Final Projects & Dissertations: Using Figures, Tables & Images
Advice on finding and using images, videos and audio clips
Multimedia (including images, video and audio files) can be used to enhance and deepen your assignments, including research projects. This page details useful sources to draw content from to enhance research outputs.
Multimedia elements, however, may also be more complex to include in assignments, both technically and legally. Leaving aside technical barriers (speak to an Education Technologist for support with these), the legal restrictions to using other creators' work are typically grouped under the blanket term 'copyright', although 'intellectual property' is perhaps more accurate. Generally, as a student you are able to use others' work (with citation) within an educational context without issue, as there is a clear exemption for educational use. However, students will sometimes develop or share their research outside of these clearly-defined parameters (for example uploading to a repository like ResearchGate). In this circumstance, media created by others will typically need to be individually cleared with copyright holders to ensure it can legally be included in the shared file.
Websites for finding free images
- The John Johnson CollectionThis collection provides access to thousands of items selected from the John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera. The material selected for conservation, cataloguing and digitisation comprises a wide array of different types of printed document, including posters and handbills for theatrical and non-theatrical entertainments, broadsides relating to murders and executions, book and journal prospectuses, popular topographical prints, and a wealth of different kinds of printed advertising material. Together they offer unique insights into the changing nature of everyday life in Britain in the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Search hints: For off-campus access to this resource click on 'login via your home organisation', select 'United Kingdom' and 'Coventry University' then login with your Coventry University username & password.
- The Noun ProjectThe Noun Project is a website that aggregates and catalogs symbols that are created and uploaded by graphic designers around the world. The Noun Project community is building a visual language that anyone can use and understand.
- Pixabay: Free high quality images you can use anywhereOver 410,000 high quality photos, illustrations, and vector graphics. Free for commercial use. No attribution required.
- UnsplashFree images you can use in your work; no attribution needed.
Websites of museum/gallery/archive collections
- PixabayFree images for you to use in your work; generally no attribution needed.
- VADSVADS service provides a searchable database of 100,000 images covering many areas of late 20th century design. These include, the Design Council Slide Collection and images from the London College of Fashion and Central Saint Martins. All images are freely available and copyright cleared for teaching, learning and research in the UK.
Finding films online
- BFI ArchivesRent latest releases, view classics and archival footage from the British Film Institute.
- BOBOn demand TV amd Radio for Education.
- British Council Film: The FilmsBritish Council Film links UK films and filmmakers to international audiences, profiling innovation, diversity and excellence and seeking opportunities for creative exchange between UK and international film communities.
- British PathéBritish Pathe, the world's leading multimedia resource with a history stretching back over a century. The finest and most comprehensive archive of fabulous footage and stunning stills.
- Communication & Mass Media CompleteCMMC incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth in the communication
- Helix Media LibraryHenry Stewart Talks – Business & Management Collection provides access to hundreds of online, audio-visual lectures, presentations and case studies delivered by leading experts from academia and industry. HST covers six main subject areas, including Global Business Management; Finance, Accounting & Economics; and Marketing & Sales. Login: Once selected, follow the instructions to 'Login via organization' to access full content.
- The National Archives | Public Information FilmsFor the first time view complete Public Information films on the National Archives website, featuring a selection some of the most memorable and influential Central Office of Information films from the last 60 years to celebrate the 60th Aniversary of the COI.
- Colonial FilmImages of the British Empire: Archive footage showing life in the colonies of the British Empire. Over 150 films available to view online.
Audio
- British Library - SoundsBritish Library Sounds allows you to listen to a selection from the Library’s collections of unique sound and moving image recordings. They come from all over the world and cover the entire range of recorded sound: music, drama and literature, oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds.
- Europeana SoundsEurope's sound heritage.
- Helix Media LibraryHenry Stewart Talks – Business & Management Collection provides access to hundreds of online, audio-visual lectures, presentations and case studies delivered by leading experts from academia and industry. HST covers six main subject areas, including Global Business Management; Finance, Accounting & Economics; and Marketing & Sales. Login: Once selected, follow the instructions to 'Login via organization' to access full content.