Centre for Business in Society (CBiS): Key Information Resources
Locate
Locate is the library's online catalogue and a reliable route to all of our paid-for journals and books. It is a useful starting point for scoping out a research topic. More information on how to search Locate effectively can be found in the Locate Help Guide. The Key Resources box below highlights other paid-for or freely available sources that will be useful to you when interrogating a topic in detail.
Key Resources
- ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new windowThe database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
- ASSIA Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts This link opens in a new windowASSIA is a bibliographic database with abstracts and citations of articles from over 650 sociology and psychology journals. Covers the applied social sciences and is particularly useful for social issues, social problems, health care, politics, economics, employment, gender issues, education and ethnicity.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Complete (BSC) is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. This in addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals.
- Emerald Insight This link opens in a new windowJournals, books and case studies - a library of real world research at your fingertips
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowDrawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE is a relevant information resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet. GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports and contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles.
- Materials Science & Engineering Collection This link opens in a new windowA full text database from ProQuest combining the Engineering Collection and Materials Science Collection. The Engineering Collection covers multiple engineering disciplines and industries. The Materials Science Collection covers materials and materials-related concepts. Materials include scholarly journals, trade and industry titles, conference proceedings, dissertations, technical reports, and other sources of grey literature. Coverage starts from 1965.
Multidisciplinary Databases:
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- Sage Premier This link opens in a new window
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new window
- ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new windowThe database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
- ASSIA Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts This link opens in a new windowASSIA is a bibliographic database with abstracts and citations of articles from over 650 sociology and psychology journals. Covers the applied social sciences and is particularly useful for social issues, social problems, health care, politics, economics, employment, gender issues, education and ethnicity.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Complete (BSC) is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. This in addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals.
- Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
- FAME (Financial Analysis Made Easy) This link opens in a new windowFAME is the definitive source of company information in the UK and Ireland.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowDrawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE is a relevant information resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet. GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports and contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles.
Multidisciplinary Databases:
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- Sage Premier This link opens in a new window
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new window
- ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new windowThe database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
- ASSIA Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts This link opens in a new windowASSIA is a bibliographic database with abstracts and citations of articles from over 650 sociology and psychology journals. Covers the applied social sciences and is particularly useful for social issues, social problems, health care, politics, economics, employment, gender issues, education and ethnicity.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Complete (BSC) is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. This in addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals.
- Emerald Insight This link opens in a new windowJournals, books and case studies - a library of real world research at your fingertips
- FAME (Financial Analysis Made Easy) This link opens in a new windowFame is the definitive source of company information in the UK and Ireland
Multidisciplinary Databases:
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- Sage Premier This link opens in a new window
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new window
- ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new windowThe database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
- ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new windowThe ACM Digital Library is a vast collection of citations and full text from ACM journal and newsletter articles and conference proceedings and includes the full text of every article ever published by ACM.
- ASSIA Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts This link opens in a new windowASSIA is a bibliographic database with abstracts and citations of articles from over 650 sociology and psychology journals. Covers the applied social sciences and is particularly useful for social issues, social problems, health care, politics, economics, employment, gender issues, education and ethnicity.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Complete (BSC) is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. This in addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowCMMC incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth in the communication and mass media fields.
- Emerald Insight This link opens in a new windowJournals, books and case studies - a library of real world research at your fingertips
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowThe IEEE Xplore digital library is a powerful resource for discovery of and access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. IEEE Xplore provides web access to more than three-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics. More than two-million documents are in robust, dynamic HTML format.
- LISTA: Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new windowLibrary, Information Science & Technology Abstract (LISTA) indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
- Materials Science & Engineering Collection This link opens in a new windowA full text database from ProQuest combining the Engineering Collection and Materials Science Collection. The Engineering Collection covers multiple engineering disciplines and industries. The Materials Science Collection covers materials and materials-related concepts. Materials include scholarly journals, trade and industry titles, conference proceedings, dissertations, technical reports, and other sources of grey literature. Coverage starts from 1965.
Multidisciplinary Databases:
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- Sage Premier This link opens in a new window
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new window
Market research reports are usually produced by companies such as Mintel, Euromonitor or Marketline. They either conduct their own research or will gather information conducted by another research organization.
Information contained in these reports include; market trends, consumer information, purchasing habits, market size, performance and forecast, brands and advertising.
Reports will usually be focused on a market sector or product, e.g. clothing retail or home entertainment. However, reports are often produced about trends, e.g. healthy eating or specific consumers, e.g. millennials.
Many of these sources also provide information about companies.
- ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
- Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- FAME (Financial Analysis Made Easy) This link opens in a new window
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
- Mintel This link opens in a new window
- Passport Euromonitor (GMID) This link opens in a new window
- Companies HouseYou can obtain documents from the annual reports that companies have submitted to Companies House.
Newspapers and other news can be a good source of information about companies. You can find news in the sources below.
- ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- Financial TimesThis is not contained within the database Lexis Library, but can be found using the Books, Journals and Media tab on Locate. You will also have access to FT.com via Moodle, where the link to register is provided.
- Lexis+ This link opens in a new window
News
- Lexis+ This link opens in a new window
- Financial Times This link opens in a new windowThe Financial Times is one of the world’s leading news organisations, recognised internationally for its authority, integrity and accuracy. It is part of Nikkei Inc., which provides a broad range of information, news and services for the global business community.
- ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Media
- Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new window
- Planet eStream This link opens in a new window
Here are some good sources you can use to find statistics
- Passport Euromonitor (GMID) This link opens in a new window
- Statista This link opens in a new window
- EurostatContains official statistics from EU countries including those relating to economy and finance, population, industry and trade and regions.
- IMF DataThe IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Manuals, guides, and other material on statistical practices at the IMF, in member countries, and of the statistical community at large are also available.
- OECD FactbookContains a wide range of key statistics for its member countries and major additional countries.
- Office for National StatisticsThe official site for UK statistics. It covers the economy, business and trade, employment and population.
- UK Data ServiceBrings together a wide variety of statistical data from trusted sources.
- United Nations Data SetsStatistics produced by the United Nations.
- World Bank - World Development IndicatorsThe primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.
You can use these sources to find case studies.
Many journal articles are case studies. To find them, enter 'case study' in the search box as one of your key words. You can find journal articles on ABI Inform Complete, Business Source Complete and Emerald.
- ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
- Times 100 Case StudiesThis easy to use free website contains case studies in a range of business subjects.
Sources of financial information
- FAME (Financial Analysis Made Easy) This link opens in a new window
- Financial Times This link opens in a new windowThe Financial Times is one of the world’s leading news organisations, recognised internationally for its authority, integrity and accuracy. It is part of Nikkei Inc., which provides a broad range of information, news and services for the global business community.
- Passport Euromonitor (GMID) This link opens in a new window
Datastream, Fitch Connect and Bloomberg are available on the Business School Trading Floor, which is located on the ground floor of the William Morris Building.
A selection of useful business websites.