Coventry University Wroclaw Library - Subject Guides: Applied Psychology
Resources for Applied Psychology
The following library and resources will help you to find information relevant to your course. To learn how to use them effectively, you can watch the following video.
Resources
-
CINAHL UltimateProvides full-text coverage of English-language nursing and allied health journals and publications from well-known associations including the American Occupation Therapy Association and the American Diabetes Association.
-
Academic Search CompleteAcademic Search Complete (ASC), designed specifically for academic institutions, is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
-
Proquest Psychology CollectionThis database provides abstracts and indexing for key Psychology titles, many which are available in full text.
-
PubMedProduced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, PubMed is a freely available version of MEDLINE which includes additional life sciences journals. It also provides integrated molecular biology databases. PubMed contains over 14 million references and includes some links to full-text articles.
-
PsychArticlesAPA PsycArticles®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group.
Information about tests and testing
- American Psychological Association
- British Psychological Society
- National Council on Measurement in Education
Websites with collections of tests
- Alcohol and Drug Abuse Institute, University of Washington, Substance Use Screening & Assessment Instruments Database
This resource is intended to help clinicians and researchers find instruments used for screening and assessment of substance use and substance use disorders. Some instruments are in the public domain and can be freely downloaded from the web; others can only be obtained from the copyright holder. We don't provide copies of instruments, but links to contact and availability information are included if known.
- Decision Making Individual Differences Inventory - Columbia University
The DMIDI is a catalog of over 200 individual difference measures commonly used in judgment and decision-making research.
- Emerge
EMERGE [Evidence-based Measures of Empowerment for Research on Gender Equality] is a project focused on gender equality and empowerment measures used in India and other multi-country settings to monitor and evaluate health programs and to track progress on UN Sustainable Development Goal (SDG) 5: To Achieve Gender Equality and Empower All Girls. As reported by UN Women (2018), only 2 of the 14 SDG 5 indicators have accepted methodologies for measurement and data widely available. Of the remaining 12, 9 are indicators for which data are collected and available in only a limited number of countries. This assessment suggests notable measurement gaps in the state of gender equality and empowerment worldwide. EMERGE aims to improve the science of gender equality and empowerment measurement by identifying these gaps through the compilation and psychometric evaluation of available measures and supporting scientifically rigorous measure development research in India.
- Social-Personality Psychology Questionnaire Instrument Compendium (QIC)
A website maintained by Alan Reifman, Professor of Human Development and Family Studies, Texas Tech University. He says "My policy is to link only to pages where (a) the full instrument is shown, and (b) the instrument was put on the web by the person who created the instrument, thus ensuring that the instrument was intended to be put into the public domain."
Database searching tip