LibGuides: Public Health: Subject databases

Useful Resources

EBSCO databases

Databases on the EBSCO platform can be searched simultaneously by selecting the 'Choose databases' option and selecting several databases. But for your final year project it's best to use each database separately.

I recommend always searching in Academic Search Complete, CINAHL, and Medline. You can choose any other relevant ones from the list below depending on your specific topic.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database covering broad spectrum of subjects.
AMED Allied and complementary medicine databases This link opens in a new window
Alternative medicine database for physicians, therapists, medical researchers and clinicians looking to learn more about alternative treatments. AMED contains bibliographic records for relevant articles from over 500 journals, with the scope of coverage being mainly European. Many of the journals included in AMED are not indexed by other biomedical sources. AMED is produced by the Health Care Information Service of the British Library.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Covers nursing, biomedicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Medline This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) premier medical research database that contains more than 29 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. A feature of MEDLINE is that the records are indexed with NLM Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) making for a more thorough search.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO is the world's largest psychology databases covering nearly 2,500 journals. Includes materials from related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, law, criminology, social science, and organisational behaviour.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Coverage of approx 120 journals in psychology and related fields

ScienceDirect & Scopus

Scopus indexes articles from thousands of journals in the sciences and social sciences, including conference proceedings. Scopus provides useful search tools and citation searching tools.

Searching Scopus retrieves articles from both Science Direct & Scopus at the same time. But searching Science Direct only searches the latter alone. So Scopus is better for retrieving the greatest number of articles.

ScienceDirect provides full-text searching and access to thousands of journal articles and books. Be aware that search functionality in ScienceDirect is more limited than some databases and you can only search up to 8 keyword terms at once.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
SCOPUS This link opens in a new window

We have thousands of e-books available. You can find and access e-books using Locate. Some particularly useful e-book collections are highlighted below.

Springer Protocols This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process.

Karger Fast Facts - Login to view free fact cards on medical topics

There are a number of resources you can use to find dissertations and theses from Coventry University and other national and international universities. Please note that the library does not hold copies of undergraduate or taught Masters dissertations.

EThOS (British Library Theses) This link opens in a new window
THIS WEBSITE IS CURRENTLY DOWN AFTER A CYBER ATTACK. Based at the British Library, EThOS allows you to view records for all theses (PhD & Masters level) produced at UK HE institutions and many of these are now available to download online. You need to register first to do this and it is free of charge.

Dart Europe
Dart Europe helps you search and access theses produced a wide range of European Universities.
NDLTD - Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
NDLTD is a free service which allows you to see across thousands of theses produced at institutions around the world.
Coventry University Theses
You can find theses produced at Coventry through our online institutional repository - PURE.

There are a variety of visual resources which provide life-sciences images, diagrams and photographs.

Visible Body (Human Anatomy Atlas)
An online, interactive textbook of human anatomy. Note: Please see below for a pdf file containing instructions on how to access this resource.

Instructions on how to access Visible Body
Please see these instructions for a step-by-step guide to accessing the Visible Body.

There are a wide range of free resources available on the web to find images related to life-science, molecular biology and public health. Links to some useful resources are given below.

MedPix
A freely accessible image database of medical images provided by the National Library of Medicine and National Institute of Health in the US.
Public Health Image Library
A wide selection of modern and historical images relating to public health from the CDC (Center for Disease Control) in the US.
Whole Brain Atlas
A resource from Harvard University providing detailed images and scans of brain anatomy and structure.
3D Atlas of Human Embryology
A resource from the University of Amsterdam providing a selection of detailed 3D images covering human embryo development. These can be downloaded as special PDF files containing 3D content allowing diagrams and images to be moved and rotated on screen.

Useful Websites

Public Health: Subject databases

Useful Resources

EBSCO databases

ScienceDirect & Scopus

Quick Links