LibGuides: Manufacturing: Subject databases

Useful Resources

Good databases to start your search for journal articles.

These databases contain lots of relevant journal articles for mechanical and manufacturing engineering students.

Engineering-specific databases.

These have standards and technical papers as well as journal articles.

ASTM International Standards & Engineering Digital Library This link opens in a new window
British Standards Online This link opens in a new window
SAE Mobilus This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Materials Science & Engineering Collection This link opens in a new window

Company information, statistics and market research.

These databases contain company information such as company profiles and financial data. Statista is the main database we have for statistics.

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Mintel This link opens in a new window
Statista This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window IBISWorld contains market research reports and industry ratings from UK and China. It also has industry Brexit Impact statements. This database covers a wide variety of industry sectors including, construction, energy, manufacturing, finance, wholesale and retail.

Dissertations and research methods.

These databases are useful for looking at other theses written in your area of study, and for learning more about research methods.

EThOS (British Library Theses) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest dissertations & theses: UK and Ireland This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process.