Coventry University Wroclaw: Applied Biosciences
Resources
A database of reproducible laboratory protocols and methods in the life and biomedical sciences offering researchers access to nearly thirty years worth of time tested, easily reproducible, step-by-step protocols for immediate use in their lab. Includes protocols from the Humana Press series, Methods in molecular biology, Methods in molecular medicine, Methods in biotechnology, Methods in pharmacology and toxicology, and Neuromethods, as well as from a vast number of laboratory handbooks, such as the Biomethods handbook, the Proteomics handbook, and the Springer laboratory manuals.
SAGE Research Methods supports researchers at all levels by providing material for every step of the research process. The resource has books, reference works, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including a large collection of qualitative methods books.. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method. --- adapted from website information.
There are a variety of visual resources which provide life-sciences images, diagrams and photographs.
- Visible Body (Human Anatomy Atlas)
An online, interactive textbook of human anatomy. Note: Please see below for a pdf file containing instructions on how to access this resource.
- Instructions on how to access Visible Body
Please see these instructions for a step-by-step guide to accessing the Visible Body.
- Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy
An interactive video guide to human anatomy. Note: Please see below for a pdf file containing instructions on how to access this resource.
- Instructions on how to access Acland's Video Anatomy
Please see these instructions for a step-by-step guide to accessing Acland's Video Anatomy.
There are a wide range of free resources available on the web to find images related to life-science, molecular biology and public health. Links to some useful resources are given below.
- MedPix
A freely accessible image database of medical images provided by the National Library of Medicine and National Institute of Health in the US.
- Public Health Image Library
A wide selection of modern and historical images relating to public health from the CDC (Center for Disease Control) in the US.
- Whole Brain Atlas
A resource from Harvard University providing detailed images and scans of brain anatomy and structure.
- 3D Atlas of Human Embryology
A resource from the University of Amsterdam providing a selection of detailed 3D images covering human embryo development. These can be downloaded as special PDF files containing 3D content allowing diagrams and images to be moved and rotated on screen.
Useful Websites
- Bitesize Bio
Is an online magazine and community for molecular and cell biology researchers.
Includes technical tips, advice, news and more... - Protocols.io
A free, crowd sourced protocol repository for the life sciences.
- Openwetware
Shares information with those working in biology & biological engineering.
- Lab Tests Online
Lab Tests Online-UK is written by practising laboratory doctors and scientists to help you understand the many clinical laboratory tests that are used in diagnosis, monitoring and treatment of disease. It is produced by the Association for Clinical Biochemistry and Laboratory Medicine in collaboration with the AACC and support from the Royal College of Pathologists and the Institute of Biomedical Science. Lab Tests Online-UK was established in 2003 with the aid of a grant from the Health Foundation and was financially supported by the Department of Health. It is currently funded by the Association for Clinical Biochemistry and Laboratory Medicine, the Royal College of Pathologists and the Institute of Biomedical Science.
- BioRxiv - The Preprint Server for Biology
Provides access to pre-print versions of research articles. Useful for finding cutting edge research, but be aware that articles may be in a draft/non-peer reviewed form.
- MedRxiv - The Pre-print Server for Health Sciences
Provides access to pre-print versions of research articles. Useful for finding cutting edge research, but be aware that articles may be in a draft/non-peer reviewed form.
Professional Bodies
- IBMS - Institute of Biomedical Sciences
The Institute of Biomedical Science (IBMS) is the leading professional body for scientists, support staff and students in the field of biomedical science.
- Royal Society of Biology
Supports the development of biology in education, government policy and society.
Quick links
|
Locate is the Library's catalogue. All of the library's electronic books, journals and articles can be accessed here. It can also be used to find print books in the Library. |
|
Access to more than 7,000 of the world’s top newspapers and magazines.. |
|
Academic Writing Support Guides
Fill this form out if you would like to share your recommended books that could be added to our library collection. We would appreciate if you could double check if the book can be found in the catalogue before you make a recommendation as it might have already been added. |
