Centre for Physical Activity, Sport and Exercise Sciences (PASES): Key Information Resources
Locate
Locate is the library's online catalogue and a reliable route to all of our paid-for journals and books. It is a useful starting point for scoping out a research topic. For more information on how to search Locate effectively consult the Locate Help Guide. The Key Resources box below highlights other paid-for or freely available sources that will be useful to you when interrogating a topic in detail.
Useful Resources
Using databases is the best way to find journal articles. Coventry University subscribes to a large number of databases, which can be used to locate journal articles, conference proceedings, books and patents.
The following databases are recommended to search for journal articles in your subject area:
Specialist Databases:
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete (ASC), designed specifically for academic institutions, is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. - ASSIA Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts This link opens in a new windowASSIA is a bibliographic database with abstracts and citations of articles from over 650 sociology and psychology journals. Covers the applied social sciences and is particularly useful for social issues, social problems, health care, politics, economics, employment, gender issues, education and ethnicity.
- EThOS (British Library Theses) This link opens in a new windowBased at the British Library, EThOS allows you to view records for all theses (PhD & Masters level) produced at UK HE institutions and many of these are now available to download online. You need to register first to do this and it is free of charge.
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- Human Anatomy Atlas (Visible Body) This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive 3D atlas of the human body. Also available as an app. Includes structures from all body systems: nervous, skeletal, circulatory, muscular, digestive, urinary, lymphatic, endocrine, and reproductive.
- Medline This link opens in a new windowProduced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, PubMed is a freely available version of MEDLINE which includes additional life sciences journals. It also provides integrated molecular biology databases. PubMed contains over 14 million references and includes some links to full-text articles.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new windowLarge full-text database providing journal access in the following subject areas: Arts and humanities, design and applied arts, business, health and medicine, history, literature, newspapers, science and technology and social sciences.
- ProQuest dissertations & theses: UK and Ireland This link opens in a new window
- Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new windowOffering complete information from leading nursing and health related publications, this database is designed to meet the needs of researchers at health-care facilities as well as health related students enrolled in nursing programs at academic institutions.
- PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowPsycINFO database, with over 1.7 million records, is the comprehensive international database of psychology. It covers the academic, research and practice literature in psychology from over 45 countries in more than 30 languages. PsycINFO includes relevant materials from related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, law, criminology, social science, and organizational behavior.
- Psychology Database This link opens in a new windowPsychology theory and practice - journal articles.
- Pubmed This link opens in a new windowPubMed comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new window
- SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new windowThis database offers comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. With full bibliographic coverage, monographs dating back to 1949, and journal coverage to 1975, this database contains over 565,000 records and over 200,000 dissertations and theses. The content also consists of multidisciplinary, international references from journal and magazine articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings and more. SPORTDiscus is provided by the Sport Information Resource Centre. Premier Package customers will have instant access to full text for nearly 300 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus (at no additional charge). Users of SPORTDiscus will be excited to learn that this is now a "full text database".
- WorldWideScienceA global science search engine, allowing the user to search national scientific databases and portals in more than 70 countries.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete (ASC), designed specifically for academic institutions, is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. - Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Complete (BSC) is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. This in addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals.
- Emerald Insight This link opens in a new windowJournals, books and case studies - a library of real world research at your fingertips
- ProQuest This link opens in a new windowLarge full-text database providing journal access in the following subject areas: Arts and humanities, design and applied arts, business, health and medicine, history, literature, newspapers, science and technology and social sciences.
- Sage Premier This link opens in a new windowSAGE is the world's 5th largest journals publisher. Our portfolio includes more than 1000 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 400 are published on behalf of learned societies and institutions.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new windowScopus is a comprehensive scientific, medical, technical and social science database containing all relevant literature.
The vast majority of the library's books are electronic, and can be accessed by Coventry University members both on or off campus. E-books can be found using Locate or by searching various e-book platforms directly.
Highlighted series of e-books from our collection:
E-book platforms:
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
- British Standards Online This link opens in a new window
- Espacenet This link opens in a new window
- Lexis+ This link opens in a new window
- ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- EurostatContains official statistics from EU countries including those relating to economy and finance, population, industry and trade and regions.
- OECD FactbookContains a wide range of key statistics for its member countries and major additional countries.
- Office for National StatisticsThe official site for UK statistics. It covers the economy, business and trade, employment and population.
- Passport Euromonitor (GMID) This link opens in a new windowContains full text market research reports and statistical data. Information includes consumer lifestyles, country information and company and brand data. In particular it contains the full text of Market research Great Britain, Market research Europe, Market research international and Retail monitor international.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowFind statistics, consumer survey results and industry studies from over 22500 sources on over 60000 topics worldwide
- UK Data ServiceBrings together a wide variety of statistical data from trusted sources.
- United Nations Data SetsStatistics produced by the United Nations.
If there is a specific journal that you wish to browse, you should check for a library subscription via the eJournals A-Z.
The eJournals A-Z is a feature on Locate that allows you to search for a specific publication. This means that you don't have to search each database separately to find a journal, and you don't need to figure out how to log onto a publisher's website to access it.
Details of all the library's online journal subscriptions are on the eJournals A-Z.
Once you have searched the eJournals A-Z, click on the journal title that interests you. This will present you with details of the library's subscription, including the dates of access and a direct link to the journal.
Video demonstrations
▶️ EBSCO video demonstration (CINAHL, Medline, Academic Search Search Complete etc.)