LibGuides: Dietetics: Subject databases

Useful Resources

EBSCO databases

Databases on the EBSCO platform can be searched simultaneously for a scoping search. But for a systematic search you need to use each database separately because the indexing / subject headings can vary between databases.

To search more than one database at a time go into any EBSCO database and select 'Choose databases' and select the databases you would like to search.

I recommend always searching in Academic Search Complete, CINAHL, and Medline. You can choose any other relevant ones from the list below depending on your specific topic.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database covering broad spectrum of subjects.
AMED Allied and complementary medicine databases This link opens in a new window
Alternative medicine database for physicians, therapists, medical researchers and clinicians looking to learn more about alternative treatments. AMED contains bibliographic records for relevant articles from over 500 journals, with the scope of coverage being mainly European. Many of the journals included in AMED are not indexed by other biomedical sources. AMED is produced by the Health Care Information Service of the British Library.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Covers nursing, biomedicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Medline This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) premier medical research database that contains more than 29 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. A feature of MEDLINE is that the records are indexed with NLM Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) making for a more thorough search.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO is the world's largest psychology databases covering nearly 2,500 journals. Includes materials from related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, law, criminology, social science, and organisational behaviour.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Coverage of approx 120 journals in psychology and related fields.

Proquest Databases

The following databases can also be searched together, choose any of the following links and above the search bar select 'Change Databases' and select the ones you would like to search. The databases highlighted below may prove particularly useful.

ASSIA Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA) is designed to serve the information needs of the caring professions, including practitioners, researchers, and students in healthcare, social services, education, and related areas. It is focused on a core of around 500 of the most relevant English language scholarly journals covering aspects of health and social care from a broadly social scientific perspective.
Consumer Health Database This link opens in a new window
The Consumer Health Database offers international coverage dating back to 1988 of an enormous range of public health subjects, including pandemics, disaster preparedness, and obesity.
Health & Medical Collection This link opens in a new window
The Health & Medical Collection is a comprehensive medical information resource providing full-text journal content, reference ebooks, and evidence-based resources, including dissertations and systematic reviews.
Healthcare Administration Database This link opens in a new window
Provides relevant information on a range of topics, including hospitals, insurance, law, statistics, business management, ethics, and public health administration.
Psychology Database This link opens in a new window
Combines full text from psychology and psychosomatic scholarly journals, with diverse sources of content including dissertations and training videos to help new students bridge theory with practice. It covers a wide range of topics including clinical and social psychology, genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more.

PubMed

PubMed is freely available online. The main component of PubMed is Medline. It also includes content from PubMed Central which consists of some scholarly published articles; also articles which were peer-reviewed but not published, and some articles which were published but have NOT been peer-reviewed. So there is more content, but you need to check whether the article you have found was published / peer-reviewed.

Pubmed This link opens in a new window

ScienceDirect & Scopus

Scopus indexes articles from thousands of journals in the sciences and social sciences, including conference proceedings. Scopus provides useful search tools and citation searching tools.

Searching Scopus retrieves articles from both Science Direct & Scopus at the same time. But searching Science Direct only searches the latter alone. So Scopus is better for retrieving the greatest number of articles.

ScienceDirect provides full-text searching and access to thousands of journal articles and books. Be aware that search functionality in ScienceDirect is more limited than some databases and you can only search up to 8 keyword terms at once.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
SCOPUS This link opens in a new window

Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making and is used mainly in nursing.

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR), Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA), NHS Economic Evaluation Database (EED), and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups: About The Cochrane Collaboration.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window

We have thousands of e-books available. You can find and access e-books using Locate. Some particularly useful e-book collections are highlighted below.

Springer Protocols This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process.

There are a number of resources you can use to find dissertations and theses from Coventry University and other national and international universities. Please note that the library does not hold copies of undergraduate or taught Masters dissertations.

ProQuest dissertations & theses: UK and Ireland This link opens in a new window
UK & Ireland theses
EThOS (British Library Theses) This link opens in a new window
Based at the British Library, EThOS allows you to view records for all theses (PhD & Masters level) produced at UK HE institutions and many of these are now available to download online. You need to register first to do this and it is free of charge.

Dart Europe
Dart Europe helps you search and access theses produced a wide range of European Universities.
NDLTD - Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
NDLTD is a free service which allows you to see across thousands of theses produced at institutions around the world.
Coventry University Theses
You can find theses produced at Coventry through our online institutional repository - PURE.

There are a variety of visual resources which provide life-sciences images, diagrams and photographs.

Visible Body (Human Anatomy Atlas)
An online, interactive textbook of human anatomy. Note: Please see below for a pdf file containing instructions on how to access this resource.

Instructions on how to access Visible Body
Please see these instructions for a step-by-step guide to accessing the Visible Body.

There are a wide range of free resources available on the web to find images related to life-science, molecular biology and public health. Links to some useful resources are given below.

MedPix
A freely accessible image database of medical images provided by the National Library of Medicine and National Institute of Health in the US.
Public Health Image Library
A wide selection of modern and historical images relating to public health from the CDC (Center for Disease Control) in the US.
Whole Brain Atlas
A resource from Harvard University providing detailed images and scans of brain anatomy and structure.
3D Atlas of Human Embryology
A resource from the University of Amsterdam providing a selection of detailed 3D images covering human embryo development. These can be downloaded as special PDF files containing 3D content allowing diagrams and images to be moved and rotated on screen.

Some useful resources for systematic reviews are given below. More information and resources can be found on our Systematic Review LibGuide

Cochrane Handbook
The Cochrane handbook provides extensive information and guidance on conducting systematic reviews.
Preferred Reporting Items for Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analyses (PRISMA)
PRISMA is an evidence-based minimum set of items for reporting in systematic reviews and meta-analyses. Useful tools provided by PRISMA include the PRISMA flow diagram which can help guide the process of screening research for a systematic review.
Critical Appraisal Skills Program (CASP)
The CASP checklists provide you with a tool for the critical appraisal of several types of clinical and epidemiological study designs.
Meta analysis Resources from Sigma
Sigma have provided an introductory workshop and accompanying exercises on conducting a meta analysis.

Professional Bodies

Dietetics: Subject databases