Centre for Intelligent Healthcare: Key Information Resources
Locate
Locate is the library's online catalogue and a reliable route to all of our paid-for journals and books. It is a useful starting point for scoping out a research topic. More information on how to search Locate effectively can be found in the Locate Help Guide. The Key Resources box below highlights other paid-for or freely available sources that will be useful to you when interrogating a topic in detail.
Useful Resources
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- AMED Allied and complementary medicine databases This link opens in a new window
- ASSIA Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new window
- British Standards Online This link opens in a new window
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- Cochrane Nursing Care This link opens in a new window
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
- Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
- EThOS (British Library Theses) This link opens in a new window
- Consumer Health Database This link opens in a new window
- Health & Medical Collection This link opens in a new window
- Human Anatomy Atlas (Visible Body) This link opens in a new window
- Medline This link opens in a new window
- ProQuest dissertations & theses: UK and Ireland This link opens in a new window
- PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
- Psychology Database This link opens in a new window
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new window
This is the most up to date version of the Royal Marsden Manual and also has the best functionality.
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- Medline This link opens in a new window
- AMED Allied and complementary medicine databases This link opens in a new window
- Health & Medical Collection This link opens in a new window
- Consumer Health Database This link opens in a new window
- Healthcare Administration Database This link opens in a new window
- Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new window
- Cochrane Nursing Care This link opens in a new window
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- Human Anatomy Atlas (Visible Body) This link opens in a new window
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
- British Standards Online This link opens in a new window
- EThOS (British Library Theses) This link opens in a new window
- ProQuest dissertations & theses: UK and Ireland This link opens in a new window
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new window
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- ASSIA Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
- Psychology Database This link opens in a new window
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
There are a variety of visual resources which provide health and medical-related images, diagrams and photographs.
- Visible Body (Human Anatomy Atlas)An online, interactive textbook of human anatomy. Note: Please see below for a pdf file containing instructions on how to access this resource.
- Instructions on how to access Visible BodyPlease see these instructions for a step-by-step guide to accessing the Visible Body.
- Acland's Video Atlas of Human AnatomyAn interactive video guide to human anatomy. Note: Please see below for a pdf file containing instructions on how to access this resource.
- Instructions on how to access Acland's Video AnatomyPlease see these instructions for a step-by-step guide to accessing Acland's Video Anatomy.
There are a wide range of free resources available on the web to find images related to health, medicine and public health. Links to some useful resources are given below.
- MedPixA freely accessible image database of medical images provided by the National Library of Medicine and National Institute of Health in the US.
- Public Health Image LibraryA wide selection of modern and historical images relating to public health from the CDC (Center for Disease Control) in the US.
- 3D Atlas of Human EmbryologyA resource from the University of Amsterdam providing a selection of detailed 3D images covering human embryo development. These can be downloaded as special PDF files containing 3D content allowing diagrams and images to be moved and rotated on screen.
- BrainInfoBrainInfo is designed to help you identify structures in the brain
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
- Royal Marsden Manual of Clinical Nursing ProceduresThis is the most up to date version of the Royal Marsden Manual and also has the best functionality.