Coventry University Wroclaw Library - Subject Guides: Business Management and Leadership
Resources for Business Management and Leadership
The following library and resources will help you to find information relevant to your course. To learn how to use them effectively, you can watch the following video.
Resources
-
ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete (ASC), designed specifically for academic institutions, is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
-
Alexander Street Press Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window Academic Video Online is a comprehensive video database, covering a wide range of subject areas. It contains over 62,000 titles including more than 17,000 that are exclusive to Alexander Street Press.
-
Asian & European Business Collection This link opens in a new window This database provides information pertinent to the study of business and finance topics across Asia and Europe, including academic journals, newspapers, newswires, and magazines.
-
ASSIA Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts This link opens in a new window ASSIA is a bibliographic database with abstracts and citations of articles from over 650 sociology and psychology journals. Covers the applied social sciences and is particularly useful for social issues, social problems, health care, politics, economics, employment, gender issues, education and ethnicity.
-
Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window This database contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots.
-
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Business Source Complete (BSC) is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. This in addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals.
-
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window Journals, books and case studies - a library of real world research at your fingertips
-
FAME (Financial Analysis Made Easy) This link opens in a new window
-
Financial Times This link opens in a new window The Financial Times is one of the world’s leading news organisations, recognised internationally for its authority, integrity and accuracy. It is part of Nikkei Inc., which provides a broad range of information, news and services for the global business community.
-
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window Global Issues in Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues. Each of these gateway pages includes an overview, unique "perspectives" articles written by local experts, reference, periodical, primary source and statistical information. Rich multimedia - including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs - enhance each portal. Use Browse Issues and Topics, Country Finder, Basic Search or Advanced Search to explore the database.
-
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window IBISWorld contains market research reports and industry ratings from UK and China. It also has industry Brexit Impact statements. This database covers a wide variety of industry sectors including, construction, energy, manufacturing, finance, wholesale and retail.
-
International Newsstream This link opens in a new window International Newsstream provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format
-
Lexis+ This link opens in a new window Lexis+ is a newspaper and legal database. British national and many local daily & Sunday newspapers are in full text. Access to full text legal information is also included: UK and international cases and legislation with links to full-text journal articles, where the law journal is included in the Lexis+ database. It is an excellent resource for locating full-text United States cases and legislation and numerous full-text US legal journals. Full text EU law is also available.
-
Mintel This link opens in a new window Consists of the full text of Mintel market research reports. Our subscription comprises the full subscription to:- Market intelligence, Leisure intelligence, Retail intelligence and Personal finance intelligence: also the News service and "library" (i.e. selected) subscriptions to the Special reports, European reports and Industrial reports. Mintel has an emphasis on consumer markets in the United Kingdom. Staff and students of Coventry University access Online Mintel on the understanding that use is solely for academic purposes. Using information so obtained for commercial purposes is strictly forbidden.
-
Passport Euromonitor (GMID) This link opens in a new window Contains full text market research reports and statistical data. Information includes consumer lifestyles, country information and company and brand data. In particular it contains the full text of Market research Great Britain, Market research Europe, Market research international and Retail monitor international.
-
Planet eStream This link opens in a new window Planet eStream (previously known as Helix Media Library) has over 3000 video and audio items available to view via your computer, laptop, tablet, Android device, iPhone, or iPod Touch.
-
Sage Premier This link opens in a new window SAGE is the world's 5th largest journals publisher. Our portfolio includes more than 1000 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 400 are published on behalf of learned societies and institutions.
-
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.
-
SCOPUS This link opens in a new window Scopus is a comprehensive scientific, medical, technical and social science database containing all relevant literature.
-
Statista This link opens in a new window Find statistics, consumer survey results and industry studies from over 22500 sources on over 60000 topics worldwide
The Library has access to over 5000 academic journals, some of which are shown below.
Journals are published regularly and contain up to date, peer reviewed information.
You can view the journals below, or search for individual journal articles using the databases tab.
Below are some useful websites which may be used to help you with your studies.
If you are researching information online, consider who the author (company or person) of a website is and whether they are a suitably qualified expert.
If you cannot be sure that the website or author is reliable, we do not recommend using it as a source of information.
-
ABI/INFORM CompleteContains industry profiles, company profiles and market reports. These cover global industries including non-consumer areas such as oil and gas.
-
Business Market Research CollectionContains company profiles
-
Business Source CompleteContains industry and market research reports and company profiles.These cover global industries including non-consumer areas such as oil and gas.
-
FAME (Financial Analysis Made Easy)FAME contains financial data taken from a company's annual report, e,g. turnover, balance sheet, profit & loss account. It can also be used to create lists of companies that satisfy certain criteria, e.g. industry sector and location. FAME contains data relating to UK and Irish larger companies.
-
Mintel Intelligence & FulltextA database of marketing research reports produced by Mintel. Included within the reports are profiles of companies that produce consumer goods. The focus is on the UK market, but there are also some reports relating to China.
-
Passport Euromonitor (GMID)Contains market research information including profiles of companies and has global coverage.
-
Companies HouseYou can obtain documents from the annual reports that companies have submitted to Companies House.
-
StatistaContains company information, statistical reports and info-graphics.
-
IBIS WorldBusiness information and market research on thousands of industries worldwide.
-
Passport Euromonitor (GMID)As well as market research reports, Passport Euromonitor contains economic indicators such as GDP, inflation rates, balance of payments, interest rates etc
-
EurostatContains official statistics from EU countries including those relating to economy and finance, population, industry and trade and regions.
-
IMF DataThe IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Manuals, guides, and other material on statistical practices at the IMF, in member countries, and of the statistical community at large are also available.
-
OECD FactbookContains a wide range of key statistics for its member countries and major additional countries.
-
Office for National StatisticsThe official site for UK statistics. It covers the economy, business and trade, employment and population.
-
UK Data ServiceBrings together a wide variety of statistical data from trusted sources.
-
StatistaContains company information, statistical reports and info-graphics.
-
World Bank - World Development IndicatorsThe primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global statistics.
Database Guide
