International Centre for Transformational Entrepreneurship (ICTE): Key Information Resources
Locate
Locate is the library's online catalogue and a reliable route to all of our paid-for journals and books. It is a useful starting point for scoping out a research topic. For more information on how to search Locate effectively consult the Locate Help Guide. The Key Resources box below highlights other paid-for or freely available sources that will be useful to you when interrogating a topic in detail.
Key Resources
Using a database is the best way to find journal articles. The following databases are recommended to search for journal articles.
Business Databases
- ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary Databases
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new window
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- ASSIA Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- Sage Premier This link opens in a new window
Databases with an international focus
- Asian & European Business Collection This link opens in a new window
- Accounting, Tax and Banking Collection This link opens in a new window
- CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
Company information can be found from a number of sources
- FAME (Financial Analysis Made Easy) This link opens in a new window
- Companies HouseYou can obtain documents from the annual reports that companies have submitted to Companies House.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
- Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
- Mintel This link opens in a new window
- Passport Euromonitor (GMID) This link opens in a new window
Newspapers and other news resources can be a good source of information about companies. You can find news sources on the News and Media tab.
Market research reports are usually produced by companies such as Mintel, Euromonitor or Marketline. They either conduct their own research or will gather information conducted by another research organization. Information contained in these reports include; market trends, consumer information, purchasing habits, market size, performance and forecast, brands and advertising. Market research reports can be found using the following databases;
- Mintel This link opens in a new window
- Passport Euromonitor (GMID) This link opens in a new window
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new window IBISWorld contains market research reports and industry ratings from UK and China. It also has industry Brexit Impact statements. This database covers a wide variety of industry sectors including, construction, energy, manufacturing, finance, wholesale and retail.
- Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
- ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- Statista This link opens in a new window
- IBISWorld Media CentreIBISWorld reports about topical issues.
Sources of financial information
- FAME (Financial Analysis Made Easy) This link opens in a new window
- Financial Times This link opens in a new windowThe Financial Times is one of the world’s leading news organisations, recognised internationally for its authority, integrity and accuracy. It is part of Nikkei Inc., which provides a broad range of information, news and services for the global business community.
- Passport Euromonitor (GMID) This link opens in a new window
Datastream, Fitch Connect and Bloomberg are available on the Business School Trading Floor, which is located on the ground floor of the William Morris Building.
News
- Lexis+ This link opens in a new window
- Financial Times This link opens in a new window
- ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Here are some good sources you can use to find statistics
- Statista This link opens in a new window
- Office for National StatisticsThe official site for UK statistics. It covers the economy, business and trade, employment and population.
- UK Data ServiceBrings together a wide variety of statistical data from trusted sources.
- EurostatContains official statistics from EU countries including those relating to economy and finance, population, industry and trade and regions.
- IMF DataThe IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Manuals, guides, and other material on statistical practices at the IMF, in member countries, and of the statistical community at large are also available.
- OECD FactbookContains a wide range of key statistics for its member countries and major additional countries.
- United Nations Data SetsStatistics produced by the United Nations.
- World Bank - World Development IndicatorsThe primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.
A selection of useful business websites.