Criminology & Forensic: Subject databases

The databases listed below are all part of the same publishing platform, EBSCO, so you can actually search across them all at once, which saves time and makes your searching more efficient. Open one of them and then above the search bars select 'choose databases' and select all relevant databases .

The databases listed below are all subject specific collections with the Proquest database platform, so again you can search across multiple collections at once. Open one of them and then above the search bars select 'change databases' and select all relevant databases. I have just included some of the key collections below, but depending on your specific search topic you may want to select more than the ones listed below. 
When using the ProQuest databases change the box at the end of each search bar from 'Anywhere' to  'Anywhere except full text'. This will ensure that your keywords are found in the title, abstract, or keyword tags and will improve the relevancy of your results.

All Criminology & Forensics Databases (A-Z)

Box of Broadcasts LibGuide

This is a guide to using Box of Broadcasts - it's really easy!

When using statistics in your assignments you need to make sure they come from reliable and reputable sources, and preferably use the original source of the data creation. If you find statistics in books/journals/reports check the reference and go back to the original source itself, and also make sure you use the most up to date version of the data.

If you are searching for statistics on a topic online use a site search to narrow down to government data sites, for example - hate crime statistics site:gov.uk

Below are some good places to look for crime data and statistics, and you can use this further guide to finding crime statistics and data by the Office for National Statistics.

Office for National Statistics

Ministry of Justice

The Crime Survey for England and Wales

UK Data Service

Interpol

FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program