Pre-hospital Emergency Care: Subject databases
Useful Resources
EBSCO databases
Databases on the EBSCO platform can be searched simultaneously for a scoping search. But for a systematic search you need to use each database separately because the indexing / subject headings can vary between databases.
To search more than one database at a time go into any EBSCO database and select 'Choose databases' and select the databases you would like to search.
I recommend always searching in Academic Search Complete, CINAHL, and Medline. You can choose any other relevant ones from the list below depending on your specific topic.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete (ASC), designed specifically for academic institutions, is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
- AMED Allied and complementary medicine databases This link opens in a new window Provides an alternative medicine database for physicians, therapists, medical researchers and clinicians looking to learn more about alternative treatments - including complementary medicine, physiotherapy, occupational therapy, rehabilitation, podiatry, palliative care, and more. AMED contains basic bibliographic records (abstracts are also included for many records dated 1995 onward) for relevant articles from over 500 journals, with the scope of coverage being mainly European. Many of the journals included in AMED are not indexed by other biomedical sources. AMED is produced by the Health Care Information Service of the British Library.
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window Gain access to informative health literature with CINAHL, the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, this database covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines, and contains: Indexing for over 1,200 nursing journals and publications dating back to 1982. Over 250,000 records. Abstracts for over 250 journals, including over 450 author-supplied abstracts. ##Indexing for journals, books and book chapters, dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, pamphlets, educational software packages and audiovisual material. Internal subject thesaurus with over 7,000 terms—2,000 unique to CINAHL.
- Medline This link opens in a new window Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, PubMed is a freely available version of MEDLINE which includes additional life sciences journals. It also provides integrated molecular biology databases. PubMed contains over 14 million references and includes some links to full-text articles.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window PsycINFO database, with over 1.7 million records, is the comprehensive international database of psychology. It covers the academic, research and practice literature in psychology from over 45 countries in more than 30 languages. PsycINFO includes relevant materials from related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, law, criminology, social science, and organizational behavior.
- PsycArticles This link opens in a new window APA PsycArticles, from the American Psychological Association (APA), provides full-text access to almost 80 journals published by American Psychological Association and other publishers in subject areas such as applied psychology, health, theory, research, social/personality, and more. It covers the period 1894 to present.
- Education Source This link opens in a new window Education Source is a leading full-text research database designed for education students, researchers and policymakers. Coverage spans all levels of education and includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
ScienceDirect & Scopus
Scopus indexes articles from thousands of journals in the sciences and social sciences, including conference proceedings. Scopus provides useful search tools and citation searching tools.
Searching Scopus retrieves articles from both Science Direct & Scopus at the same time. But searching Science Direct only searches the latter alone. So Scopus is better for retrieving the greatest number of articles.
ScienceDirect provides full-text searching and access to thousands of journal articles and books. Be aware that search functionality in ScienceDirect is more limited than some databases and you can only search up to 8 keyword terms at once.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new window Scopus is a comprehensive scientific, medical, technical and social science database containing all relevant literature.
Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making and is used mainly in nursing.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR), Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA), NHS Economic Evaluation Database (EED), and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups: About The Cochrane Collaboration.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR), Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA), NHS Economic Evaluation Database (EED), and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups: About The Cochrane Collaboration.
PubMed
PubMed is freely available online. The main component of PubMed is Medline. It also includes content from PubMed Central which consists of some scholarly published articles; also articles which were peer-reviewed but not published, and some articles which were published but have NOT been peer-reviewed. So there is more content, but you need to check whether the article you have found was published / peer-reviewed.
- Pubmed This link opens in a new window PubMed comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
We have thousands of e-books available. You can find and access e-books using Locate. Some particularly useful e-book collections are highlighted below.
- Springer Protocols This link opens in a new window
- SAGE Research MethodsSAGE Research Methods supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process.
There are a number of resources you can use to find dissertations and theses from Coventry University and other national and international universities. Please note that the library does not hold copies of undergraduate or taught Masters dissertations.
- ProQuest dissertations & theses: UK and Ireland This link opens in a new window
- EThOS (British Library Theses) This link opens in a new window
- Dart EuropeDart Europe helps you search and access theses produced a wide range of European Universities.
- NDLTD - Networked Digital Library of Theses and DissertationsNDLTD is a free service which allows you to see across thousands of theses produced at institutions around the world.
- Coventry University ThesesYou can find theses produced at Coventry through our online institutional repository - PURE.
There are a variety of visual resources which provide life-sciences images, diagrams and photographs.
- Visible Body (Human Anatomy Atlas)An online, interactive textbook of human anatomy. Note: Please see below for a pdf file containing instructions on how to access this resource.
- Instructions on how to access Visible BodyPlease see these instructions for a step-by-step guide to accessing the Visible Body.
There are a wide range of free resources available on the web to find images related to life-science, molecular biology and public health. Links to some useful resources are given below.
- MedPixA freely accessible image database of medical images provided by the National Library of Medicine and National Institute of Health in the US.
- Public Health Image LibraryA wide selection of modern and historical images relating to public health from the CDC (Center for Disease Control) in the US.
- Whole Brain AtlasA resource from Harvard University providing detailed images and scans of brain anatomy and structure.
- 3D Atlas of Human EmbryologyA resource from the University of Amsterdam providing a selection of detailed 3D images covering human embryo development. These can be downloaded as special PDF files containing 3D content allowing diagrams and images to be moved and rotated on screen.
Some useful resources for systematic reviews are given below. More information and resources can be found on our Systematic Review LibGuide
- Cochrane HandbookThe Cochrane handbook provides extensive information and guidance on conducting systematic reviews.
- Preferred Reporting Items for Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analyses (PRISMA)PRISMA is an evidence-based minimum set of items for reporting in systematic reviews and meta-analyses. Useful tools provided by PRISMA include the PRISMA flow diagram which can help guide the process of screening research for a systematic review.
- Critical Appraisal Skills Program (CASP)The CASP checklists provide you with a tool for the critical appraisal of several types of clinical and epidemiological study designs.
- Meta analysis Resources from SigmaSigma have provided an introductory workshop and accompanying exercises on conducting a meta analysis.
Coventry University
Frederick Lanchester Building
Gosford Street
Coventry, United Kingdom
CV1 5DD
Telephone:+44 (0) 24 7765 7575
Email: ask-a-librarian.lib@coventry.ac.uk
