Centre for E-Mobility and Clean Growth: Key Information Resources
Locate
Locate is the library's online catalogue and a reliable route to all of our paid-for journals and books. It is a useful starting point for scoping out a research topic. The Industrial Design and Engineering boxes on this page contain links to other resources that will be useful for your research.
Industrial Design Resources
- Core77 - Industrial Design MagazinePublishes articles, discussion forums, an extensive event calendar, hosts portfolios, job listings, a database of design firms, schools, vendors and services. Core77 provides a gathering point for designers.
- Dezeen - Architecture & Design MagazineOnline magazine with design news, jobs and comment
Consumer Market Research Reports
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- Mintel This link opens in a new window
- Passport Euromonitor (GMID) This link opens in a new window
Industry Market Reports
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new window IBISWorld contains market research reports and industry ratings from UK and China. It also has industry Brexit Impact statements. This database covers a wide variety of industry sectors including, construction, energy, manufacturing, finance, wholesale and retail.
Statistics
- Google for statistics1. Do a general keyword search first.
2. Search again with your keywords using filetype:pdf to bring up official reports uploaded by companies/organisations on their website. - Office for National StatisticsUK Government stats website
- Society of Motor Manufacturers & TradersLook under Vehicle Data for statistics about vehicle registrations
- Statista This link opens in a new window
- Google for company reports / annual reportsUse Google to find annual reports of major companies, especially public limited companies (PLCs). Smaller companies are only required to put in corporate account information to Companies House.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- Kompass Trade DirectoryInternational searchable listing of companies and the services/products they provide
- Mintel This link opens in a new window
Standards
- ASTM International Standards & Engineering Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- British Standards Online This link opens in a new window
Patents
- Espacenet This link opens in a new window
Useful websites
- Legislation.gov.ukOfficial site for UK legislation
- EU Vehicle LegislationOfficial site for EU vehicle legislation
- Road vehicles construction & use regulations 1986The main legal statute governing road vehicle building in the UK
- Vehicle manufacturing and modificationThe law on converting or making modifications to vehicles, vehicle manufacturing classification.
- Vehicle Safety StandardsGuidance on the required standards for vehicle safety, construction and use.
Useful websites
- The General Product Safety Regulations 2005Main UK law governing product safety
- Intellectual Property OfficeInformation about design rights
- Product Liability & Safety LawPeople producing consumer goods must adhere to product safety laws or face legal action with possible fines or even imprisonment.
- Product safety for manufacturersTechnical and legal requirements for safety, design, packaging and insurance, to ensure products are safe and fit for purpose.
- SAE Mobilus This link opens in a new window
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new window
General resources
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- Lexis+ This link opens in a new window
Design & Interiors
- Car Design News This link opens in a new window
- DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new window
Business/Company Info
- ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Market Reports & Statistics
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new window IBISWorld contains market research reports and industry ratings from UK and China. It also has industry Brexit Impact statements. This database covers a wide variety of industry sectors including, construction, energy, manufacturing, finance, wholesale and retail.
- Mintel This link opens in a new window
- Passport Euromonitor (GMID) This link opens in a new window
- Statista This link opens in a new window
Patents & Standards
- ASTM International Standards & Engineering Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- British Standards Online This link opens in a new window
- Espacenet This link opens in a new window
Psychology & Social Sciences
- Psychology Database This link opens in a new window
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new window
Transport Science/Technology
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
- Materials Science & Engineering Collection This link opens in a new window
- SAE Mobilus This link opens in a new window
Ergonomics
- Sage Premier This link opens in a new window
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new window
Engineering Resources
- ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- ASTM International Standards & Engineering Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- British Standards Online This link opens in a new window
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- DieselNet This link opens in a new window
- Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
- EThOS (British Library Theses) This link opens in a new window
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
- ICAO Docs. This link opens in a new window
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
- Institute of Physics Archive This link opens in a new window
- Materials Science & Engineering Collection This link opens in a new window
- OnePetro This link opens in a new window
- ProQuest dissertations & theses: UK and Ireland This link opens in a new window
- SAE Mobilus This link opens in a new window
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new window
- Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new window
- Planet eStream This link opens in a new window
- Lexis+ This link opens in a new window
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new window