Human Resource Management: Journal articles
Useful subject databases
As HR professionals you may find you will need to search across a range of databases depending on the subject area you are interested in researching.
For example, if you were looking at burnout in employees, you may want to search both the business databases and a multi-disciplinary database which includes health journals to capture the psychological element of your topic.
Business Databases
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowLeading collection of scholarly business journals in full-text from across the world. In addition, there are searchable cited references for more than 1,200 journal titles.
- ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new windowAccess to key business and economic journals, working papers, and country-and industry-focused reports. Its international coverage gives an overview of company and business trends around the world.
- Emerald Insight This link opens in a new windowAnother good source of journal articles, books and case studies from around the world.
Subject-Specific Databases
- IDS employment law briefTwice-monthly journal that has been reporting on and explaining new UK employment legislation and cases since 1971.
To read IDS Employment Law Handbooks, after clicking the link above, next click on 'Westlaw books' then search for 'IDS Employment Law Handbooks'.
Multidisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowComprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
- ASSIA Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and citations of articles from over 650 sociology and psychology journals. Covers the applied social sciences and is particularly useful for social issues, social problems, health care, politics, economics, employment, gender issues, education and ethnicity.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new windowLarge full-text database providing journal access in the subject areas including business, health and medicine and social sciences.
- Sage Premier This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary database giving access to more than 1000 journal titles.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's Science, Technology and Medicine journal articles in full text or bibliographic reference.
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new windowScopus is a comprehensive Scientific, Medical, Technical and Social Science database.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowPsycINFO includes relevant materials from related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, law, criminology, social science, and organisational behaviour.
Lanchester Library
Coventry University
Frederick Lanchester Building
Gosford Street
Coventry, United Kingdom
CV1 5DD
Telephone:+44 (0) 24 7765 7575
Email: ask-a-librarian.lib@coventry.ac.uk
Coventry University
Frederick Lanchester Building
Gosford Street
Coventry, United Kingdom
CV1 5DD
Telephone:+44 (0) 24 7765 7575
Email: ask-a-librarian.lib@coventry.ac.uk
