Centre for Agroecology, Water and Resilience: Key Information Resources
Locate
Locate is the library's online catalogue and a reliable route to all of our paid-for journals and books. It is a useful starting point for scoping out a research topic. More information on how to search Locate effectively can be found here. The Key Resources box below highlights other paid-for or freely available sources that will be useful to you when interrogating a topic in detail.
Key Resources
Using a database is the best way to find journal articles. The following databases are recommended to search for journal articles.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- ASSIA Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
- Sage Premier This link opens in a new window
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new window
News
- Lexis+ This link opens in a new window
- Financial Times This link opens in a new window
- ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Media
- Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new window
- Planet eStream This link opens in a new window
Resources for map and spatial data.
- Digimap This link opens in a new windowDigimap is an EDINA service that delivers maps and map data of Great Britain to UK tertiary education. Data is available either to download to use with appropriate application software such as GIS or CAD, or as maps generated by Digimap online.
- Landmap This link opens in a new windowThe Landmap Service provides UK academia with a high quality spatial data download service which is enhanced and supported by a range of learning materials.
- OpenGeoscienceBGS has a wide range of datasets and wants to increase access to these by publishing as many as possible under OpenGeoscience. OpenGeoscience is a free service where you can view maps, download data, scans, photos and other information.
Here are some good sources you can use to find statistics
- Passport Euromonitor (GMID) This link opens in a new window
- Statista This link opens in a new window
- AQUASTATAQUASTAT is the FAO global information system on water resources and agricultural water management. It collects, analyses and provides free access to over 180 variables and indicators by country from 1960. AQUASTAT draws on national capacities and expertise with an emphasis on Africa, the Near East, countries of the former Soviet Union, Asia, and Latin America and the Caribbean.
- EurostatContains official statistics from EU countries including those relating to economy and finance, population, industry and trade and regions.
- FAOSTATFAOSTAT provides free access to food and agriculture data for over 245 countries and territories and covers all FAO regional groupings
from 1961 to the most recent year available. - IMF DataThe IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Manuals, guides, and other material on statistical practices at the IMF, in member countries, and of the statistical community at large are also available.
- OECD FactbookContains a wide range of key statistics for its member countries and major additional countries.
- Office for National StatisticsThe official site for UK statistics. It covers the economy, business and trade, employment and population.
- UK Data ServiceBrings together a wide variety of statistical data from trusted sources.
- United Nations Data SetsStatistics produced by the United Nations.
- World Bank - World Development IndicatorsThe primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.
A selection of useful websites.