LibGuides: Occupational Therapy: Subject databases

Journal Articles

To find peer-reviewed evidence-based literature, it is essential that you search databases.

Below, you will find a list of databases. The first group (separated into boxes) are the most relevant subject-specific databases for your discipline. Below these are other databases which have been divided into subject-specific and multidisciplinary. It is important to search subject-specific databases since these consist of health-related literature. Searching multidisciplinary databases may help find a few extra papers for your research.

For more information and guidance on how to search these platforms, please see the Literature Searching videos tab on your subject guide.

CINAHL Ultimate

CINAHL Ultimate is a database from EBSCO which primarily covers nursing, 17 allied health disciplines (e.g. occupational therapy, physiotherapy, paramedicine), biomedicine and public health literature. Types of information include journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings and evidence-based care sheets.

MEDLINE

MEDLINE is a database from EBSCO produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine and primarily covers biomedical, health, behavioural and life sciences literature. This is the paid for version of another database, PubMed. Types of information include journal articles, book chapters and conference proceedings.

Scopus

Scopus indexes articles from thousands of journals in the sciences and social sciences, including conference proceedings. Scopus provides useful search tools and citation searching tools.

Cochrane Library

Cochrane Library is a collection of databases which contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making and is used mainly in nursing.

The databases include Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR), Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA), NHS Economic Evaluation Database (EED), and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups: About The Cochrane Collaboration.

There are a wide variety of databases which contain journal articles related to healthcare, and you may wish to search within them as well.

Subject-Specific Databases

Multidisciplinary Databases

There are a variety of visual resources which provide life-sciences images, diagrams and photographs.

Visible Body (Human Anatomy Atlas)
An online, interactive textbook of human anatomy. Note: Please see below for a pdf file containing instructions on how to access this resource.

Instructions on how to access Visible Body
Please see these instructions for a step-by-step guide to accessing the Visible Body.

Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy
An interactive video guide to human anatomy. Note: Please see below for a pdf file containing instructions on how to access this resource.

Instructions on how to access Acland's Video Anatomy
Please see these instructions for a step-by-step guide to accessing Acland's Video Anatomy.

There are a wide range of free resources available on the web to find images related to life-science, molecular biology and public health. Links to some useful resources are given below.

MedPix
A freely accessible image database of medical images provided by the National Library of Medicine and National Institute of Health in the US.
Public Health Image Library
A wide selection of modern and historical images relating to public health from the CDC (Center for Disease Control) in the US.
Whole Brain Atlas
A resource from Harvard University providing detailed images and scans of brain anatomy and structure.
3D Atlas of Human Embryology
A resource from the University of Amsterdam providing a selection of detailed 3D images covering human embryo development. These can be downloaded as special PDF files containing 3D content allowing diagrams and images to be moved and rotated on screen.

Occupational Therapy: Subject databases