowEbook Central is an e-book platform offering access to a large number of full-text e-books in multiple academic and general interest subject areas.
There are a number of resources you can use to find dissertations and theses from Coventry University and other national and international universities. Please note that the library does not hold copies of undergraduate or taught Masters dissertations.
- ProQuest dissertations & theses: UK and Ireland This link opens in a new windowYou can use ProQuest dissertations & theses to find copies of theses produced in the UK. Many are available in full text.
- EThOS (British Library Theses) This link opens in a new windowBased at the British Library, EThOS allows you to view records for all theses (PhD & Masters level) produced at UK HE institutions and many of these are now available to download online. You need to register first to do this and it is free of charge.
- Dart EuropeDart Europe helps you search and access theses produced a wide range of European Universities.
- NDLTD - Networked Digital Library of Theses and DissertationsNDLTD is a free service which allows you to see across thousands of theses produced at institutions around the world.
- Coventry University ThesesYou can find theses produced at Coventry through our online institutional repository - PURE.
- ASTM International Standards & Engineering Digital Library This link opens in a new windowASTM International Standards & Engineering Digital Library (Compass)
- British Standards Online This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a full-text set of current British Standards and documents, many of which are BSI adopted European and International standards. The site works best with Internet Explorer.
- Espacenet This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the published patent application databases of the UK Patent Office, the European Patent Office and other European national patent offices, as well as access to the PCT (World) database of published patent applications. DEFAULTS TO WORLDWIDE SEARCH WHICH IS BEST - COVERS 63 COUNTRIES INCLUDING GB. Coverage and full-text availability varies from country to country. Please Note: Espacenet has limited search capabilities. If you are considering making a patent application you must seek the services of a professional patent searcher.
- Passport Euromonitor (GMID) This link opens in a new windowContains full text market research reports and statistical data. Information includes consumer lifestyles, country information and company and brand data. In particular it contains the full text of Market research Great Britain, Market research Europe, Market research international and Retail monitor international.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowFind statistics, consumer survey results and industry studies from over 22500 sources on over 60000 topics worldwide
- EurostatContains official statistics from EU countries including those relating to economy and finance, population, industry and trade and regions.
- OECD FactbookContains a wide range of key statistics for its member countries and major additional countries.
- Office for National StatisticsThe official site for UK statistics. It covers the economy, business and trade, employment and population.
- UK Data ServiceBrings together a wide variety of statistical data from trusted sources.
- United Nations Data SetsStatistics produced by the United Nations.
- Lexis+ (UK Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowContains news content from UK newspapers including national, regional, broadsheets and tabloids.
- ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new windowThe database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Complete (BSC) is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. This in addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals.