Annotated Bibliography_CUS: Home

Annotated Bibliography

An annotated bibliography is a list of references of current research on a specific topic. For each reference on the list, you will provide a summary of what it is about, it will be presented from an analytical perspective. 

Structure of an Annotated Bibliography

Each entry of an annotated bibliography should follow a basic structure as below. 

1. Citation

2. Introduction

3. A summary of key points

4. An evaluation/ description

5. A conclusion

Creating an Annotated Bibliography

An annotated bibliography must have the following elements:

• Description
• Analysis
• Evaluation

Description

Briefly describe the source you are annotating. Consider the following questions:

• Who created the source and when?
• What is the subject of the text? What key information does the text include? Is information been left out?
• What is the purpose of the text? Identify the main argument.
• Identify key concepts/ themes and subjects
• What are the final conclusions of the text?

Analysis

• Why was the source produced and in what context? (educational, propaganda, socio-cultural, industrial, political)

• Who was it written for?

• How does it relate and connect to other sources written on the same subject?

• Do you agree or disagree with the arguments and conclusions in the text?

• Has the text built upon your current understanding and knowledge on the subject?

• Does the text require you to do further reading & research?

Evaluation

You should be clear about your evaluation and provide an explanation of your reasonings to each question. 

• Can this source be trusted? Is it reliable?
• Identify the strengths and weaknesses of the source and why?
• How relevant is the source to your subject area?

Examples of Annotated Bibliographies 

The Purpose of an Annotated Bibliography

The purpose of writing an Annotated Bibliography:

• To demonstrate your ability to research and source academic sources and literature
• To prepare for a major project or dissertation
• To demonstrate your ability to identify & analyse key information
• To learn in detail about a particular topic