Centre for Trust Peace and Social Relations (CTPSR): Key Information Resources
Locate
Locate is the library's online catalogue and a reliable route to all of our paid-for journals and books. It is a useful starting point for scoping out a research topic. More information on how to search Locate effectively can be found here. The Key Resources box below highlights other paid-for or freely available sources that will be useful to you when interrogating a topic in detail.
Key Resources
Grey Literature includes (but is not limited to) technical and research reports, doctoral dissertations, conference papers, working papers, white papers, some official publications and in-house reports.
- BASE - Bielefeld Academic Search EngineBASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic open access web resources. BASE provides more than 60 million documents from more than 3,000 sources.
- NDLTD - The Networked Digital Library of Theses and DissertationsA free service to help researchers find electronic theses and dissertations around the world
Using a database is the best way to find journal articles. If you would like help and advice on planning a database search (including finding the best keywords, using boolean logic, truncation and other techniques, field searching, systematic literature reviews etc. please contact your Subject Librarian). The following databases are recommended to search for journal articles in the areas of trust, peace, social relations, politics and international relations.
Trust Peace and Social Relations Databases
- CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- ASSIA Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- Sage Premier This link opens in a new window
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new window
News
- Lexis+ This link opens in a new window
- International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Media
- Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new window
- Planet eStream This link opens in a new window
Here are some good sources you can use to find statistics
- Statista This link opens in a new window
- EurostatContains official statistics from EU countries including those relating to economy and finance, population, industry and trade and regions.
- IMF DataThe IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Manuals, guides, and other material on statistical practices at the IMF, in member countries, and of the statistical community at large are also available.
- OECD FactbookContains a wide range of key statistics for its member countries and major additional countries.
- Office for National StatisticsThe official site for UK statistics. It covers the economy, business and trade, employment and population.
- UK Data ServiceBrings together a wide variety of statistical data from trusted sources.
- United Nations Data SetsStatistics produced by the United Nations.
- World Bank - World Development IndicatorsThe primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.