Centre for Global Learning: Education and Attainment: Subject Resources
Subject Resources
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowERIC is an online digital library of education research and information. ERIC is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC provides ready access to education literature to support the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research.
- SAGE Research MethodsSAGE Research Methods supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowScience Direct is includes both journal articles, and book chapters and encyclopedia articles, which would be good quality academic sources for background information and introductions to topics and concepts.
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new windowScopus is an abstract and citation database. You can use it to search for specific authors to see everything they have published. It also has a citation tracking feature, meaning if you find an article you can find sources published since that one where it is cited in them.
The databases listed below are all part of the same publishing platform, EBSCO, so you can actually search across them all at once, which saves time and makes your searching more efficient. Open one of them and then above the search bars select 'choose databases' and select all relevant databases.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowThis database covers a lot of subject fields and would be useful to search in for any topic.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowAlthough this covers a lot of company information, it is really good for anything to do with what goes on in the workplace, including the education industry, or within a particular profession.
- Education Source This link opens in a new windowCoverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing. It is designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowPsycINFO database, with over 1.7 million records, is the comprehensive international database of psychology. It covers the academic, research and practice literature in psychology from over 45 countries in more than 30 languages. PsycINFO includes relevant materials from related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, law, criminology, social science, and organizational behavior.
The databases listed below are all subject specific collections with the Proquest database platform, so again you can search across multiple collections at once. Open one of them and then above the search bars select 'change databases' and select all relevant databases. I have just included some of the key collections below, but depending on your specific search topic you may want to select more than the ones listed below.
When using the ProQuest databases change the box at the end of each search bar from 'Anywhere' to 'Anywhere except full text'. This will ensure that your keywords are found in the title, abstract, or keyword tags and will improve the relevancy of your results.
- ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new windowA business database which is useful for articles about the various education sectors.
- ASSIA Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts This link opens in a new windowASSIA is a bibliographic database with abstracts and citations of articles from over 650 sociology and psychology journals. Covers the applied social sciences and is particularly useful for social issues, social problems, health care, politics, economics, employment, gender issues, education and ethnicity.
- Career & Technical Education Database This link opens in a new windowThe definitive source for vocational information and career search resources.
- Education Database This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and indexing of over 900 education journals, many in full-text.
- LGBT Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowArchival runs of 26 of the most influential, longest-running serial publications covering LGBT interests. Some publications may contain explicit content.
- Psychology Database This link opens in a new windowPsychology theory and practice - journal articles.
- Emerald Insight This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database with access to journals, books and case studies.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database of books, articles, and primary sources.
- Sage Premier This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database with a large focus on humanities and social sciences, as well as technology.
- Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new windowBox of Broadcasts is a on demand TV and radio service for education. It allows staff and students at subscribing institutions to record programmes from over 65 free-to-air channels, and search an extensive archive.
- EThOS (British Library Theses) This link opens in a new windowBased at the British Library, EThOS allows you to view records for all theses (PhD & Masters level) produced at UK HE institutions and many of these are now available to download online. You need to register first to do this and it is free of charge.
- Lexis+ This link opens in a new windowLexis+ is a newspaper and legal database. British national and many local daily & Sunday newspapers are in full text. Access to full text legal information is also included: UK and international cases and legislation with links to full-text journal articles, where the law journal is included in the Lexis+ database. It is an excellent resource for locating full-text United States cases and legislation and numerous full-text US legal journals. Full text EU law is also available.
- ERIC
ERIC is an online library of education research and information, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education.
- Times Higher Education
The University now has an institutional subscription to THE. Register using your Coventry email address.
- UK Data Service
The UK Data Service is funded by the Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC) to meet the data needs of researchers, students and teachers from all sectors, including academia, central and local government, charities and foundations, independent research centres, think tanks, and business consultants and the commercial sector.
The UK Data Service collection includes major UK government-sponsored surveys, cross-national surveys, longitudinal studies, UK census data, international aggregate, business data, and qualitative data.
- A Connected Curriculum for Higher Education
An Open Access PDF of a new book by Dilly Fung, Professor of Higher Education Development and Academic Director of the Arena Centre for Research-Based Education at UCL. - Essential study hacks
A free study skills book from Sage - Graham Gibbs, Learning by Doing
Freely available to download:
Learning by Doing, A Guide to Teaching and Learning Methods
by Graham Gibbs (1988) and is reproduced with his permission
by the Oxford Centre for Staff and Learning Development, Oxford
Brookes University, Wheatley Campus, Wheatley, Oxford, UK,
OX33 1HX - Journal of Learning and Teaching in Higher Education
Open Access journal published by the University of Leicester - Shaping Higher Education with Students: Ways to Connect Research and Teaching
Open Access book from UCL. Free to download.
